We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food,very good service, highly recommended”
Review of Buckland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buckland Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night Xmas break with friends. Lovely welcome and we were soon settled in the Scott room. Very comfortable, clean and well serviced throughout our stay. Meals were served in a most attractive panelled dining room and the service was generally very professional and unobtrusive. Food was excellent. I will not attempt to describe individual dishes but suffice to say that presentation was outstanding and flavours were well balanced. The lounges were very comfortable and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The only negative was the billing process both at the booking stage and at checkout. Errors were quickly resolved but they can surely do better with a little thought given to their procedures. I have given them the benefit of the doubt. It was expensive but given the time of year and the overall quality of the experience it was value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Mainwearing,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Christmas stay at Buckland Manor. It really was our pleasure to look after the four of you. Buckland really lends itself to Christmas celebrations and i am glad that you had such a good time.
Will and his chefs , like all of the staff, worked very hard to make sure the festive period went well and it is lovely to hear that it was appreciated.
I must apologise for the errors with the bill, we will make sure it is correct next time you come.
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Buckland Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having just spent 4 nights over Christmas, we are feeling replete with fine dining in an atmosphere of cosy yet refined luxury.

The location and surroundings are quiet chocolate box setting but the hotel is so welcoming and warm that it would be too easy not to explore the area with so many tasteful attractions.

Friendly yet inconspicuous, the staff ensure that guests feel comfortable. Unobtrusive but very observant in the caring sense, the service they provide is exemplary. Lunches and suppers always surprisingly imaginative and alluring with perfect portions served in a delightful dining room perfectly lit.

Room faultless and the entire stay has induced a feeling of soporific well being; we will be back - I have a feeling - many more times. The entire staff contingent have worked tirelessly and selflessly to ensure that all guests are treated in a manner which is becoming rarer and rarer.

This is a gem of a country retreat which gives very good value. A truly indulgent treat. Book now!
And no I don't have any conflict of interest here.
Sarah M

Room Tip: You can't not choose a good room. The no spa aspect a plus as it removes the pressure of over gr...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Sarah M,
Thank you for your very flattering review of Buckland Manor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Christmas and the greatest compliment you paid to us was by staying another night. If only you coul stay longer.
Christmas really has the feeling of a house party at Buckland Manor with a few friends popping over for meals. At Buckland it is a time to relax and just let us do the work.
I do look forward to welcomiing you both back very soon.
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Lunch for four of us - delightful.

From the welcome at the door to the discreet attention of the Dining Room Manager and her staff to the superb food from a simple menu, lunch was most enjoyable.

Four of us eating different dishes were impressed - the quality and presentation were consistent.

Congratulations to the Chef, Will' Guthrie and his brigade and to all who present lunch and the hotel in a discreet and understated way.

Not the place for a flash lunch, but for an impressive meal in the most comfortable surroundings, Buckland Manor represents English quality food and hospitality at its very best.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for a room or for a meal! It would be a shame to miss out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tc645320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear tc645320,
Than you for your review of lunch at Buckland Manor. Will has a very good team at the moment and is producing some great food. Gemma and her team in the dining room aim to give excellent but unobtrusive service that befits a Cotswold Country House.
I do ope this will be the first of many such lunches
Best wishes
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived at Buckland Manor and were greeted warmly at the entrance by a member of staff, We chose the library where there was a roaring fire and were soon delivered tea for two, coke for one and a pot of coffee for myself with hot milk. Some melt in the mouth shortbread and chocolate chip biscuits soon followed. My daughter loved the friendly dog Oscar. We were very relaxed and would have liked to have stayed on longer but time was not on our side. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just returned from a trip to England which included two nights at the Buckland Manor. This Manor House is a first class experience from the moment the door is opened for you and they welcome you by name (I'm not certain how they knew, but they did).

Our room was perfectly appointed and had a view of the beautiful backyard gardens.The bed was just right, the mock-fireplace provided a warm evening glow, the bathroom was modern and large, and the charm was over-the-top.

We used our stay at Buckland as a focal point in the Cotswolds to drive and tour the area. Buckland is fairly central to all points and the country roads are scenic and never busy. We dined both nights at the Manor Restaurant.

The wine list was extensive and the captain/host was well versed. We were offered drinks in the living room just outside of the dining room prior to our seating. The 300 year old living room has a grand fireplace with a toasty fire blazing. The menu features both a tasting menu and an ala carte menu. We tried both during our stay. And both were excellent. Dispose of any negative notion you may have regarding food in the UK. The restaurant at Buckland Manor will blow you away.

Of course breakfast was included and a traditional English breakfast of eggs, salmon, smoked fish, or just pastries and cereals were offered as part of our stay. It was an excellent start to our days of travel. We will return again and will encourage our travel friends to join us on this "don't miss" location and experience in the Cotswolds.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trader224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have now stayed at this property twice and thoroughly enjoyed both times. The welcome is very personal and feels more like staying at a friends house than at a hotel. The rooms have a very warm feel to them and are well appointed and the one we stayed in had a beautiful view of the lawns. The food was excellent and the attention to detail from the staff could not be faulted. The grounds are beautiful and there are excellent walks from the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I would be very surprised if you did not like this hotel and your stay here. The welcome was first class, we were met at the front door and our bags were taken away to be found in our room as we shown up. We had a lovely room overlooking the gardens at the rear. We took tea on the terrace, then after a sumptuous bath, aperitifs on the terrace before being ushered into dinner. The food was glorious, perhaps a tablecloth on the table would have been nice but they were old and I presume antique tables. Liquers and coffee by a log fire then a great nights sleep under crisp white cotton sheets. Breakfast in the morning was generous to say the least, tasty and relaxed. Then off for a walk in the Cotswold countryside and back for coffee before leaving. The only gripe would be the kitchen staff having to cross the terrace to get to the stores. But they crossed with a polite smile, were clean and tidy so no real issue. It is one of the best country hotels I have stayed in, second perhaps only to Hambleton Hall in Rutland.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MUNIZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,393 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
3 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,032 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Manor

Address: Buckland Near Broadway, Broadway WR12 7LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £197 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckland Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant country house hotels in the Cotswolds, Buckland Manor is tucked away in a tranquil corner of the village of Buckland, next to the old village church. Set in 10 acres of grounds, which blend seamlessly into the village, the beautiful manor house is unmarked by the passing of time; it is an idyllic setting from which to enjoy an exceptionally warm welcome, tantalising menus lovingly crafted from the ‘market garden of England’ and breath-taking Cotswold scenery. Buckland Manor truly encapsulates the feeling of being at the home of a friend. A very good friend who produces afternoon tea on request, fine aperitifs before dinner, suggests the perfect wines and doesn't mind how late you get up before serving a hearty breakfast. We kindly advise that Buckland Manor offers quality time for family and friends, where staying and dining is a more adult affair, so we ask that children are aged ten years and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Buckland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing