We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Wonderful Weekend Break”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Most Wonderful Weekend Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am writing this an hour after we arrived back from a long weekend at this hotel. It has to be one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK for a long weekend. We arrived with friends Saturday mid afternoon. We were greeted in the car park by a very polite and helpful man who welcomed us and took our luggage to the rooms. We had booked two comfyrooms. Ours also doubled as a ground floor disabled room with wide doors etc but you had to look closely to know. We had our own sitting out area through patio doors. The room was lovely with a separate sitting area. Our friends first floor room was equally well appointed. We had pre booked afternoon tea in the lounge which was just a perfect balance of taste and quantity. The first night we ate in the Garden Room. Very refined and relaxed atmosphere with gourmet food. Not large portions but amazing taste. We thought we would leave hungry but the deserts made sure we didn't. Sunday was spent in the nearby village of Broadway which is lovely. We were lucky enough to be there for the Italian Day with plenty of superb motor cars - predominately Ferrari. You can walk to the village but the hills are steep and a little muddy. Stout shoes required. On Sunday night we ate at the Potting Shed. Not gourmet but still superb. The food is prepared with absolute care to deliver the best taste
The staff levels are high and the place runs like clockwork whilst retaining a high level of personal service. They are on the ball.
Each room has a tablet full of information. Clever little touch is the button for fresh milk for tea!

We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your bank holiday break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    213
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
170
847
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well you are paying top dollar for this place and you certainly get what you pay for! Fantastic place. Rooms immaculate, and quite! We stayed for two nights over may day bank holiday, as a surprise birthday pressy for me and we were not disappointed. Staff could not do enough for you. Both restuarants very very good. Try the rubbarb crumble souffle, one of the best puddings we have ever eaten! If I was to have a crytisim it would be that there are not enough beds around the pool, although to be honest hard to see where else they could put them. There is a need to expand the Garden Room restuarant as it got very busy and not enough tables at breakfast, maybe open up the potting shed in the mornings too! But dont be put off these are tiny tiny things, its a beautiful place, especially if you want a treat and if you want to spoil yourselves! Enjoy! Thank you to all staff you made my birthday special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your surprise birthday celebrations. A birthday to remember! The rhubarb crumble soufflé is one of our favourites! We do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We returned for five nights to Dormy House for for our third stay. The upgrade is impressive and the shower, bed, linen, pillows,etc were the best we experienced during five weeks in the U.K. We dined in The Garden room once but preferred The Potting Shed options as you really don't need three courses every night when travelling for five weeks. Staff were very helpful securing transfers and car services. Service was efficient but lacks the personal touch that the previous manager David provided. Dormy House is ideally situated to explore the Cotswolds and a haven to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Dormy House for your UK visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed 5 great nights sleep with us! We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The only comment I would like to mention here is that I wish they have better quality food and wider selection for breakfast and as well for dinner. Bfast was adequate however it can and should be better, juice tasted like syrup, eggs were horrible and toast tasted like they been fried in an oil pan (think they did actually). Also staff could be more professional and helpful. Seemed like they were from a hotel school having their training there, if so good on them but management need to train them better to assist hotel guests. Other than that, we love the cotswold and will come back to visit but maybe we will try other place next time unless farncombe up their game.

Room Tip: You need a car to visit cotswold and stay at this estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

15 of us, 6 children and 6 adults enjoyed Sunday lunch at The Potting Shed, an informal but beautifully decorated Bistro attached to The Dormy House Hotel. Normally anyone with children would take one look at this immaculate hotel and drive by out of sheer fear! This painstakingly decorated and beautiful hotel is not be missed by anyone but enjoyed! The meal, service, setting and value for money was exceptional. It has provided us all with a fond memory of our annual get to together!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Potting Shed for your annual family gathering. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your meal with us and we do hope to welcome you back next year if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went to the Potting Shed for lunch today. Loved the setting and the ambience but both service and food were inconsistent. Nice welcome but we had to ask for menus twice and took over an hour before we got our first course. The poached duck egg was really good but a blue cheese and walnut salad had barely three small cubes of cheese. No bread either, even to accompany soup. We ordered a Malbec wine and enjoyed it, only realising later after we paid the bill that we had been given the most expensive one on the menu - my fault of course for not checking when presented with the bottle that it was the one intended. Mains were good though again one sea bass fillet seemed a little mean. The shared crumble desert was scrummy but chocolate brownies were far too dry and we're not at all chocolaty- ironically we sent back chocolate tarts brought to us in error and wished we hadn't. Overall disappointing for a birthday celebration. We may have been lunching late but a hotel with the Dormy's reputation has to be consistently great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am really sorry to hear that your experience wasn't as it should have been. I would like you to contact me directly so I can personally deal with the issues that you had during your meal. Please give me a call at a time that suits you on 01386 852711.

Sarah Stacey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Picked the Dormy House for a two-day break after seeing the great reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. From the great welcome by the doorman in orange cords to THE best room I have slept in, it was everything I'd hoped for. The beds were unbelievably comfortable and were topped with fabulous feather duvets.
The food in both The Garden Room and the Potting Shed was delicious using interesting ingredients and beautiful presentation, and I loved the Spa, there was just not enough time to really enjoy it all.
There were a couple of disappointments; this hotel was immaculate in every way, so it was a surprise to find the previous guest's slippers under the bed!
The tour of the hotel given on arrival was a nice touch but I felt it had been done a hundred times before and was robotic.
The rate which included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast is only available for one night - if you stay a second night then the rate rises and this only includes B&B - in our instance, the rate rose by£50. We were aware of this before our visit, but it still doesn't stop it being a huge disappointment.
However the hotel is stunning in a beautiful area, with rooms which have every accessory you could want, the service is good and unobtrusive. I'd definitely return

Room Tip: i'm absolutely sure the rooms in this hotel are all beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0nesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dormy experience. We do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing