We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“françois”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Fantastic old hotel with modern comfort. Interesting location to make trips into the country side. Nearly all buses stop in front of the hotel. We also liked the swimmingpool.. The chrismasdecoration was awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,222)
There are newer reviews for The Lygon Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just stayed at The Lygon Arms last week for a couple of days and, although being an old traditional hotel, we we disappointed that we were in the modern rooms at the back of the hotel. The room, however, was clean and spacious. On the second night we ate in the restautant the both the food and service were excellent. Indeed, I added a tip to the bill in recognition of the service but was informed that credit card tips go directly to the hotel and not the staff. I decided, therefore, to pay in cash. Notwithstanding those couple of points, it's an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked another weekend break at the Lygon Arms as a pre-Christmas treat. Once again blown away by the hotel, I always think on the 2nd or 3rd visit you start to notice issues and there are none. Cannot comment on the food for dinner and lunch as we eat out both nights but the breakfast is really good, great choice of cereals, fruit, cold meats etc and the Full English hit the spot.

Trying to work out a date for another weekend already

Room Tip: We have had rooms in the older and newer parts of the hotel and both were great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for one night with my husband and friends for the first of the extended Christmas shopping nights on arrival the staff were excellent the room was warm and exceptionally comfortable
. We ate at the Swan but strolled back to sit in front of a roaring fire for drinks served by a very attentive staff,breakfast this morning was cooked to order and very tasty.
We will definitely be taking up the offer in January for a reduced rate offer. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a little luxury occasionally

Room Tip: Ask for an original old room not a new contemporary room they are much nicer and very cosy
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Lygom Arms is a central feature of this fabulous Cotswold village. The food was excellent and the staff provide excellent service. Highly recommended. Do not miss the opportunity to stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My Husband and I chose to stay at The Lygon Arms as we had been offered a complimentary stay at a Puma Hotel due to problems we encountered at another one of the chains Hotels.

We hoped that this hotel would restore our faith in Puma Hotels and I am pleased to say it did. Upon arrival the receptionist and porter were most polite and helpful. Our room (no8) was up a couple of flight of uneven stairs (the hotel is 371 years old and this just added to the character)
When we opened our door we were amazed by the beautiful 4 poster bed and huge open fire. Unfortunately, the fire was no longer in use due to health and safety reasons but the fact that it was there was enough. The bathroom in contrast was very modern but lovely and clean. It still had some of the original beams present and the armoire in the room looked like it was every one of its 371 years - again it just added to the character of the place.

After a good nights sleep and a very tasty breakfast of eggs benedict (served by very attentive and efficient staff) we went off for the day to explore and came back later that afternoon and ended up sat in front of one of the open fires downstairs which was roaring away and we treated ourselves to a cream tea - the scones were amazing!

Later that evening we decided to try out the pool and sauna - the only negative was that the jacuzzi was not working - the pool and sauna were lovely and relaxing.

This whole process was repeated the following day - apart from the cream tea and on checkout we had had a thoroughly fantastic time! - thank you Lygon Arms - you really are the jewel in Puma's hotel crown!

Room Tip: No8 is a lovely room if you want a 4 poster bed in the oldest part of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall excellent hotel. Setting and communal facilities great. Food was plenty and good quality and also good value. Bedroom small with tired decor. Some staff could do with customer service training.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
861 reviews
6.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,030 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £168 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing