We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blooming Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blooming Gorgeous”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Dormy house is a real treat, gorgeous setting, gorgeous interior, superb food and service throughout. The spa was immense, so calming and relaxing, friendly, helpful and polite staff. My friend had a treatment and was taken back by how relaxing it was as she fell asleep! I had a nap on the comfy chairs whilst waiting, felt so relaxed. Very nice to go there for a treat, the food in the potting shed was lovely, I think they could have more choice from locally sourced foods but that's my only suggestion, it was a truly lovely afternoon :) very very highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We're so pleased that you had a lovely relaxing stay with us, thank you for your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    209
    77
    26
    14
See reviews for
166
821
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Visited in a small party to celebrate 2 friends' birthdays. Stayed 1 night. Welcome & check in were faultless. Hotel itself is well laid out, particularly liked the choice of sitting areas, real relaxed feel to it. Spa & pool were everything you'd expect of a recently modernised hotel, as were the rooms. Rooms are stylish, modern, and thoughtfully fitted out, and a good size. On a warm summer's evening, the dining room was shown off to its best, and on the whole, dinner was good. Exceptions were a corned beef hash which was first forgotten by serving staff, and when delivered to the table was dry, and wholly unappetising. 2 members of our party had ordered the main course of which it was a pert, an neither managed more than a mouthful. Service generally was slow - when ordering drinks before dinner, during dinner, and at breakfast. We had to ask for several items more than once, and there seemed to be no recognition that waiting more than 10 minutes for a drink might not be acceptable. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay, if the service had been prompter, the score would be 5. One final warning; the rules excluding children from all spa areas after 5pm are strongly enforced, even if, in our case, the 11 year old in question was sitting quietly in a group of 7, the other all being adults, all enjoying drinks in the evening sun.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay for your friend’s birthday. Firstly we'd like to apologise about the delay in service you experienced. Please be assured that this isn't the norm and that we will take your comments on board. However we're so glad that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and went to the Dormy House Hotel for my birthday. Very impressive on arrival. When we walked in we were unsure where to go and 2 members of staff walked past and didn't ask if we were ok. We had to ask if we were in the right section for dinner which we were told we were then offered a seat and a drink. This took ages, then we asked for menus which didn't arrive. Then the manager took care of us which was much better. That's my only gripe about the place. We had dinner in the garden room which is beautifully decorated. We chose from a set menu which is £40 for 3 courses, for the quality that's a bargain. Wine is expensive but who cares, have enough and you're not too worried. Sam the restaurant manager was fantastic, polite and attentive without being intrusive. All the staff were very friendly in the restaurant. The food was sublime, from the scallops to the salmon I couldn't fault it. Top tip if you like rhubarb don't hesitate to choose the soufflé; blooming marvellous. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Easty1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday dinner with us in the Garden Room. The Soufflé is definitely one of our favourites! We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to Dormy House today for lunch as a precursor to booking the Garden Room for a family get-together later in the year. Lunch in the "Potting Shed" was great with a wide range of choices: wonderful professional service and tasty food. We will certainly be back! A lovely place, really good food and first class service/hospitality

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel so I'm afraid I can't comment on the rooms etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judi186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to review your lunch with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back for your function in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Simply WOW! A must for those that enjoy quality.
From the moment I entered to leaving the service was outstanding, rooms/facilities superb and the food certainly worth going back for. This hotel is a gem and if you are looking for a luxury hotel in the Cotswolds then this is certainly the one to go for. Will return very soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Breno39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased that your stay with us was faultless! Your review is wonderful and will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for one night on the Sunday Potting Shed deal in a 'comfy' room. The place is beautifully decorated throughout with a good spa. But it's the little touches we thought well done - the tablet in the room; the high-quality tea tray (hot chocolate would be a good addition!) and umbrella in the room; the remote control cars in the men's loo; the jokes on the coasters, personalised for Dormy; the amusing signage throughout; the ability to hire willies and bikes; and how lovely to see a Gideon Bible in the room!. Very well thought out.
We could not fault the staff who were always welcoming, polite and obliging.
Overall it is a wonderful blend of modern and tradition.
This would have gotten a full 5 stars from us had there not been just a few 'niggles':-
The spa could do with a few more loungers as demand outstripped supply the afternoon we were there. The TV in our room was temperamental and took nearly 10 minutes to turn off! The potting shed deal was good but I wouldn't have wanted to pay any more for the room - nice as it was. It was also overly warm at night (and this is only early June) and we could only cool it down through opening windows. Breakfast was good but slow - we had to wait quite a while, as did everyone else we observed, for our hot drinks and for buffet plates and items to be replenished - they need to 'tweak' their service systems. The breakfast food, however, was fantastic and there was a wonderful selection.The Potting Shed itself was beautifully decorated and is what it says - a pub - so don't expect anything more than a decent gastropub menu. Unfortunately the duck was the fattiest-tasting piece of duck I have ever eaten, which was a real shame as the accompanying gravy was delicious. The remainder of the meal was fine.
Overall impressive staff, décor and personal touches - but with a few 'tweaks' required.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlab815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really do value customer feedback so your 'tweak' suggestions are very useful. However we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also shared a chuckle over the coasters! We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been booked in at the Dormy House due to lack of room at the Conference centre just down the road and was I glad that I was put here instead!

It was set in a very pleasant location with nice features throughout. The key to the room was very heavy and that's a good change from the usual plastic cards!

the breakfast was fantastic - well worth waking up for that's for sure. Room was very clean, and though I didn't get any time to use the spa facilities it looked very pleasant too.

It is a very nice hotel that I would recommend anyone to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Rod_Burns_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you can come back and visit us and take time to relax in the spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
999 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing