We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Cotswolds retreat!”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Cosy Cotswolds retreat!”
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I stayed here for a long weekend in December 2008 with my family; we had a twin room and a double room in the annexe. We found the rooms in the annexe to be very cold and in need of refurbishment and decoration. We recommend people going there to have a room in the main building rather than the annexe. The food was very good in the restaurant and bar; the service was also very good. We loved the cosy room with the fireplace in to sit with a coffee in the evenings warming up by the fire!

The hotel is in a lovely area, and we managed to go and explore the Cotswolds, we found it to be good for a short break.

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    210
    77
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
836
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

The hotel is as fantastic as all the reviews say. We were up graded to a suite and it was superb. Comfortable bed, lovely lounge area and immaculate bathroom. The three course evening meal (included) in the Barn Owl Bar was superb. Breakfast was superbly presented and a lovely choice of food offered. The hotel's location makes it easy to visit Stow on the Wold, Stratford Upon Avon etc. If you fancy treating yourself to a great value break you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma6814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed for one night to celebrate my 'other half's' 50th Birthday and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and very welcoming - lots of squishy chairs, log fires in cosy little lounges. Staff were welcoming and efficient although not overly friendly. We had one of the 'outside' refurbished suites (No 22) which was absolutely gorgeous - huge bed, beams, French doors to the terrace which would be perfect in summer. The bathroom was lovely - very big and well appointed although the shower was rubbish - not enough water for one, never mind to share....! Dinner was beautiful - not a lot of it but it was excellent and the cheese selection was fab. Breakfast was perfect. We were only there for one night but would love to have stayed longer. Its in a perfect location for exploring the Cotswolds and we would deifinitely recommend it. The one-night-stay dinner, bed and breakfast deal is excellent value!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_eyes_2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. The wedding was well organised and the facilities offered were perfect. We had a four poster room as pictured in the official hotel photos. There was nothing to fault in the room or in the manner of the staff . The sitting rooms and log fires were lovely.

As we stayed only for one night as part of the wedding I cannot comment on any of the other facilities or surrounding area.

There were only two down points. Firstly we got the impression there were a lot of weddings which may be disturbing if you are a solo guest. You certainly wouldn't be able to enjoy the oustide seating area quietly. Secondly we got a wedding discount for the room. The size of the discount alone was more than we would normally spend on a hotel room. But I guess this issue depends on your own personal finances!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Just returned home from a midweek break at this hotel and and have to say it was a lovely couple of days. From the professional friendly staff to the superb food along, with the lovely rooms, it made a refreshing change, it is definitley a hotel with ALL these attributes. We ate in the dining room restaurant both nights and the menu was varied and absolutely superb, great service from the staff, polite friendly, and not at all stuffy as it can sometimes be. We were given a complimentry upgrade to a deluxe double, in the Danish Court and it was furnished to a high standard with small separate living space with settee, tv and desk, big comfy bed and lovely high spec bathroom.We relaxed after dinner in the comfortable lounge with roaring log fire.
It is only a short drive into Broadway and you can quite easily get to Stow on the Wold, Moreton in the Marsh and Bourton on the Water . A return visit is on the cards

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukjillie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a belated valentines weekend. We stayed in the newly re-furbished penthouse suit on DBB deal. The room was amazing, the food fantastic and the setting just lovely. It is a great place to explore the cotslwolds, we went to Chipping Camden, Broadway tower and Broadway village itself. The roaring fires are great and to warm uopo from the great walks nearby you can relax in the steam and suana rooms. This is a beautiful place and not touched by any commercial hotel chain. I really hope it stays this way as it is a real gem.

Make sure you go for one the larger rooms as they are well worth the extra money. We stayed in the Penthouse or there is another room on the oustide of the hotel which is equally as beautiful (I think it is either room 20 or 22)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stollyblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Stayed here with my wife for our Anniversary. Stayed on a midweek speacial rate (Dinner, Bed and Breakfast) booked direct with hotel (this was the cheapest option).

Arrived early at the hotel and our room was ready. The room was superb. The decor was just right for the setting and the property (stayed in the main farmhouse). Although I am used to stay in ultra modern hotels with ultra chic and modern rooms and bathrooms, that would have been out of place here.

We stayed at the hotel all afternoon and sat in front of the open fire and drank coffee, champagne and ate the famous scone, jam and cream. This was just perfect.

We ate the in adjoining pub rather than the 'fancy restaurant' and the food was brilliant. It is only a small restaurant and was nice and cosy. We requested a specific table and the hotel were more than happy to oblige.

The next day we walked into Broadway (using the hotels map) and this just finsihed off our anniversary. It was a great walk - all down hill there.

All in all, the best hotel in the area. I have stayed at the Lygon Arms in Broadway itself and that is not a patch on this typical English hotel.

This hotel is what England is all about.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben7496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing