We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - fantastic weekend!”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel - fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Just back from a one night Winter Warmer deal with my boyfriend at the Dormy House in Broadway. One word to describe our weekend - FANTASTIC. On booking, we were upgraded to a junior suite for free and were promised a glass of prosecco each at dinner. Very impressed. On arrival, we were taken aback by how beautiful the actual hotel building is. It is absolutely charming! The reception staff were lovely and extremely helpful as was the porter who carried our luggage and showed us to our suite.

The suite itself was brilliant! Fabulous decor and perfect lighting just added to our romantic break. We also had sole use of the moroccan steam room and sauna - a tiny little relaxation area in the main building which the hotel staff reserve for your privacy! It was bliss. And then came the 3-course dinner.......amazing!! The food was incredible and the wine list was huge with plenty to choose from (we can recommend the Tempranillo.....number 88!!). And the staff are great too - nothing is too much trouble. After dinner, we took our drinks through to the cozy lounge and relaxed before retiring to our suite around 11pm. All-in-all, a perfect day.

On Sunday, we were treated to a beautiful cotwolds breakfast and then back to the suite to pack and check out by 11am. We wanted to stay in the area and make full use of the hotel for the day so we took one of the detailed Dormy House walks down to the village of Broadway where we wandered around and had a pint in the local pub. We then trudged through the muddiest of fields to get back to the hotel where we got changed and sat in the lounge next to the fire for the rest of the afternoon reading books and drinking red wine (tea in the case of my boyfriend! Designated driver!). It was so relaxing.

Come 4pm and it was afternoon tea-time! The afternoon tea was gorgeous - a selection of finger sandwiches, 2 scones each with clotted cream and jam and a mini choc eclair! Faultless!

So, an absolutely fantastic hotel, brilliant staff and an idyllic setting - couldn't have asked for a romantic weekend in the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    210
    77
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
837
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aylesbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This was our second trip - we were there exactly 2 years previously as this was a birthday celebration.

We managed to book the room we wanted which was good. Rm 53 and 54 are by the side entrance and have their own seperate lounge which we really like. The room was really clean and well appointed.

We had a cream tea just after we arrived infront of a roaring log fire. The waiter was very friendly and as we had said it was a birthday one of the scones arrived with a lite candle in it which was lovely.

We stayed for dinner in the Barn Owl (having been in both of the Dormy restuarants I would say that the Barn Owl is the one we probably prefer though it is slightly cheaper. The food isn't cheap so don't think you will get a cheap and cheerful pub meal as you won't. We had a black pudding, creamed potato and poached egg starter. Apart from the egg being a little cold it was very nice, as was the partridge that we also both had. As we had stayed as part of a package we had a 3 course meal in with the deal. As we were full we asked just to have ice cream (home made) which although not on the menu they were happy to provide. Service was a little slow as there was holidays and sickness. I imagine the first week in January is a difficult one in the hotel industry.

One thing I was disappointed by is that the lady on reception said they would pipe "Happy Birthday" on the pudding plate but they didnb't. I happened to notice on their table booking list that it also said next to our booking that we were supposed to have 2 complimentary glasses of wine which didn't happen either. One of the really nice thing about both the resturant is that instead of them being an open plan area both divided and sectioned so that they feel quite private.

The greatest disappointment was the breakfast the next morning. It was fairly cold. I am sure if we had said straight away that it was cold they would have replaced it but we didn't - all fool us. The bacon was also a little on the dried up side. Last time we came the breakfast was fab so this may really have been a one off so please don't think this is the way things always are at Dormy House.

The best thing about Dormy House is probably the staff. and the surroundings You genuinely feel they want to be there and go out of their way consistently. If there is anything that goes wrong then they are so apologetic you almost feel guilty for mentioning it.

Despite the disappointments we would still go there again which I think speaks volumes in itself!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkerthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

If you like a hotel room that is so full of high tech gadgetry that you can't open a window; if you like a hotel where the dinner service is so slow that you retire to bed without a pudding or coffee from sheer exhaustion; if you like a hotel where your customer response/complaint form is strangely lost despite handing it personally to the receptionist: if you like a hotel where the manager offers a free night's stay in compensation and then withdraws it, then this is the hotel for you!

Sadly it's not for me! Such a shame - it used to be such a pleasant place to stay - but no more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jones014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My wife and I stayed as part of a short break following our wedding. Once the reception staff found this out, they upgraded us to their penthouse - fab. Throughout our stay the staff were superb, the food and wine first rate, service excellent. We even sought out the manager to tell him how great our stay was (which is rare these days). I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkypauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed at the Dormy House to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. As soon as we walked into the hotel the warmth of the atmosphere hit us. The room (34, one of the contemporary deluxe doubles) was lovely. The meal in the 'dining room' restaurant was fab, easily matching the standard of top notch big city restaurants and breakfast was also very good.
We had a special 'winter warmer' package and thought it was excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finakyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We stayed at the Dormy House over the first weekend of November. We were a group of 15 friends who have weekended at many Cotswold hotels over the years. We had a wonderful time here - definitely one of our best! The whole booking and confirmation process went smoothly, despite some changes prior to the weekend. Then, at check-in, one couple in our group wanted their room changed - this was done with courtesy and absolutely no fuss. The suites were contemporary in decor, extremely comfy, with superb bathrooms and great lighting systems. The food and wine throughout the weekend were superb, the service was highly professional and friendly, and we were provided with detailed maps for our long Saturday walk. And the price was really good value for money too. We can highly recommend the Dormy House.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Just home from a most delightful stay. A friendly welcome by reception staff upon arrival, a warm, cosy room and the most attentive, well-placed restaurant service from Seamus. Attention to detail, whether it be the provision of the melba toast at dinner, highly polished door furniture or the deftly placed Telegraph outside the room. (so's not to wake) It was all noticed and appreciated. Thank you all very much indeed. We'll most certainly return, soon. Steve & Diane R, N Yorkshire.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing