We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic place.Great service.Top class food.Wonderful spa.Top class treaments better than most health farms.Great surroundings.If this standard is maintained it will be among the best hotels in the Uk without doubt.Ideal facilities for the disabled which is most unusual.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at Dormy House. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    213
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
170
847
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We chose Dormy House Hotel as the spot to spend for my family to spend my parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary. We were a party of 13. We had a lovely welcome and all met up in the lounge by the fire and then had a late lunch in the Potting Shed which was delicious. We had Comfy Rooms for our teenagers and Splendid for the adults. The rooms were all lovely but I preferred the ones in the main house. Everything felt very luxurious. Beautiful bathrooms, lovely cotton sheets, great coffee machine and ipad in the room. Kids loved the biscuits!!!!!! We had hired the private room off the Garden Room for dinner. The room was very intimate and just the right size for us all to be able to talk to each other. Everyone really enjoyed our meals….I think we had the whole menu between us and everything on it was delicious, especially the scallops, the lamb and the rhubarb crumble soufflé. The waiting staff were very attentive and were in and out all the time. We never felt as if we weren't being looked after. We had breakfast in the same room as a group which was really nice instead of having to sit in the main dining room on separate tables. Breakfast was also delicious with lots of choice.

We all really enjoyed the spa too. My mum had a manicure which she enjoyed. On the first evening the whole family went to the spa and enjoyed sitting outside in the jacuzzi, swimming in the pool and then trying all the different experiences of saunas, hot rooms and steam rooms……..very relaxing!

My daughter and I did the 5k run in the morning (only managed to run about half of it though as the hill back to the hotel is extremely steep!) We also walked into Broadway which takes under an hour at quite a slow pace. Was a lovely walk with beautiful views and the very picturesque town at the bottom of the hill.

We had a wonderful weekend and felt thoroughly spoiled. My parents said that had a perfect Golden Wedding and will remember it forever. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: 37 and 39 were lovely. On the back of the old house on the first floor. Walk up the main stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are so plesed to hear that your parents had a very enjoyable & memorable Golden Wedding Anniversary. Your lovely comments will be passed onto our team and we hope to welcome you and your family back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I am writing this an hour after we arrived back from a long weekend at this hotel. It has to be one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK for a long weekend. We arrived with friends Saturday mid afternoon. We were greeted in the car park by a very polite and helpful man who welcomed us and took our luggage to the rooms. We had booked two comfyrooms. Ours also doubled as a ground floor disabled room with wide doors etc but you had to look closely to know. We had our own sitting out area through patio doors. The room was lovely with a separate sitting area. Our friends first floor room was equally well appointed. We had pre booked afternoon tea in the lounge which was just a perfect balance of taste and quantity. The first night we ate in the Garden Room. Very refined and relaxed atmosphere with gourmet food. Not large portions but amazing taste. We thought we would leave hungry but the deserts made sure we didn't. Sunday was spent in the nearby village of Broadway which is lovely. We were lucky enough to be there for the Italian Day with plenty of superb motor cars - predominately Ferrari. You can walk to the village but the hills are steep and a little muddy. Stout shoes required. On Sunday night we ate at the Potting Shed. Not gourmet but still superb. The food is prepared with absolute care to deliver the best taste
The staff levels are high and the place runs like clockwork whilst retaining a high level of personal service. They are on the ball.
Each room has a tablet full of information. Clever little touch is the button for fresh milk for tea!

We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DalesYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your bank holiday break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well you are paying top dollar for this place and you certainly get what you pay for! Fantastic place. Rooms immaculate, and quite! We stayed for two nights over may day bank holiday, as a surprise birthday pressy for me and we were not disappointed. Staff could not do enough for you. Both restuarants very very good. Try the rubbarb crumble souffle, one of the best puddings we have ever eaten! If I was to have a crytisim it would be that there are not enough beds around the pool, although to be honest hard to see where else they could put them. There is a need to expand the Garden Room restuarant as it got very busy and not enough tables at breakfast, maybe open up the potting shed in the mornings too! But dont be put off these are tiny tiny things, its a beautiful place, especially if you want a treat and if you want to spoil yourselves! Enjoy! Thank you to all staff you made my birthday special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your surprise birthday celebrations. A birthday to remember! The rhubarb crumble soufflé is one of our favourites! We do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We returned for five nights to Dormy House for for our third stay. The upgrade is impressive and the shower, bed, linen, pillows,etc were the best we experienced during five weeks in the U.K. We dined in The Garden room once but preferred The Potting Shed options as you really don't need three courses every night when travelling for five weeks. Staff were very helpful securing transfers and car services. Service was efficient but lacks the personal touch that the previous manager David provided. Dormy House is ideally situated to explore the Cotswolds and a haven to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Dormy House for your UK visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed 5 great nights sleep with us! We do hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The only comment I would like to mention here is that I wish they have better quality food and wider selection for breakfast and as well for dinner. Bfast was adequate however it can and should be better, juice tasted like syrup, eggs were horrible and toast tasted like they been fried in an oil pan (think they did actually). Also staff could be more professional and helpful. Seemed like they were from a hotel school having their training there, if so good on them but management need to train them better to assist hotel guests. Other than that, we love the cotswold and will come back to visit but maybe we will try other place next time unless farncombe up their game.

Room Tip: You need a car to visit cotswold and stay at this estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

15 of us, 6 children and 6 adults enjoyed Sunday lunch at The Potting Shed, an informal but beautifully decorated Bistro attached to The Dormy House Hotel. Normally anyone with children would take one look at this immaculate hotel and drive by out of sheer fear! This painstakingly decorated and beautiful hotel is not be missed by anyone but enjoyed! The meal, service, setting and value for money was exceptional. It has provided us all with a fond memory of our annual get to together!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Potting Shed for your annual family gathering. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your meal with us and we do hope to welcome you back next year if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing