We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou for a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thankyou for a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just had the most wonderful two night stay, at the Lygon arms in
Broadway, somewhere we have wanted to stay for a long time and my god we where
not disappointed. The staff and service was excellent, we upgraded our room and it was
beautiful to the front of the hotel. We brought our miniature daschund with us and nothing
was to much trouble,we will be back to the Lygon arms soon 100%. Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamonn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    625
    287
    158
    91
See reviews for
238
1,365
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed 4 July 2014. Beautiful old Cotswold building providing first class service. The staff are very well trained and were outstanding. The Great Hall (the restaurant) is a stunner. Dinner was very good indeed though portion size was a bit small for me (but not for my wife). I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ww1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing to stay at The Lygon Arms, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, i will share your compliments with the team. I do apologise that the meal portion size was to small for you i have shared your comments with the chef. We do look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited the hotel for five nights with our eight year old daughter and stayed in one of the hotels cottages which was ideal. The downstairs served as her bedroom whilst upstairs was our room and bathroom. The staff were fantastic and attended to every request. The food was first class especially the breakfasts! The main restaurant was a little too fancy for our tastes but the bar meals and the adjoining bistro style restaurant both hit the mark. The spa was great and in good order well maintained and clean. Will be returning again once we have saved up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just spent one night here for my birthday, with a deal purchased through Amazon local, which included bed breakfast/evening meal/glass of wine. The hotel is fabulous, loved the room, with enormous en-suite. It was great to be pampered in the restaurant. The food was first class and the staff were friendly and efficient. My only complaint is that when sitting outside having a drink, guests around us were smoking very large cigars and the smoke was wafting over everyone. It's a pity that smoking is allowed on the premises. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing The Lygon Arms to celebrate your recent birthday It is most heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thankyou for your compliments and comments many happy returns. Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The whole Lygon Arms experience from first to last was one of a perfect example of friendly and efficient service. With some high class hotels the service can be efficient but clinical, but at the Lygon Arms it is a perfect example of efficiency and friendliness, being there when needed and pleasant throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night recently and were pleasantly surprised. The service from start to finish could not be faulted. All of the staff made us feel very welcome and were so friendly.
The room was excellent and spotless with lily white bed linen.
The only minor complaint was that it was so warm and there was no air conditioning or fan in the room.
The location is excellent for exploring the numerous pretty villages around the area and Broadway itself is so picturesque.
The food in the restaurant for dinner was excellent and very well presented and the breakfast menu was excellent.
Whilst the car park is at the back of the hotel a couple of minutes walk , the staff are only too happy to park the car for you.
Would definitely return for a slightly longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. I am sorry your room was so hot we do have fans available on request. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

After walking past the Lygon Arms for the last 20 years we finally got to stay there a couple of weeks ago and was a bit disappointed. The hotel is a lot bigger than I expected after never looking in or walking round the back. When we walked in from the car park we could see some rooms which my wife commented on that they must be the staff rooms, no it was ours! Having said that the room was large, clean and had a lovely bathroom. After reading many comments I can agree the hotel looks a bit tired in some places but we found the staff very friendly.I cant comment on the spa as we didn't use it. Our room was a deluxe type located on the top floor and as the weather was great that weekend it would have been nice to have been able to open the two windows, unfortunately one of the windows had three of the four handles broken off so we were unable to open! The food for both breakfasts and our evening meal in the Great Hall was very good and we could not fault it. We did have three false fire alarms within one day which was a bit of a nuisance but at least it shows it works. The only issue is that if it keeps going off you can get complacent? All in all we had a good weekend the weather was brilliant but if it was not for the fact we had the break as a deal via an online web site I would not be paying the full price to stay there. I would have liked to have rated it good rather than very good but it was better than average.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Lygon Arms, I am delighted you enjoyed all your meals and that your room was comfortable. I do apologise about the fire alarms and the impact they had on your stay, as a grade 1 listed property we take fire risks very seriously. I have shared your feedback with the senior management team. I do hope we see you again in the future. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing