We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveller rating
1,208
254
94
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,208
254
94
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotting shedgarden roomsplendid roomspa treatmentsrose cottagespa areagarden restaurantoutdoor jacuzzigreat spasteam roomjourney homecomfy roomturn down serviceattention to detailthe main houseflip flopshomemade biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

An incredible stay for a romantic weekend.

Make sure you eat in the Garden room and combine your tasting menu with the wine flight - superb.

Excellent Spa and extremely well trained therapists

Can not fault anything about our stay and will return without question.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeEstate1, Front Office Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Paula,

Praise indeed! Thank you so much for a delightful review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our tasting menu experience in the Garden Room - the Garden Room team along with our chefs work so hard to give our guests an unforgettable dining experience. Your kind words will also be passed to our spa therapists who will be thrilled.

We hope to welcome you to Dormy again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Our second stay at this wonderful hotel and this time lots of Halloween decorations. The service and attention to detail is just right, a warm welcome back and a hand written note in our room from the manager along with a card and fizz to help our celebrations along.
This time we had dinner in the Garden room and loved the tasting menu, my husband also had the accompanying wine flight. The staff who served us made the evening interesting and fun, their knowledge of the wine was also excellent.
Breakfast the next morning was very busy, a little chaotic but the food good nevertheless.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, the service and food are very good and the spa relaxing what more could you want for a relaxing romantic night away.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elinor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeEstate1, Front Office Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Elinor,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to host another stay for you. It sounds like you've experienced everything from the Garden Room to the House Spa and we're delighted the staff made you feel welcome and looked after you well.

We're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very warm welcome on arrival.

Reception ok and tried hard but receptionist appeared to be new and lacked full knowledge of hotel.

Room beautiful, clean, well appointed. Faultless.

Breakfast fantastic along with breakfast service. On our second evening the dining room was quite busy and the service steadied up a bit, took around half an hour for our dessert. We were tired and wanted to go to bed so found that a struggle. The waiter however was fantastic.

Spa was lovely, we couldn’t book treatments however as it was fully booked. The loungers were also full so we couldn’t really spend much time in there.

Overall though a lovely break and we will be likely to return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Raimonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeEstate1, Front Office Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Raimonh,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're thrilled you enjoyed dining with us at both breakfast and in Garden Room restaurant and enjoyed our House Spa. As our House Spa is extremely popular it is true that treatments do need to be booked well in advance to avoid disappointment. We have also taken your comments into consideration and will work with the team to improve on these.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dormy again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We booked for a one night and 7 course tasting menu.
The dinner was the best we have ever had in our long lives matched by excellent service and great knowledge from our sommelier, Jack. A Michelin * must be imminent.
Cleverly, rather than offering no choice, the diner can move across three options for each course and with different wines, it was just a myriad of wonderful tastes and textures.
One visits hotels of this standard to have expectations exceeded and the dining did just that. Unfortunately, the hotel operation did not match our expectations. A lot of small issues which, in isolation, do not seem too important but, together, they were.
Cold bedroom (outside temps 2deg) which the hotel could not resolve: noise of rushing water in the night which destroyed sleep pattern: kept waiting 25 mins for booked treatment: overcharge of £113 on bill. Of course, mistakes do happen (that's life) but there was a distinct lack of apology at check out and, unfortunately, that is always the latest interaction with the hotel which leaves an unsatisfactory memory.
The issues were addressed after leaving with management who handled the situation well but boutique hotels are expensive and guests deserve excellent service in every respect.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vigilant2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeEstate1, Front Office Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Vigilant2013,

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments on our Garden Room restaurant. Our Head Chef Sam Bowser and Culinary Director Martin Burge have created something really special and the Garden Room team work incredibly hard to give all of our guests an incredible dining experience.
We are dreadfully sorry to hear of the not so savoury elements of your stay and we have taken these comments on board and will work with the team to address the issues.

We hope to have the chanced to welcome you to Dormy House again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve had two overnight stays here in 2017 and unfortunately each time something disappointed me. I love Dormy House so perhaps I had set my expectations too high.

The first visit was just a normal room which was lovely, spa facilities and treatments were fabulous, breakfast was very good also. The reason I was disappointed during this visit was when dining in the restaurant I’d wanted a dessert, asked for the dessert menu twice but it was never forthcoming, in the end we gave up waiting and just paid as we left the restaurant.

The second visit was to celebrate a special occasion so we booked Rose Cottage (absolutely lovely with a private outdoor hot tub). My disappointment this time was prior to the visit itself. I had booked this to celebrate our wedding anniversary but unfortunately I realised I’d double booked so called reservations back straight away and was assured everything (room booking, restaurant booking) had been transferred across. I was so impressed by the helpfulness of the reservations service.

In the mean time, I had booked spa treatments for the new date and was very excited about celebrating in Rose Cottage... So, on the original date (which I’d been assured had been transferred across) we received numerous missed calls and voicemails wondering where we were. Obviously we were very anxious as the room wasn’t cheap so we thought we’d now missed out because of this admin error.

Luckily when we were able to speak to Dormy House the next morning they allowed us to switch it over to another date (unfortunately the date we had switched it over to was now booked so it was no longer the lovely anniversary celebration we’d anticipated but at least we didn’t lose out completely).

Rose Cottage was beautiful, restaurant service was much improved on the previous visit. And the spa and treatment was faultless. Just a shame about the admin error otherwise it would’ve been perfect.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeEstate1, Front Office Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and thank you for your kind words. We're really pleased that you enjoyed our House Spa facilities, the 2 different rooms you stayed in, and our lovely breakfasts in the Garden Room.
We are disappointed that your stay unfortunately wasn't perfect and we apologise for the mishap with your reservation in Rose Cottage. We have taken your comments on board and constantly work with the team to improve.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you to Dormy again and will make sure your stay is extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews