We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
warwick, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

This was a surprise trip from my husband. We spent a Friday night at the hotel and had a lovely night. The restaurant was busy and the staff attentive but not intrusive.

A great hotel

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank opalset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your review and the comments you have made we truely appreciate them and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    618
    286
    158
    91
See reviews for
230
1,352
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogerstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wonderful hotel. Just had a long, birthday weekend here. We were upgraded to the Courtyard Suite which was spacious with a separate sitting area, beautiful bathroom & large bedroom. The weather was wonderful this weekend so we slept with the windows open both nights as it was so warm.
The Great Hall – we had dinner in the restaurant on our 1st night here. A good choice of food and the atmosphere was wonderful. We were sat pretty close to another couple but you couldn’t hear anyone else talking & it was still private. There was a pianist near the bar which was a nice touch too.
Spa – unfortunately we didn’t enjoy the Spa very much. The top windows (we think) had been opened so it was cold in there. There were leaves on the top of the pool too and the Jacuzzi wasn’t working at all. We heard someone say it hadn’t been working the week before either.
Broadway itself is wonderful. We travelled all around The Cotswolds – Stanton, Snowshill, Bourton on the Water and it turned out to be the quietest area to be in. Because it was so warm this weekend EVERYONE was out & about!!
When we booked out they asked for feedback – we mentioned the Spa & reception weren’t aware that it wasn’t working. We suggested that it might have been a good idea to mention this to visitors when they registered (obviously had they known!). We also found a piece of glass on the carpet in our room. The receptionist was most apologetic for our inconveniences & did discount us on our final bill. It was a very nice touch & certainly not expected by us so her skills at dealing with our observations were very good & very professional.

Room Tip: The Great Hall dinner is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have raised, I have discussed these with my team and we have taken action to ensure issues such as this do not recur. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit. Once again thank you for your review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The evening that we checked in was disrupted by a fire alarm which was the result of a chimney fire. It took the fire brigade over two hours to put it out so that guests could return. The staff were excellent during this and when it was possible the restaurant opened until such time as we had completed our meal. Without any prompting, the hotel compensated us for our inconvenience more than we could have expected. Our room was very comfortable and the staff throughout were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review, we apologise for that your stay was disrupted by the fire alarm which was due to a chimney fire. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at The Lygon a few years ago and it had been pleasant so returned again for a two night stay on way back from Devon but this time we were disappointed. Room was fairly spacious ( off courtyard) at rear of main building but in a ugly annexe addition, we were on ground floor so room was dark and drab. Rooms could do with a refurb as looked a bit jaded. Dinner in Great Hall on first evening was good and staff attentive. Breakfast on first morning was fine but on the second morning had to wait for over 20 minutes to get a table - not what you would expect for a premium hotel. There were a lot of people waiting for a table for breakfast. Granted we stayed over the weekend and hotel must have been fully booked but you would expect management to have been aware that there would be a problem with capacity for breakfast. All in all disappointing stay and not comparable with previous stay. On previous stay the hotel was operated by Paramount Hotels , now it's Barcelo which may account for the different experience this time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annexe addition in courtyard at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review and for the comments you have raised, please let me assure that it is nothing to do with the operating company as infact investments have been made by both companies. The annexe addition was built in 1968 which then won awards. I apologise for the delay at breakfast we try our best to accommodate all guests as quickly as possible I am sorry that you had to wait. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

In my view The Limewood hotel in the New Forest sets the bar for country hotels and I measure other hotels against it. For a sense of history though you cannot beat The Lygon Arms and I very much enjoyed that aspect and its location. The staff were welcoming and attentive and that was appreciated.
However, it charges premium prices but does not deliver a premium product. Our room 54 had a headboard that was stained from heads resting against it, the carpet was marked, bathroom floor tiles were cracked, grout in the bathroom tiles had mould and most of the mouldings in that room required re-painting. In essence the bathroom was tired, tired, tired.
A similar comment could be applied to the pool area and the men's changing room in particular. I object to having to wade through standing water on the floor in order to get to the shower.
A full English breakfast was a desultory affair as it appeared to have been cooked in advance and then kept warm. The look and taste of this meal strongly suggested that it had not been cooked fresh. To be fair, upon complaining the management deducted the cost from the bill without question.
To summarise - an atmospheric hotel which will resonate well with lovers of old England. Barcelo really needs to inject some capital into the premises and re-furbish the bathrooms and pool area to justify the cost of staying there

Room Tip: Go for a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I have discussed the comments you have raised with regard to the breakfast, your room and the spa with my team and these have been taken on board with necessary action. We do hope we have the opportunity to wlecome you back in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed for two nights from Friday 9th March, along with my wife the occasion being our 20th wedding anniversary. We arrived earlier than our book in time as she was booked in for a three hour spa treatment session. We were made to feel very welcome, the staff were efficient professional and very friendly. A common theme throughout was how the staff, despite being busy were always keen to chat and ask what you were doing, where you were from, very pleasant atmosphere created as a result.
Upon arrival we booked a table in the great hall restaurant for the friday night, we were not disapointed, the food was outrageously good, and reasonably priced for the 4 star hotel rating.
There was a very good choice of wines, catering for all palettes and budgets.
We were in room 40, one of the older rooms, within the hotel and just above the great hall, it was a superior double room, very comfortable, impeccably clean and layed out well with nice antique furniture and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and functional, with lots of the usual toiletries on offer.
The only drawback was that we had to walk through the restaraunt to get to our room, which on occasion felt a little uncomfortable, but this is not a major issue.
This plac eused to belong to Gordon Russel, the designer and cabinet maker, I was talking to one of the staff about the wood panelling, when she suddenley, dissappeared, and returned with Len, who used to work for Russell, but now works at the hotel, he talked enthusiastically and with good knowledge about the real history of the hotel, not the brochure filling blurb you usually get in old hotels. He is a real assett for the hotel and a pleasant guy, try and make time to find him and have a chat.
A fantastic hotel, not the cheapest, but then worth the money, I would highly reccomend a stay here.

Room Tip: try and get a room in the main body of the hotel rather than the modern courtyard rooms, so much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review, and the comments you have raised, I have discussed these with my team and they too are pleased to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed for one night only and ate in the restaurant to celebrate my birthday. We booked the Lygon Arms as a special treat and were not disappointed. This character hotel from the outside looks wonderful in its Cotswold setting. Parking is available and can be found at the rear of the hotel. Reception was a bit slow to attend to us but from then on everything was perfect. Our room (53) was on the first floor looking out onto the rear courtyard. It was a good size and had everything you could wish for supplied. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Great Hall restaurant was the ideal location to celebrate a birthday the food was excellent, service very good (with plenty of staff). Our main meals were served on long plates with the food all in a line; the presentation was very unusual and attractive. The cost for this stay which included breakfast was good as we secured an offer on-line from Hotel.com. The cost of the meal reflected the very good produce used however, the wine was very expensive. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool before breakfast (this was kept very clean and the water was quite warm). This hotel has real character and lots of history. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Broadway, as a venue for a special treat.

Room Tip: Room 53 was excellent looking out on to the rear courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genmanager17, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for completing your review, and I am please toe hear that your stay with us celebrating your birthday, we do hope this has left you with memories for time to come. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcomiing you back on a future visit. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing