We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-Dormy House”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A-Dormy House”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to spend Christmas in the Cotswolds and booked Dormy House at the last minute. We could not have asked for more from the lovely staff or the hotel itself. The rooms were warm and inviting, the hotel interior had wood fires burning within each tastefully (for Christmas) decorated room were one was free to lounge around with a glass of wine or cup of tea, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay, and Christmas one to remember. There was even a complimentary gift upon departure, which was a very nice touch.

A perfect Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for your review and we are delighted that you and your girlfriend had the perfect Christmas with us. It was truly magical and we are already looking forward to next year’s festivities! Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    217
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
178
871
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Dormy House just before Christmas 2013. I believe the refurbishment was completed in August 2013. The hotel looks beautiful and we appreciated the attention to detail. Everything has been carefully thought through - every wall mounted lamp fitting or side table looks amazing. I'd describe the hotel as contempary traditional.

It is easy to be disappointed by a hotel but we were impressed by everything. We stayed in the cream and blue top notch room which was lovely and the bathroom was clean and functioned well (as well as looking great).The staff were all really helpful and the food was good. Overall it's the beautiful design, excellent staff and all the little touches and attention to detail such as a toast bag to keep your toast warm and a gift bag for your journey home with water and biscuits that made this hotel special. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forever_Autumn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was our first visit to Dormy House since its refurbishment. The result is splendid, preserving many of the old features but also introducing a relaxed modern style - Sitting quaffing a pre-lunch glass of wine in front of a log fire while looking out across the Cotswolds is the ideal start to any meal.

The food was first class, reasonably priced considering the excellent quality offered and generously portioned - no hints of the wretched fad for nouvelle cuisine. Staff were attentive and pleasant as was the atmosphere in the dining room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in the beautiful and fragrant Rose Cottage for our recent wedding anniversary. We booked the 'Potting Shed Staycation', which included dinner and breakfast. As we booked through Mr & Mrs Smith, it also included a bonus farmhouse afternoon tea. All excellent and great value for money. The hotel offered a great balance of excellent service and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely blown away by the service at dormy house. We got a free upgrade to the loft suite which was a pleasant surprise!
Nothing was too much trouble - from providing gluten free bread, to arranging a gluten free birthday cake.

Excellent room facilities in the loft suite- in room dining can be ordered via the samsung tablet installed which was very high tech! Lovely fresh milk delivered everyday and the best organic tea I have ever had!

Friendly staff. Tasteful decor. Wonderful warm cosy feel to the whole hotel. Will definitely go back once the spa is ready. True indulgent weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NazD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We visited The Potting Shed to celebrate Mum's birthday and were delighted. Starters, mains and desserts were delicious and the service was superb. The little touches make this stand out with a beautiful little Birthday cake arriving with the desserts. Can't wait to try the Garden Room Restaurant next!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbleton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We thought we would treat ourselves to something special just before Christmas and booked an afternoon tea. What a complete disappointment. We went the full hog and paid £25 each for a champagne tea and what we got was some dried up cake squares, just enough sandwiches to cover maybe one full sandwich, two small (and I mean small) salmon wraps and two small scones (the previous Dormy were well know for their lovely large scones). When they first brought the cake stand I thought is was just for one person. How wrong I was....it was for two! What a shame as the venue is very special but this kind of thing will not encourage return visitors and gives the impression they have spent a lot of money on the decor but not their customers. I wonder if I will get a reply to this review from the management ?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
We are so sorry you were disappointed by your afternoon tea. We care very much about our customers and we should have met your expectations. Please contact me at the hotel as I would appreciate the chance to discuss your experience.
Sarah Stacey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
679 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,305 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing