We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the outset this is a great hotel, helpful reception. We had a premium double room which was nicely decorated with a huge 4 poster bed fully dressed. Dinner in the great hall was excellent, food and service very good. Breakfast service was a bit slow,but the food was good. Broadway is a very pretty villiage and in close proximity to several other pretty villages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinep2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments, I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    618
    286
    158
    91
See reviews for
230
1,350
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I took the family to Broadway and The Lygon Arms in particular today for a Mothers Day lunch.
The menu was superb with a great choice of traditional Sunday Luinches along with beautifully presented salmon dishes with other choices.The starters were fantastic with a delicious taster from the chef of a salmon mousse.The main courses were served very attentatively by the staff and nothing was too much trouble.But the sweets!!!! We had a selection of chocolate,lemon and rhubarb desserts which were to die for.You must go!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write this review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and your experience at the Lygon Arms on mothers day, i have passed your lovely comments to the food and beverage team. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Only a half hour drive from my home or so.As was on my patch stayed the extra night.
Very old well maintained hotel.
Lovely hotel,attentive staff and well serviced rooms.
Some interesting shops in the village.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glosterbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review i am delighted you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

An overnight stay attending an agents' annual conference. A lovely old hotel, full of character, atmosphere and olde worlde charm, but with all modern comforts in the room and efficient and helpful staff throughout.

The dinner was catering for about 60 or so covers, but everything went like clockwork with everybody praising the high standard of the cuisine, well worthy of the two AA rosettes, with a very refined choice of wines to go with it.

On arrival we had been served an excellent ploughman's lunch and the breakfast was also of a very high standard too. During tea breaks, there was a good selection of pastries and shortbread biscuits, indicating a good pastry chef.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a well-run establishment with a restaurant serving divine food and all in a delightful setting in the heart of one of England's most beautiful villages. Probably the best conference I've attended in many years in terms of the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visit Broadway the last week and we found in the middle of the hight street majestically The LYGON ARMS HOTEL .We went in and we ordered a afternoon tea.Wow when they brought the afternoon tea we were speechless,master piece , delicious ,attention to detail , colourful ,unique ..Amazing place ...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest, I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience. The pastry chef will be delighted to hear your comments. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friends & I drove to Broadway and we had a lovely surprise taken to the great hall restaurant .I think the restaurant manager David took great care of us and the waiting staff were excellent and very attentive . The canapes were divine ,the starter was superb ,the main course was delicious and the puddings were to die for.We asked to meet the pastry chef and he came out to see us and we complimented him on his delicious desserts.It was a lovely treat and I highly recommend having lunch or dinner in the great hall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyboo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. David and the food and beverage team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Came to the hotel today full of expectation for a relaxing spa day with afternoon tea, was disappointed to find that the steam room was closed, the women's changing rooms were closed for painting so we had to use the men's. Where do I start, in desperate need of closing the spa and renovating or just a good clean maybe. Men's changing room - no lock on toilet door, one working hair dryer (in a room with no light) dirty in need of more than paint. Then we get into the pool room, again in need of a good clean and regrout. Whilst trying to relax someone then decided to clean the steam room with a very noisy jet washer - no relaxing at all today. It wasn't all bad, the facial was fantastic and the afternoon tea was lovely too. Spoke to Steve who apologised and dealt with our complaints very well.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments I am sorry that you encountered problems in the Spa area I can assure you we are currently working very hard to get this right. I am pleased you enjoyed your treatment and afternoon tea. Thank you for bringing this to Steve's attention he has already shared you comments with the senior management team. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing