We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short visit now I can't wait to book!”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Found this place whilst in the area staying at another hotel, only stopped for drinks but this has got to be the most beautiful hotel I have seen in the UK, wonderful interior design throughout, great ambience and a must be a real treat to stay here. I will definitely (hopefully) be making a booking in the near future. Location also great and surrounded by beautiful countryside and quaint towns and villages. I understand it's just been refurbished and the spa is due to open in the next few weeks ....what could there be not to love about this place?!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Wow, what lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your drinks with us, hopefully you can come and stay for longer next time? We look foward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel you are greeted with the site of roaring fires and comfortable furniture, perfect for some R&R. Food in both restaurants was perfect and I highly recommend the "ham & eggs" in the Potting Shed.
The hotel has a friendly and relaxed vibe and is perfect for families, couples and groups of all ages and we will be back with the kids and the grandparents once the pool is open in February.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review - we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. We agree with you - the 'ham & eggs' is one of our personal favourites! We look forward to welcoming the whole family back soon to enjoy a dip in the pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The room was gorgeous and the staff were super friendly. Sadly the spa wasn't open yet but gives me an excuse to go back! I also loved the 'check out bag' you're given on leaving...a nice and original touch! Would definitely stay there again and recommend it..........................

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay! Glad you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you when the spa is open - which is not long away at all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I attended a small, "Domaine Dampt Chablis Dinner" at Dormy House last night, organised in association with Corney & Barrow, where the number of guests was limited to only 14, which suited perfectly one of Dormy's private room and the dinner was hosted by Vincent Dampt, co-owner of a small first class and family owned Domaine in Chablis.

We started the evening with a glass or two, of their 2012 Chablis, together with some lovely canapes in a private lounge before moving to the table; where an excellent 3 courses dinner was served.

The dinner started with: Pan roasted Scallops with pea puree and crispy pancetta, matched with a crispy, fresh and classy "1er Cru, Les Vaillons, 2012". The main was, Breast of Guinea Fowl, cep puree, confit potato's and local kale, again matched perfectly by an older, and barrel oaked Bougros Grand Cru. To finish, we were served a trio of local Rhubarb Clafoutis, accompanied by an-unusual Burgundy dessert wine called: L'Effronte Moelleux by Pascale Matrot.

All the food was well presented, with precise and defined flavors and matched the wines served, beautifully! My sincere compliments to both; Paul and his team in the Kitchen and Sam and his young ladies in the Restaurant, for the brilliant service throughout the evening. WELL DONE!..

My only observation is that, personally for a wine dinner; I do find that round tables normally are a lot more congenial to the conversation and discussion on both wines and food served!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed our recent 'Chablis' evening. We will make sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team and we do hope that we will see you at another one of our Dormy Events very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Having stayed at the Dormy House over the past few years for a Birthday treat for my husband, I was interested to see how it faired after the renovations to change it to a spa hotel. I was not disappointed to see the cosy ambience had remained with some much needed refreshing. We were in room 27 which was very much as we had come to expect. Beautifully clean, very comfy bed and pillows and very tastefully decorated. Glad it wasn't raining though as this room is in a separate building from the main hotel, although an umbrella was provided! We were met at the door by a very friendly man who led us to reception. This was much needed if you are new to the hotel as it is not clear how to get to reception. The hotel was very busy this weekend, with several parties, and the staff busy, which did make us feel less important and a bit in the way.
On a few occasions I returned our cups and glasses to the bar myself to order drinks and staff were too busy to attend to us. After dinner we retreated to a lounge where a waitress took our drinks order and then we didn't see her again. Although another member of staff later asked us if we were ok and telling her we were still waiting for drinks she did chase up, but my husbands coffee was returned because it was cold! This is one of my favourite retreats, but one of my biggest disappointments is always having to pay more for weekends (not a choice as working) and yet staff are always busy with functions, parties,etc. and we feel in the way.
Last year we stayed in room 14, which I think is now named The Den, but dinner, bed and breakfast had increased by £110!! The changes are nice but not worthy of such a hike in price. Plus staff were too busy to show us around the spa, which would have been nice to see.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Dormy. Firstly we'd like to apologise for making you feel less important than any other guest. We are very sorry that you were made to feel like that and a busy weekend for us should not affect the level of service that any of our guests receive. I do hope that this hasn't put you off and you will return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were lucky, having been upgraded from the Farncombe Estate for a weekend (2 couples) stay post New Year. What an amazing hotel with attention to detail just out of this world.

The obviously very well trained staff went about their day giving the impression that they thoroughly enjoyed their jobs, a change ( for the better) in this day and age. They were so friendly and helpful it almost felt you were in their personal homes.

The food / service in the restaurants were excellent and the two log fires in the public rooms were continuously topped up and it was an effort to leave the cosy environment they created to venture out.

The bedrooms were quiet with sumptuous bedding and were well stocked with a coffee machine, mandarins and what tasted like home made biscuits.

The "goody bag" of water and biscuits for the journey home was a bonus.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Great to hear that you enjoyed a cosy & comfy stay with us! We always strive to create a home-from-home for our guests and we are delighted that this was felt on your stay. We do hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely recently refurbished hotel in the Cotswold countryside. I went with a friend as a last minute post Christmas break before heading back to work. I had a room away from the main house, but it was absolutely lovely - very comfortable with everything you need (coffee, TV, dressing gowns etc). The food (both breakfast & dinner) was fresh and beautifully cooked and the wine list (in the potting shed) very reasonable. Their spa opens in February but we were given a guided tour by Nicky. The spa itself looks brilliant - one of the best I've seen in a hotel with plenty of seating space, therapy rooms and best of all a champagne nail bar! The staff here are without exception all totally lovely - not only were they helpful, but they are all clearly very proud of the newly refurbished hotel and spa (several offered to show us the spa) and when we admired the furnishings we were given details of each item in case we wanted to purchase from the supplier. I would definitely go back when the spa opens. It's out of Broadway (so you can't stroll into the village), but there's plenty to do at the hotel and nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful. We aare very much looing forward to the launch of House Spa and hope you come back to experience it in full very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
894 reviews
5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £254 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing