We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best!!!”
Review of Buckland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buckland Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best of the best!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Buckland Manor is a magical Manor house, from the moment we were greeted by Oscar the dog and the hotel manager, we knew we had discovered some place special. Our room was, beautiful, clean and comfortable, fantastic views over the colourful gardens. Drinks and canapés were tasty and interesting, dinner was served by a professional but friendly team, where nothing is too much trouble! Everything we tasted has been created by a clever chef, with a keen eye for detail, presentation was outstanding & the flavors were great too.
Coffee in the lounge after dinner with tasty petit fours, yum! Buckland do a great afternoon tea, the largest & most delicious scones I've ever had!
Couldn't fault a single thing, great rooms, great staff, super food and overall a wonderful, memorable experience, I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear MissGG,

Thank you for your review of Buckland, Oscar really is a star and we are very lucky to have him here for five days of the week (he has to have his two days off to recover) Your review was very kind, it is always lovely to be able to share these with the staff.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Buckland Manor in the near future.

Best wishes

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    30
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
267
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is very difficult when you have had a really lovely stay, a most enjoyable time and were treated with great assistance, to criticize. But this lovely established little treasure really needs some serious attention as its standards are slipping.

The positives are numerous. The position is outstanding – minutes from Broadway’s magnificent chocolate box village, quiet and set in wonderful gardens.

Our room was an absolute delight. Beautiful in fact. Absolutely comfortable with central views across the gardens through a stone framed, leaded original window.

So secure is it that no keys are given to rooms. Doors remain unlocked. I must confess that was a little difficult to adjust to (being from London I can’t believe that I did)!

The bathroom was great. A bath, separate shower, basin, space to put your things, well fitting dressing gowns, slippers. Great TV choices, comfortable bed and pillows. All quite lovely.

But everything lacked a little ‘ chic elegance’ – that magic ingredient that sets Relais & Chateaux hotels apart.

For example, the staff are wonderful and helpful but a little surly. They simply don’t ‘think’, they only smile or speak when spoken to. As charming as they were they were sloppy. Particularly in their dress. Some staff were a little 'scruffy. Shoes weren't clean. Simply not 'bandbox'. And the service lacked the professional smoothness that is expected.

I seriously cannot remember what we had for dinner. Only that it was ‘edible’ but nothing outstanding. And it was not served well. Not a good sign, really.

Breakfast was a serious let down. The weather was beautiful and guests were sitting outside. There was no-one to greet us or tell us what the routine for breakfast was. We sat ourselves down. After 10 minutes my husband had to find someone to ask for some service.

We were steered inside to take our fruit and cereals, only to find the bowls depleted. Again we had to go in search of someone to replenish them.

My husband ordered the full English breakfast and I the grilled whole kipper (a particular favourite). We asked for both brown and white toast of which white only arrived 10 minutes before the breakfasts. We asked for more, which arrived 10 minutes after we finished. The Kipper arrived complete with an overly acidic and unpalatable lemon sauce (not mentioned on the menu). I had to wait another 15 minutes for a simple grilled replacement. What arrived was a much smaller fish that had curled from cooking too fast. It was awful.

This is not an inexpensive establishment and to maintain it’s Relais entry it needs seriously re-thinking. If nothing changes I will be tempted to believe that Relais & Chateaux listings are bought, not earned. And if that proved to be the case I would think twice before using the guide in the future.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that any room is bad but certainly ask to overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Cheryl G,

It is never nice to read a review that is less than positive but it is from these that we learn the most and strive to improve upon.

Most of all is it disappointing to understand that the staff were surly. The hotel industry demands hard work from everyone but there is never an excuse not to smile, it costs nothing and takes very little effort. I do hope, should you return to Buckland or use another R&C property that will never be the case again.

Overall I hope you remember the positives and the fact you had a 'lovely stay'.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to Buckland Manor in the near future.

Best wishes

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have often stopped for a pot of tea or coffee and home made biscuits in the garden on a sunny day, always served beautifully in delightful surroundings and, in my opinion, one of life's great bargains at, I think, £6 each. Under the previous owners accommodation was very expensive and the atmosphere rather stuffy so we were never tempted to stay but, finding a quite different atmosphere on a recent visit, and discovering that there were some much better prices at quieter times we booked two nights B&B for £400. This is certainly not cheap but we had a beautiful spacious room and the fabric of the hotel is much better than we expected in such an old building. Service was first class, with just that touch of friendly without being intrusive that hotels rarely achieve.

It is impossible to imagine a finer location in a Cotswold valley silent except for the sound of birdsong. TA's rating of Buckland as the 10th best B&B in Broadway only has three errors. Buckland isn't in Broadway, is a much like a B&B as I am like Brad Pitt and, having stayed in hundreds of hotels over much of the world, including some very expensive ones, it is certainly in my top ten on that scale.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked two rooms here and another was booked a bit later by a couple joining us for part of our stay. The manor is well sited and a pretty building in a beautiful area, but the gardens are very prosaic and boring: masses of near dead begonias and pale marigolds do not make a garden noteworthy in this lush part of England. The dinner was very overpriced and service patronizing and pretentious; we stayed two nights and did not even consider eating there again. The breakfasts were OK and there was plenty on offer. They got my omelet order completely wrong, though when I mentioned this they seemed happy to redo it. There were several little amuse bouches and other tidbits brought gratis to us before and after dinner, but we couldn't understand what they consisted of, nor could we identify some of them by taste.
The couple who booked later were on a semi-board plan (dinner included) with a beautiful and spacious room and paid a rate that was far less than our room plus dinner. When we inquired if we could switch to this plan we were told we could not. Our room was minuscule - we spent most of the time climbing over one another to get around to the far side of the bed; there was only one luggage rack available but it had to be placed in front of the cupboard door so that was unhelpful. The bathroom, though new, was full of spiders, and there was virtually no water pressure at all. I spent twenty + minutes the first night trying to draw a bath, after which there was only about 2" or water, so gave up. My husband said the shower pressure in the morning was almost non-existent. I did manage to get a skimpy bath the 2nd evening, but only after letting the water run for over 30 minutes. For nearly $500. a night one does expect rather more! This was almost 300GBP per night, not including dinner.
Our room was on a staircase with only one other room, at the far end of the house - perhaps these used to be servants' quarters? The other room which I saw on the first floor (there is no lift, but we knew that and didn't mind) was large and beautifully furnished, with a sofa even, and nice wallpaper. We had only painted walls and dull decor and though there were two chairs only one of them could be used as the other was so crammed in at the foot of the bed (not a particularly large one either) that no one could really sit in it, and certainly no one could get past if there was someone in it. For this kind of money one shouldn't have to "upgrade" to get a decent sized room!
Tea on the terrace was pleasant as it was a gorgeous day, but service was slow and five pounds for a cup of tea seems rather excessive to me.
Yes, the wi-fi was free, but did not work well - again, perhaps we were in the servants' wing?

Room Tip: The rooms are all named rather than numbered, and note that they don't give you a room key. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiddler1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Fiddler1068,

I am sorry that we seemed to have failed you on a number instances over your stay. We do pride ourselves on our personal service and beautiful location and i am sorry that you have left us with less than a favourable impression.

I would very much like to have the opportunity to discuss your issues with you. if you would be so kind as to contact myself generalmanager@bucklandmanor.co.uk.

Best wishes

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESAV37
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stumbled across Buckland Manor whilst walking from Stanton almost 12 years ago and decided to return whilst staying nearby. We did the triangular walk from Stanton to Snowshill and Buckland, taking in some other village along the way as we took a wrong turn and got lost. We made it to Buckland Manor just before the heavens opened and could not have been in a better place to settle in whilst waiting for the rain to stop. On this occasion we only had a few drinks in front of an open fire but could have easily stayed Longer. It is a very beautiful hotel, in a great setting, with very attentive staff. I am in no doubt that the hotel is quite exepensive (i would think it's worth it) but whether you're a lord or a pair of scruffs like us in walking boots, jeans and carrying a carrier bag full of second hand books from the Snowshill book stall you are made to feel very welcome. I am now looking for a special occassion to return and spend a few nights here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESAV37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having been to this idyllic hotel on several occasions to stay and to enjoy relaxing lunches we decided to get married at Buckland Manor. From our arrival in glorious sunshine on Thursday afternoon, our two night stay , together with our marriage in the beautiful gardens yesterday , through to breakfast this morning, was perfect in every way thanks to Simon Franks and his remarkable team for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our family and friends , 37 in total, were made to feel totally comfortable and have all been in high praise of the hotel and its superb accommodation, surroundings and food. We could not have wished for anything better for our special day. Thank you .

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but we were fortunate enough to be given the Vaulted Room which was superb w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ros T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Buckland Manor. Buckland is a beautiful hotel and a really glorious location for a small wedding.

i am so glad that you and your guests enjoyed it so much. it was our pleasure to look after you all.

I look forward to welcoming you both back for your first anniversary, if not before.

Best wishes

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed recently for a short 2 night stay after recent bereavements in our families and we were looking for a relaxed, quiet and peaceful break. We were highly impressed with everything Buckland Manor had to offer. The setting, room and service was second to none. Food was excellent and staff were welcoming without being intrusive.

Would highly recommend Buckland Manor and will certainly return soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMH11, General Manager at Buckland Manor, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ian D,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. The team work very hard here to make sure guests enjoy their stay and I am glad we have succeded.

All I can say is that is that a short stay is never long enough.

i hope to be able to welcome you back to Buckland in the near future.

Best wishes

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,348 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,070 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Manor

Property: Buckland Manor
Address: Buckland Near Broadway, Broadway WR12 7LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckland Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most elegant country house hotels in the Cotswolds, Buckland Manor is tucked away in a tranquil corner of the village of Buckland, next to the old village church. Set in 10 acres of grounds, which blend seamlessly into the village, the beautiful manor house is unmarked by the passing of time; it is an idyllic setting from which to enjoy an exceptionally warm welcome, tantalising menus lovingly crafted from the ‘market garden of England’ and breath-taking Cotswold scenery. Buckland Manor truly encapsulates the feeling of being at the home of a friend. A very good friend who produces afternoon tea on request, fine aperitifs before dinner, suggests the perfect wines and doesn't mind how late you get up before serving a hearty breakfast. We kindly advise that Buckland Manor offers quality time for family and friends, where staying and dining is a more adult affair, so we ask that children are aged ten years and over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Buckland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing