We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt really spoiled and special. Such a lovely place!”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the Cotswold countryside. Not far from the lovely village of Broadway. The 12 million pounds renovation and reopening in August last year really paid off, it is just charming and luxurious. Beautiful Spa with nice large swimming pool. You can enjoy the sauna, steam rooms, hot tub free of charge. Great little reading rooms where to relax next to the fire. Service is very attentive and room lovely decorated and modern. Really loved our stay and the little extra touch, such as the free water, fruit and home made cookies. Oh the cookies… Cannot recommend enough this hotel to relax. If you enjoy hiking then few yards away is the Cotswold way were you can walk for miles in unspoiled territories.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habs_68_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and all of the little touches including the cookies! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We came to the Dormy hotel for afternoon tea for my husbands birthday. We ordered the champagne Charlie which was £25 a head.
When the afternoon tea came out we was very disappointed in the amount of food that was intended for two people. There was only a few finger sandwiches each, with basic filling nothing fancy and it was disappointing to see that the bread wasn't home made.
The scones were very nice, home made but were very small and there were three small mini bite size cakes each. For £25 we expected a little bit more. We had previously had champagne afternoon tea at the slaughters inn at £20 a head and that had been amazing. We had a whole cake stand each full of a variety of sandwiches with lovely fillings and several cakes.
When we left the Dormy we were both still hungry.
I think that most people that come for afternoon tea with champagne do it for a treat or a special occasion so therefore it should be completely indulgent and naughty.
I don't think this was value for money, which is disappointing as the hotel itself is stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Julien1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to feebback to use about your afternoon tea experience. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed and would like to assure you that we take all of guest feedback seriously and we will review the portion sizes of the Champagne Charlie afternoon tea. We do hope that you will give us another chance and return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel ticks so many boxes in attention to detail with a wonderful reception,great facilities and lovely surrounding countryside for pleasant walks. It was a shame that the food and service in the potting shed on the 10th May didn't live up to the high standards of the rest of the hotel. Salty starter and veg we had to send back and crumble that was so sweet it completely overpowered the delicious fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience in the Potting Shed was not as it should have been and we will pass your constructive feedback on to our team. In the meantime we hope that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in March. The hotel is as good as the reviews say- we were not disappointed! The atmosphere is vey relaxed and friendly - like staying at someone's house.
We stayed in The Snug which was a lovely cosy suite with everything you could want.
The restaurants - The Potting Shed and the Garden Room - served excellent food and were reasonably priced.
The spa was amazing - we managed 5 visits in our 6 nights! The pool is a decent size to have a proper swim and the outdoor tub was a bonus.
I already have a plan for our next visit!

Room Tip: The Snug was lovely and quite sapcious. I'm sure all the rooms are of a similar standard as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your 'snug' break with us and are so pleased to hear that you will be returning again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I stayed her for 3 nights without the kids and loved it. The place has a really nice atmosphere, there is plenty of chillout spaces for drinks, tea or just chatting. The spa is beautiful, with pool, jacuzzi, 2 saunas, a steam room and treatment rooms and a lovely cafe/lunch area. If you want treatments book ahead though as they can be hard to come by!
The food in the Potting Shed is good bistro-pub food and the food in the Garden Room is excellent.
Only criticism is that they need to do a bit more work on improving the outdoor spaces to make them as beautiful as the interiors.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Attic, one of the more expensive in-house rooms, but it was well worth it . It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed and nice peaceful and relaxing break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Dormy House from Easter Monday for 4 nights. We were given room 23 which was lovely. It had a kingsize four poster bed, rain shower, and was very stylishly decorated.
It also had a bath too, which was great for me as I am pregnant and it helps me to relax.

Unfortunately we had to move rooms for the last night, as the hotel could only accommodate us in the same room for 3 nights. We moved to a ground floor room which was not as nice. The new room had twin beds, a hand held shower and stains on the brown sofa! We had to complain to get moved. I would have given the hotel 5 stars up until this point!
Having worked in the tourism industry for 20 years I would always expect a hotel to give at least an equivalent or upgraded room if it is necessary to move people as a way of apologising for the inconvenience. This was not the case though!
We had booked the comfy room option too, which was more expensive than a standard room option so expected better.

However, other than our last night being spoiled I can honestly say that the hotel was a delight to stay in. We spent a whole day in the spa having treatments. I had a yummy mummy package which was amazing and very relaxing and my husband had some treatments too, which he said were fantastic. We also used the infinity pool daily which was really nice.
My husband said the steam rooms were particularly nice too.
The cafe at the spa is really good too and they offer some lovely light lunch options and have comfy sofas and a nice patio area to sit out at if the weather is good.

We dined for 2 nights in the Potting Shed, which had a great menu, but a very relaxed dining atmosphere. There are lots of non alcoholic cocktails too, which suited me, being pregnant.
The Garden room restaurant was also a delight and more formal, with excellent food from a set menu. I was a little limited with my choices, due to being pregnant, but the food I had was particularly good. Small portions, which worked well as it allowed you to have more courses on the set menu.

Be careful at breakfast though as none of the food on the buffet is covered. They do put the juice and yogurt on ice, but the cold meats and cheese are left out and not refridgerated on the buffet - this is dangerous and I think most people realised this as it was left untouched every day. It is a shame as we would have liked to have had meat and cheese as the selection was good. The cooked breakfast is fab though, so you don't need to risk the continental choices.
The juice and yogurts were very good.

I would definitely go back to Dormy House, as long as they could guarantee me a decent room, as they are all quite different. Be sure to check before you book.

Room Tip: Room 23 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. A well deserved relaxing break! We do apologise for the room error on your final night but do hope that this won't put you off returning...perhaps with the little one next time? We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fantastic place.Great service.Top class food.Wonderful spa.Top class treaments better than most health farms.Great surroundings.If this standard is maintained it will be among the best hotels in the Uk without doubt.Ideal facilities for the disabled which is most unusual.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at Dormy House. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
5.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £257 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing