We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel needs some TLC”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel needs some TLC”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

In my view The Limewood hotel in the New Forest sets the bar for country hotels and I measure other hotels against it. For a sense of history though you cannot beat The Lygon Arms and I very much enjoyed that aspect and its location. The staff were welcoming and attentive and that was appreciated.
However, it charges premium prices but does not deliver a premium product. Our room 54 had a headboard that was stained from heads resting against it, the carpet was marked, bathroom floor tiles were cracked, grout in the bathroom tiles had mould and most of the mouldings in that room required re-painting. In essence the bathroom was tired, tired, tired.
A similar comment could be applied to the pool area and the men's changing room in particular. I object to having to wade through standing water on the floor in order to get to the shower.
A full English breakfast was a desultory affair as it appeared to have been cooked in advance and then kept warm. The look and taste of this meal strongly suggested that it had not been cooked fresh. To be fair, upon complaining the management deducted the cost from the bill without question.
To summarise - an atmospheric hotel which will resonate well with lovers of old England. Barcelo really needs to inject some capital into the premises and re-furbish the bathrooms and pool area to justify the cost of staying there

Room Tip: Go for a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I have discussed the comments you have raised with regard to the breakfast, your room and the spa with my team and these have been taken on board with necessary action. We do hope we have the opportunity to wlecome you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    630
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
240
1,379
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed for two nights from Friday 9th March, along with my wife the occasion being our 20th wedding anniversary. We arrived earlier than our book in time as she was booked in for a three hour spa treatment session. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff were efficient professional and very friendly. A common theme throughout was how the staff, despite being busy were always keen to chat and ask what you were doing, where you were from, very pleasant atmosphere created as a result.
Upon arrival we booked a table in the great hall restaurant for the friday night, we were not disapointed, the food was outrageously good, and reasonably priced for the 4 star hotel rating.
There was a very good choice of wines, catering for all palettes and budgets.
We were in room 40, one of the older rooms, within the hotel and just above the great hall, it was a superior double room, very comfortable, impeccably clean and layed out well with nice antique furniture and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and functional, with lots of the usual toiletries on offer.
The only drawback was that we had to walk through the restaraunt to get to our room, which on occasion felt a little uncomfortable, but this is not a major issue.
This plac eused to belong to Gordon Russel, the designer and cabinet maker, I was talking to one of the staff about the wood panelling, when she suddenley, dissappeared, and returned with Len, who used to work for Russell, but now works at the hotel, he talked enthusiastically and with good knowledge about the real history of the hotel, not the brochure filling blurb you usually get in old hotels. He is a real assett for the hotel and a pleasant guy, try and make time to find him and have a chat.
A fantastic hotel, not the cheapest, but then worth the money, I would highly reccomend a stay here.

Room Tip: try and get a room in the main body of the hotel rather than the modern courtyard rooms, so much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review, and the comments you have raised, I have discussed these with my team and they too are pleased to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed for one night only and ate in the restaurant to celebrate my birthday. We booked the Lygon Arms as a special treat and were not disappointed. This character hotel from the outside looks wonderful in its Cotswold setting. Parking is available and can be found at the rear of the hotel. Reception was a bit slow to attend to us but from then on everything was perfect. Our room (53) was on the first floor looking out onto the rear courtyard. It was a good size and had everything you could wish for supplied. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Great Hall restaurant was the ideal location to celebrate a birthday the food was excellent, service very good (with plenty of staff). Our main meals were served on long plates with the food all in a line; the presentation was very unusual and attractive. The cost for this stay which included breakfast was good as we secured an offer on-line from Hotel.com. The cost of the meal reflected the very good produce used however, the wine was very expensive. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool before breakfast (this was kept very clean and the water was quite warm). This hotel has real character and lots of history. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Broadway, as a venue for a special treat.

Room Tip: Room 53 was excellent looking out on to the rear courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review, and I am please toe hear that your stay with us celebrating your birthday, we do hope this has left you with memories for time to come. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcomiing you back on a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed Sunday 04march and the experience was wonderful. From the moment we arrived the service was first class and continued throughout our stay. Room 20 ( the great chamber) was the real highlight of our stay, high ceilings, beams, open fire place and tons of character and charm. The spa including swimming pool was a wonderful way to relax on a Sunday afternoon. We ate in the grand hall restaurant which offers a superb menu to suit all tastes with first class service. The hotel has a number of reception/snug rooms with open fires which is a lovely way to relax reading or enjoying afternoon tea.
Broadway is a picture box English village which oozes charm and tranquility. I would highly recommend this hotel for escapism from the modern world we live in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review and we are so pleased to hear of your wonderful experience when you stayed with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had a two night stay at the Lygon Arms in February 2012. We have been there before and although it has changed hands, it has managed to retain its olde worlde charm and character. We stayed in the Broadway Suite. This has been refurbished and now has one bathroom and one cloakroom, and a much larger sitting room. It is really beautiful. But I don't think anyone considered putting the heating on in the rooms before we arrived, and we were freezing. The bathroom radiator was cold all the time we were there. I reported that it needed "bleeding", but this was not attended to. We were given a portable radiator to try and address the problem, but it took over 24 hrs for the rooms to warm up. The dining room was also on the chilly side. There is a huge open fireplace but noone seemed to be bothered about keeping it going. Interestingly, the one place where the fire was always roaring away, was the open fireplace which was in the small lounge at the back of where the two receptionists were sitting... so they made sure they were always nice and warm. Never mind about the guests! The food was very good, not overfacing and served with a lightness of touch. The menus were adventurous, but not over the top. The chef has given up offering a dover sole or steak if you prefer this to the menu choices. I always thought this was a really nice touch. The staff were all most charming, perhaps with the exception of the two reception ladies, who seemed less welcoming than one would have hoped. My one big gripe which is especially relevant these days, is that there was no wifi in the rooms. You were only allowed 30 minutes of free wifi connection for your whole stay, and this was only available in the lounge, or reception area. The charge of £6.50 for further connection is, I think, exhorbitant, especially when you consider that you are paying over £700 for your two night stay. I think Barcelo Hotels should reconsider this policy. I was not the only guest who was unimpressed with their penny pinching. Overall, we did enjoy our stay, but I still think it could have been made even better, which is why I am posting this review. Barcelo, please take note!

Room Tip: If you want the real thing, stay in the Broadway Suite. You have to walk through the dining room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam_Shapiro_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review, many apologies for the shortcomings you experienced when you stayed with us. The fire behind reception makes no difference to reception this fire is for the guests which is often used. With regard to the Dover Sole we do have this on the menu when this is in season which at the moment it is not. We always offer steak, this is on the menu. With regard to the internet, we have changed our provider and come May this year this will be complimentary in all areas. On a positive note, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and service. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and should you wish to discuss your comments further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed at this once grand hotel before, even took my mom there the year before she passed and have wonderful memories of this hotel, however I believe it's now been taken over by a foreign company (Barcelo?!). My husband booked the hotel for my birthday from 8th of April for 5 days. He forgot to tell them about our 2 well behaved Cavalier King charles dogs. I phoned and spoke to the rudest woman at reception who proceeded to tell me my dogs would cost £15 ea per night - basically 1/2 of what we're paying. I'm disgusted and if we hadn't paid in advance I would cancel. This hotel used to be great with people and pets but now I'm so disappointed I would like to cancel. I do not recomend this hotel at all - altogether a depressing experience and I haven't even got there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiazoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review, I am very disturbed to hear of your comments and have discussed these with my reception team. We do indeed charge for pets, and have done for many years, I am however sorry that you felt the receptionist was rude as this was not her intention. I feel it's a little unfair to say the hotel used to be great, as we have very good staff here and we are looking forward to welcoming you both in April and where we will do our utmost to ensure you have a memorable experience. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Broadway is a beautiful village in the heart of the Cotswolds. it's worth a visit even if you are just passing by. The Lygon Arms is one of several top class hotels and our room was soaked in old world charm. Our welcome was friendly and fast, our room lovely. Stone frame windows with leaded glass, a huge and comfortable 4-poster and a spacious bathroom with a powerful shower.
Simple pleasures like bottled water and coffee making in the room along with robes, slippers and flannels make the stay more relaxed.
The building is quite old so dont expect plastic surfaces, allow for a few dusty corners. it's part of the charm.
the restaurant was also excellent if a little warm. Food was served by attentive. professional and really friendly staff. Most from Spain (the hotel is owned by a Spanish company and they clearly know how to motivate and train excellent staff.

Room Tip: Stay above ground level and in the old building. Some suites are facing the front which might be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve from Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for completing your review. We are so pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay and I have passed your comments on to my team. We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back for a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing