We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckland Manor
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Evesham Hotel(Evesham)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
470
36
7
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
36
7
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teatasting menuvaulted roompetit foursenglish countrycountry house hotelwonderful teamwine flightpre dinner drinkssconespublic roomsthe entire staffthe hotel managerlovely groundsmemorable staythe general managerthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I had lunch here. The atmosphere and service were excellent, we could have stayed all day, especially enjoying coffee relaxing in the lounge. The food was delicious too. The grounds were beautiful, we hope we get the chance to experience a stay here as well one day

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We did not stay there but wish we had. We greeted on the outside of the property by a very nice young woman. She told us that Sunday was very busy and that today, Saturday would be much better,since it was to early for tea we came back a little later and was greeted outside by the same lovely young woman. The service was beautiful and the sandwiches scrumptious and the scones and clotted cream delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The whole of Buckland Manor is old world charm and some of it , is a little behind with the times.It is situated in beautiful grounds in the delightful hamlet of Buckland just a couple of miles outside Broadway.The grounds and setting are idyllic, the house is very much an old manor house with country charm decor, but some of it is showing signs of being a little jaded.We stayed in a master bedroom called Floral , which is on the first floor and has lovely views out over the front of the manor and grounds, This room costs £575 per night, so I expect to have a lot for the money. The room is large with a separate dressing corridor and huge bathroom. There are two old fashioned and incongruous items in the bedroom, a huge electric fan, very noisy, and could not be used whilst asleep at night, and conversely an electric fake fire installed in the fireplace with the electric lead plugged into the adjacent wall, both looked odd and outdated.The wall paper had signs of water damage running down the walls? The bed was massive and very comfortable but the pillows were lumpy and not of the highest quality, both my husband and I remarked on the pillows independently.
The bathroom is an excellent size with double sinks and a dressing table, plus a large rainforest shower, but the disappointment was the bath, a large bath but an old fashioned single ended bath with taps at one end,(ie, one person gets the tap end) in a bathroom of this size it could easily accommodate a more luxurious double ended huge bath.
There is much to commend the place but a few irritations made it not up to scratch, we decided to sit outside on the back lawn after arrival and drink a glass of champagne, the gardens are pretty and it was supposed to be tranquil and relaxing in the Cotswold sunshine ,after a long journey. The Ruinart Champagne arrived, but the gardener just kept mowing the lawn up and down for half an hour, drowning out any chance of conversation or listening to the birdsong.The next morning at breakfast the staff started laying up the lunch tables around us whilst we were still eating our breakfast, this included moving in new large table tops, not a peaceful Sunday breakfast experience, and we were not late to breakfast, it was about 10 am.The quality of the breakfast was quite good, but the chices were not as expansive as other similar places I have stayed.
So overall, if you like old world furnishings a fittings and can put up with the minor issues you will love the place, for myself I am not wowed for the money.
I raised my points about the stained wallpaper, pillows the fire and fan and bathroom with the management on leaving and was told they are in the middle of a refurbishment programme, as there was a major roof leak last year, which has been dealt with. The manager agreed with me that there are some issues need tidying up and that improvements could be made.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have lovely views, beware the church bells at 0750hours Sunday morning! 10 minutes of Bell ringing in the church next door.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear LADYRAWDON,

Thank you very much for your review of Buckland Manor. I must thank you for all of your constructive comments. We do always try to improve and feedback from guests is an excellent way for us to do that. We do take everything that you have said seriously and will aim to be better next time.

We have corresponded and i do hope that we will be able to welcome you both back to buckland in the near future.

Best wishes

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

As city dwellers we truly appreciated the serene surroundings of this exceptional country manor. The grounds were lush and beautiful. Our room was well appointed - country charm with all the modern conveniences. The English breakfast did not disappoint and dinner was also lovely.

Of course we got to meet their friendly mascot "Oscar", who added so much fun to our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Scott" room for a lovely view from the second floor. Be aware there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foldees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Foldees,

Thank you very much for your review of Buckland Manor. I was very glad to read how much you had enjoyed it. As hard as all of the staff work to make the stays of our guests enjoyable it is more often than not that Oscar gets the credit. We are lucky to have a valuable asset working here.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Buckland very soon.

Best wishes

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After 27 years of marriage we decided to visit Buckland for our celebrations to see how it was doing under the ownership of Mr Brownsword. It passed with flying colours at all levels. The service was great, the rooms perfect and the restaurant delivered a marvellous dinner with exemplary service. It is now a more relaxed hotel atmosphere and smart casual dress instead of the ridiculous shirt and tie regime made it a much more enjoyable experience. It is one of the best hotel/restaurants we have visited and it is now up there in our top 10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear David R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our 'belated' anniversary dinner. It is always nice when guests choose to spend special times here.

We relaxed the dress code slightly and I do hope it provides for a slightly more relaxed feel.

I hope you will return to Buckland before your next anniversary.

Best wishes

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews