We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delight!”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Felmersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Delight!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for just one night with a special deal found on the internet for dinner, bed and breakfast. I phoned to ask if we could book in the old part of the hotel rather than annex, was told they would try but could not guarantee. Anyway, we checked in after an exhausting journey to find an absolutely gorgeous room waiting for us, medieval hearth with a sitting area as well as king sized bed and lovely soft furnishings. It was so spacious we nearly rattled around in it! Dinner in the 2 rosette restaurant was elegant and beautifully prepared. The service was very attentive without hovering, and the dining room is an old minstrel hall and just lovely. The staff were so helpful, friendly, seemed genuinely pleased to see you and help you. There are several little nooks and crannies for lounges that you can read the paper, have a drink, it is such a cozy place. The 600-year history of this is felt in every corner of the hotel, but it is not stuffy and deserves all the accolades you can view on the walls! Lots of famous people have stayed here, from Liz Taylor to Kate Moss.

Room Tip: Room 17 is just a few steps up a crooked, winding ancient staircase and felt very private, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your recent visit to The Lygon Arms, it is most heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the character and history of this 16th century building came to life for you. I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team, We can't wait to welcome you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    628
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
239
1,375
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful village and hotel, I wish we had arrived a little earlier in the day to appreciate the shops. We ate in Luke's Bistro next door which the hotel booked for us, this is part of the hotel. We enjoyed the food, the service was excellent. Breakfast was lovely, all the normal continental foods, also freshly made warm blueberry muffins. I chose the smoked haddock and my husband had a full English, all served beautifully. All the staff that we encountered were so helpful. We are fans of Puma Hotels, this is by far the best! Will be booking again but would ask for a room in the old part of the hotel.

Room Tip: We did not realise there is a newer part to the hotel, this is where we stayed, the room was fine bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou very much for reviewing your recent experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed one night at this beautiful hotel, All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. There are obviously a range of room and ours was amazing. We arrived and spent an hour sitting in the very peaceful garden in the sun. Dinner was perfect in the very atmospheric great hall. No hurry the next morning with a late checkout and we spent some time in the pool. Looking forward to returning one day,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Steve1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely compliments. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lygon Arms and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay. A spacious bedroom in the oldest part of the hotel complete with oak panelling and ancient carving, a very comfortable 'four poster bed,' a luxurious bathroom with a separate shower and bath and a large sitting room all made it feel very comfortable. We felt very privileged. The staff were friendly and welcoming and breakfast the next morning was excellent. Just a shame about the weather! - but overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DJL1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely compliments Thankyou. I hope we see you again Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A nice old fashioned hotel with some interesting rooms, lots of exposed beams and friendly staff.
There are a few rooms that are not en-suite, but thanks to the very helpful staff was able to change rooms early evening having checked in late afternoon.

Suspect the hotel would benefit from a weekly visit from a bird of prey to encourage the pigeons to vacate the area :)

No comment on the food as learned that it was £40 with no drinks included and went to another venue, there are several alternative food venues in town

Room Tip: Not room 12 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing to stay at The Lygon Arms, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, I do apologise that the room 12 was not to your taste but happy that my team were able to take care of you so well. Your feedback is valuable thankyou and Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel has to be without hesitation the best hotel we have had the pleasure to stay in, After a little hick up with bookings we ended up staying here two nights instead of the one we had originally booked. Upon arrival we were briefly shown around the hotel then taken to our room. Wow is an under estimation. The room was amazing. Spotlessly clean and so big and spacious. The hotel had arranged for a bottle of champagne and chocolates to be in our room by way of an apology for the booking error. Really nice touch. Breakfast in the morning was to die for. The beds are so comfortable you just melt into the mattress for a guaranteed great nights sleep. The shower was a joy in the morning. All the staff throughout our stay were so attentive, they really couldn't do enough for you. The spa facilities were great, hubby used the gym and the pool, again spotless. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, don't bother looking anywhere else to stay. A big thanks to Charlie at the Walton hall hotel and Rebecca at the lygon Arms for sorting out our reservation and making our weekend very special indeed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kartingkermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back with open arms in the future, Kindest Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The world is left behind when you enter the Lygon Arms. A true English hotel where old traditions are maintained. The village is so relaxing down to horse riders down the Main Street as you enjoy breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emyr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing to stay at The Lygon Arms on your recent visit to Broadway, I am delighted your enjoyed your stay and we hope to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing