We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cotswolds Hotel”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cotswolds Hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just held our annual event here for 75 guests, over 3 days. I simply cannot fault the hotel. From the very first contact with the team, to the event itself, it was totally fantastic. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FlossyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments, I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you next year! Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    636
    290
    160
    91
See reviews for
241
1,388
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Lygon Arms is a wonderful old hotel built in Cotswold stone that must be 400 years old. It has lots of interesting features. It is located in the middle of Broadway a particularly beautiful village.

We had our wedding here in November 2013 and were delighted. The small Cromwell room was our reception/wedding room and catered up to 12. The food, wine, service and organisational support were excellent. Minor changes requested of the room were organised with no fuss. A bottle of complimentary champagne and chocolates was a nice touch really appreciated!

Breakfast was of a very good standard and served in a large striking room with curved vaulted ceiling. Not just buffet but proper service for cooked food requirements.

We had the honeymoon suite, four poster bed, massive bathroom and large lounge. We loved it.

Pictures of the Spa looked very impressive but we didn't have time.

We particularly liked Broadway when the tourists had gone home. There are many great places to eat and drink.

Highly recommended, (though I would choose to be in the old part of the hotel) and for those from say the US looking for a bit of history in England this would be a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. We are all delighted to hear your lovely compliments. Congratulations on your recent marriage. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Rooms in the newer part of the hotel need more maintenance on them, the meal we had in the restaurant on our first evening was not good at all unless you like warmish food then thats the place to eat but if you want it hot keep your fingers crossed. The original part of the hotel was very nice but the new part is in need of a bit better maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JWP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback, i am sorry we let you down during dinner service i have shared your comments with the Food and Beverage team to ensure we get it right in the future. We do have a ongoing refurbishment program in the hotel. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the outset this is a great hotel, helpful reception. We had a premium double room which was nicely decorated with a huge 4 poster bed fully dressed. Dinner in the great hall was excellent, food and service very good. Breakfast service was a bit slow,but the food was good. Broadway is a very pretty villiage and in close proximity to several other pretty villages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinep2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments, I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I took the family to Broadway and The Lygon Arms in particular today for a Mothers Day lunch.
The menu was superb with a great choice of traditional Sunday Luinches along with beautifully presented salmon dishes with other choices.The starters were fantastic with a delicious taster from the chef of a salmon mousse.The main courses were served very attentatively by the staff and nothing was too much trouble.But the sweets!!!! We had a selection of chocolate,lemon and rhubarb desserts which were to die for.You must go!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write this review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and your experience at the Lygon Arms on mothers day, i have passed your lovely comments to the food and beverage team. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Only a half hour drive from my home or so.As was on my patch stayed the extra night.
Very old well maintained hotel.
Lovely hotel,attentive staff and well serviced rooms.
Some interesting shops in the village.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glosterbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review i am delighted you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

An overnight stay attending an agents' annual conference. A lovely old hotel, full of character, atmosphere and olde worlde charm, but with all modern comforts in the room and efficient and helpful staff throughout.

The dinner was catering for about 60 or so covers, but everything went like clockwork with everybody praising the high standard of the cuisine, well worthy of the two AA rosettes, with a very refined choice of wines to go with it.

On arrival we had been served an excellent ploughman's lunch and the breakfast was also of a very high standard too. During tea breaks, there was a good selection of pastries and shortbread biscuits, indicating a good pastry chef.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay in a well-run establishment with a restaurant serving divine food and all in a delightful setting in the heart of one of England's most beautiful villages. Probably the best conference I've attended in many years in terms of the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
404 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing