We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect English weekend.”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect English weekend.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A Hotel full of character and charm. Steeped in History, visited by King Charles 1 and Oliver Cromwell. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend to celebrate our anniversary, we were greeted by very friendly staff who wished us Happy Anniversary and a complementary drink on arrival which is very rare in today's standards. The staff and high standard if service Is a breath of fresh air. The room was comfortable and spacious. Our dinner was excellent and again the waiters were attentive but not over bearing. Our stay was very pleasant and the fine touches included superb Homemade English Cream teas, and early morning tea served in the garden over looking the croquet lawn. The Hotel is centre of the High Street a short walk from other restaurants, bars and shops and Art galleries. Broadway is a quaint village and very picture postcard. We are already planning our next stay. We used the Spa once and this was our only negative comment as the facilities were not up to standard. However we did not have any treatments only using the changing facilities, pool and steam room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineBevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Christine,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Lygon Arms. We take our responsibility as custodians of the Lygon's heritage very seriously and are delighted you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer.

We have plans in the pipeline to upgrade the leisure club, however in the interim will ensure the club is presented in the very best light possible.

Our pastry chef, Jean-Clude, has great passion for using local ingredients and these are reflected in the treats you have sampled.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

with kind regards,

Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    630
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
240
1,379
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An excellent hotel with a lot of character and history,attentive staff and an excellent restaurant.This is an ideal base for visiting all of the Cotswold villages and beyond.I would recommend this hotel for a weekend or romantic break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEKcamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

If History is of interest then this 16th century Hotel is just the place to stay. My husband and I stayed this spring bank holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We received a very warm welcome and complementary drink on arrival. After a tasty lunch of homemade fishcakes we retired to our room where Our suitcase was waiting for us. Our room was in the newer part of the Hotel. The room was very comfortable and spotless including Fluffy towels, robes and slippers. We unpacked and had a walk up and down High Street browsing in and out of the quaint shops and art galleries. We made our way back to the Lygon Arms where we sat in one of the many lounges and enjoyed homemade english cream teas. Our dinner that night was superb and the service excellent, I ordered roast duck and my husband ordered the steak, they were cooked to perfection. We ordered champagne and ended the meal with coffee and chocolates seated in a cosy lounge with large open fireplace. We slept well as the bed was very comfortable. The next morning after a very good English breakfast we enjoyed English tea in the pretty garden over looking the croquet lawn. The gardens are very peaceful and wooden benches with tables were covered making ideal for sitting and relaxing when enjoying the gardens in good weather. Beyond the maze garden there was a a tennis court. The only downside we found was the Hotels Spa as it was not up to scratch, the jacuzzi was not working neither was the sauna in the ladies, and the pool and steam room were not as clean as they could have been. However this did not spoil our experience and we would definitely stay again. Nearby English villages are well worth visiting as they are so pretty and full of Antique and craft and gift shops.

Room Tip: This Hotel is highly recommendable for its character, comfort and excellent staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Christine,
The Lygon Arms is indeed steeped in history, we do hope you will visit again and any one of the team will be delighted to share the tales of this wonderful hotel.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your dinner wtih us, Chef works hard to ensure seasonal produce as well as local ingredients are featured. We recently took part in the local asparagus festival, we hope you will join us for that next year.

Thank you again for your great comments, the team appreciate your kind words.

with kind regards,

Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

the hotel was beautiful inside, especially the old wooden doors, stairs . and the general 'feel' of the place. Food was good and enjoyed our stay. Broadway is delightful and hotel right in middle of highstreet,! We changed rooms and stayed in one of their rooms across the road, which was fine and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here for a business conference and ...wow. Located in an old fashioned little village with quaint little shops and the buildings are wonderful. a great blend of old buildings and modern day luxury with helpful staff and superb food. It may seem a strange thing to say but one of the best things is how easy it is to get lost in the maze of irrationally designed corridors of oak paneling and sudden changes of level for no reason. I felt myself slipping back in time and relaxing. The courtyard is a great feature and location is perfect for beautiful surrounding countryside. I will definately be returning for a romantic weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelSadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Me and my wife spent a couple of days here for our wedding anniversay and enjoyed an excellent stay. The hotel really captures the charm of the Cotswolds and occupies a prime locaton in the heart of Broadway.

On the first evening we ate dinner in the bistro, the food and service were both excellent. As was the breakfast which, with it being being served in the spectacular hall, was a real highlight.

We also made the most of the spa facilities which, though not the most exclusive, we found quiet and relaxing.

Overall a great place for a short break and really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The outside areas and courtyard are generally tidier and cleaner than my last visit. The room was very much better - room 62 in the thatched cottage - big 4 poster bed good bathroom and shower.
Tea/coffee making facilities etc.
Staff are pleasant and attentive.
Breakfast was much better - they now have a chef who can cook eggs properly (scrambled, poached and fried). Black pudding was overcooked, dry and rubbery - hard to get the knife into. But... it's not minor mistakes that irritate it's the way they're dealt with and when we mentioned the black puddings they were immediately replaced - with apologies.

Room Tip: As mentioned - room 62 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernice H, Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear BrianofLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Lygon Arms, we are very pleased you returned. Since Puma Hotels Collection has taken over the management of the Lygon Arms, we have invested very much in team development and as we expect mistakes will be made, however as you stated it is how we deal with them that makes the difference.

We are fortunate to have many different styles of rooms at the Lygon Arms and look forward to welcoming you again the near future where you can enjoy another one of our lovely bedrooms.

with kind regards,

Bernice Heard
Group Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
816 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing