We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just superb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Olen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We went in without reservation in a very busy weekend, after a bad experience the same day with another hotel that was totally unacceptable. The people at reception were genuinely very friendly and went the extra mail to accommodate us and gave us a good rate as well for the 2 rooms we asked. The hotel has style, character and history. (Tall people, mind your head ;))
The room was pleasant and well insulated to keep street noise out. A bit more cleaning could do (cobwebs on the ceiling). To get to the room we needed to get through the restaurant, which was a bit awkward with our suitcases.
The breakfast was good and plenty of choices were available.
Basically it was all OK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johan_christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review I am delighted my team exceeded your expectations on arrival. I am sorry your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard please be assured the housekeeping issue will be addressed with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back, Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    618
    286
    158
    91
See reviews for
230
1,350
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you get a good price it's an acceptable place to stay, but I paid well under half of the official rate and this was about right. I had a room that was modern and the one up from deluxe (I think it's called premier or premium), this room was pleasant, although they could've gone away from the very expensive name of bang and olofson and used the money to put something in that would be more usable for guests, maybe with a Bluetooth music connection. Staff are pleasant but not efficient. (I tried to get them to book me a table but has to do it myself, and I asked for a taxi, when the gentleman was on the phone I heard the driver say something about the return, so I interrupted to make sure the driver could pick us up too, as we were going to a pub in the middle of nowhere on a bank holiday Monday, he then hung up and said that was all ok and that we should talk to the driver about the return time. As we were about to be dropped off the driver said: "The hotel did tell you I can pick you up?" It took us over an hour to arrange another driver whilst we were having dinner for my GF's birthday. Not ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, I am very sorry that you had a bad experience when trying to book a taxi, i will speak to the team immediately to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. I am grateful for your feedback and can assure you that the hotel is in a constant state of appraisal. Thankyou for your comments. Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Late booking standard room
Cobwebs hanging in the bathroom
Toilet not flushing correctly ( a previous review reports the same)
Request to have a room with a view of the high street is granted ..perfect
Reception confirms that we cannot eat until 9 on Sunday night
Miracle we sit down and have an excellent meal at 8
Waiter confirms that he has no white bread rolls
Ask him to check again.....and he immediately finds some
Waiter 2 confirms that again they have no white bread rolls .......she also finds some !!
Rest of the meal and wine is perfect
Request 2 rum floater coffees in one if the several cozy lounges
Head waiter confirms no problem
Twenty minutes and three attempts later we give up and go to bed
The sequence included two cold Irish coffees sent to the wrong lounge to people who did not order
Two more Irish coffees got to us.....sent back stating rum please
Final attempt had rum in one coffee and none in the other.....Hungarian waiter was totally embarrassed as we left for bed
Never saw the head waiter after he followed up the second attempt of our coffee request
Breakfast involved our order being forgotten as all around were served
When it came it was Ok but ensure you ask for fried eggs to be basted otherwise the curse of the slimy eggs is with you!
Reported the incidents to the front of house manageress who was very sympathetic and deducted the cost of our wine from the evening meal and offered coffee and biscuits prior to our departure
We accepted
Our Hungarian late evening waiter had not added the coffee attempts to our bill the previous evening
Training and communication are clear values that need to be worked on and implemented.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank reading2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lygon Arms, I do appologise that your stay was not upto standard on this occassion, Clearly there are lessons to be learned, please rest assured i have already spoken to the senior management team and personally given them feedback based on our conversation on departure. I do hope you will see this as an isolated incident. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went on a Groupon for a spa day but decided to go the day before and stay overnight. We took an upgrade to the Great Chamber which was an experience. An excellent room with a king size very comfortable bed and a vaulted beamed ceiling plus a huge modern bathroom. The dinner was superb, excellent food and the spa facilities spacious and very nice gym, pool, steam room and sauna. We had as part of the bargain, afternoon tea which again was lovely with beautiful freshly made scones. We finished our visit with a back neck and shoulder massage so left feeling very relaxed and chilled out. Broadway is a wonderful little village full of character, browsing shops and tea shops plus lots of excellent walks along the Cotswold way.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and it's available take an upgrade to a room in the main building with lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beautiful location. Room we stayed in was fine but can see why the hotel is 4 and not 5 star. Needs updating and TLC. Over worked and under trained restaurent staff. Over priced menu in the dining room and definitely not the fine dining experience which the prices and menu lad you to believe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Lygon Arms, We do cater for a variety of guests and i am sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your meal in the restaurant we do try to keep our prices competitive, however i will discuss your comments with the food anf beverage team. Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked late for a May Bank Holiday Sunday night stay. I was surprised that a room was available but upon arrival I realised how many rooms are at the hotel. Our room was in a newer annex, which we were disappointed about as we were led away from the front building by the friendly duty manager who took our luggage, but it was a nice clean contemporary room with a huge bed. It didn't really matter that is was further back in the end as it was a nice short walk through the courtyard to get back to the main building (although you can also access the front building through internal corridors).

The main old building is fantastic and atmospheric. The staff are attentive and friendly. Dinner was excellent. Dining in the Great Hall is quite an experience with its high ceiling and panelled walls and mirrors.

A reviewer has commented on TripAdvisor that the spa is a little tired - which is apparently being addressed this June. The duty manager was telling me that when the spa was built, little planning was made for future maintenance so there will be a weeks worth of work done. We enjoyed the facilities for a pre-breakfast swim anyway.

This is a hotel that we left with the feeling that we would come back. Thanks to the staff who seem to enjoy working there and care about the guests.

A tip re the car park. It's not apparent when you arrive but the car park is accessed via Back Lane. There are two car parks signposted on the left, past Budgens.

Room Tip: As per my review, we had a room in a newer annex of the hotel. The room was very good but when we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ob1onlyhopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, It is lovely to see that your recent stay was to your satisfaction and that the service you recieved was to your expectations. The staff will be delighted to hear that they looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Your feedback is important to us. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We checked in here for the may day weekend. We were met as we arrived and our car was quickly taken and parked in their large car park, our room was ready for us, it was a ground floor room. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. Unfortunatly for us the bistro was full on the saturday evening and wasnt open sunday, which as it was a busy and popular weekend was very disappointing. There are a quite a few places to eat in the village, we ate at Pregos which was just about next door and it was very nice.
Breakfast at the lygon arms was very nice, lots of beautifully prepared fruit, fresh bread, lots of juices, meats, cheese etc. If you want hot food it is prepared fresh and served to you.
All staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and welcoming. Overall a peacefully quiet hotel with attentive staff. Thankyou for a lovely weekend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your comments, i am sorry you were not able to get into Lukes our bistro i will discuss this further with the food and beverage manager. Thank you for your compliments the team will be delighted to here your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing