We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough with the smooth”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
dudley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Rough with the smooth”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This review will be in two parts.

Part one being valentines weekend. We were lucky enough to be treated to a weekend away as a Christmas present from our children. As regular visitors to Broadway I have always longed to stay in this most prestigious hotel so we were chuffed to bits with this gift. We were booked for two nights bed and breakfast. The hotel itself is spectacular, the staff very attentive, but unfortunately we were left very disappointed by our room (106) while old world charm is endearing, sloping floors, creaking floor boards etc the same cannot be said for just down right poor maintenance. On entering our room with dimmed lights all looked lovely. How this vision changed in the full light of day, unfortunately for us February the 14th was an extremely windy night as we found with the wind whistling through the gaps in the window, keeping myself awake most of the night, I presume this is why it was taped up with brown parcel tape??? Very attractive. Then after we had showered and I tried to dry my hair we found that to get to the plug socket by the mirror meant moving a large chest of drawers, there was only one socket behind this so meant that the lamp had to be unplugged, which then meant it was too dark to see in the mirror. The only other socket available is next to the bed by the tea tray, but no mirror. I don't think it is appropriate to have to move furniture and mirrors in order to just dry ones hair. There are two lovely sinks in the bathroom, the plug does not work on the right hand side enabling it useless. Then that brings me to the decoration of the room, cracked, water stained ceiling with peeling wall paper. Sheets of unpainted mdf behind the tv and a carpet that has seen better days and I would not be willing to walk on bare foot. On the Saturday morning we had to ask the reception to look at the heating as it was too hot in the room and the radiator thermostat was not working and we couldn't open the window because of there poor condition. This is not what were were expecting from the hotel.
We ate in the Great Hall on the Friday night, whilst it was very busy when we arrived, by the time we finished there were only two other tables occupied but it still took an hour to be served our desserts from the time of ordering. While the staff were very attentive and the food sublime I can't understand why it would take so long when the restaurant was almost empty by this time. In the spa the jacuzzi was not working and the floor in the steam room was very dirty.

After several emails back and forward to the hotel manager we were offered a free return visit which we had this weekend and the review below is for this visit.

Check in was friendly and smooth and as before very professional, the receptionist took my phone number and rang when our room was ready, as we had arrived early to make the most of the Broadway festival. This time we were lucky enough to stay in room 21 which is in the old part of the building, the court yard suite. Wow what a lovely room. Overlooking the courtyard below the room has a sitting area with TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a very large bright modern bathroom with a shower over the bath with a large daisy shower head and complimentary toiletries, there were also towelling robes and slippers. There is a digital safe in the wardrobe. In the bedroom area the room was tastefully furnished and decorated with a large wooden bedstead, two comfy chairs a coffee table and dressing table with mirror and large flat screen tv. There is also an ornamental fireplace in the corner. We did not eat in the restaurant this time as we were there for the festival. Breakfast was a delight, everything you could wish for on a continental buffet with a choice of cooked items, full Cotswolds breakfast, kippers, smoked haddock or eggs Benedict all cooked to order. Service was prompt and professional. We did not use the spa on this occasion. Check out was straight forward.

We were pleased to give the hotel a second visit and it has now restored our faith in this hotel chain. I would NOT accept a room in the newer part of the hotel which has not been upgraded as they are not worth the money and I have stayed in better maintained Travelodge rooms. All of the photos to this review refer to our first visit in room 106.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dawn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I am delighted that on your second visit, you found everthing as you should have, since your last visit alot of work has been do on the room stock to improve guest experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards

Colin Heaney General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    641
    291
    160
    91
See reviews for
242
1,393
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just had the most wonderful two night stay, at the Lygon arms in
Broadway, somewhere we have wanted to stay for a long time and my god we where
not disappointed. The staff and service was excellent, we upgraded our room and it was
beautiful to the front of the hotel. We brought our miniature daschund with us and nothing
was to much trouble,we will be back to the Lygon arms soon 100%. Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamonn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed 4 July 2014. Beautiful old Cotswold building providing first class service. The staff are very well trained and were outstanding. The Great Hall (the restaurant) is a stunner. Dinner was very good indeed though portion size was a bit small for me (but not for my wife). I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ww1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing to stay at The Lygon Arms, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, i will share your compliments with the team. I do apologise that the meal portion size was to small for you i have shared your comments with the chef. We do look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited the hotel for five nights with our eight year old daughter and stayed in one of the hotels cottages which was ideal. The downstairs served as her bedroom whilst upstairs was our room and bathroom. The staff were fantastic and attended to every request. The food was first class especially the breakfasts! The main restaurant was a little too fancy for our tastes but the bar meals and the adjoining bistro style restaurant both hit the mark. The spa was great and in good order well maintained and clean. Will be returning again once we have saved up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just spent one night here for my birthday, with a deal purchased through Amazon local, which included bed breakfast/evening meal/glass of wine. The hotel is fabulous, loved the room, with enormous en-suite. It was great to be pampered in the restaurant. The food was first class and the staff were friendly and efficient. My only complaint is that when sitting outside having a drink, guests around us were smoking very large cigars and the smoke was wafting over everyone. It's a pity that smoking is allowed on the premises. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for choosing The Lygon Arms to celebrate your recent birthday It is most heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thankyou for your compliments and comments many happy returns. Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The whole Lygon Arms experience from first to last was one of a perfect example of friendly and efficient service. With some high class hotels the service can be efficient but clinical, but at the Lygon Arms it is a perfect example of efficiency and friendliness, being there when needed and pleasant throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your experience at The Lygon Arms, It is a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to extend your praise to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night recently and were pleasantly surprised. The service from start to finish could not be faulted. All of the staff made us feel very welcome and were so friendly.
The room was excellent and spotless with lily white bed linen.
The only minor complaint was that it was so warm and there was no air conditioning or fan in the room.
The location is excellent for exploring the numerous pretty villages around the area and Broadway itself is so picturesque.
The food in the restaurant for dinner was excellent and very well presented and the breakfast menu was excellent.
Whilst the car park is at the back of the hotel a couple of minutes walk , the staff are only too happy to park the car for you.
Would definitely return for a slightly longer visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. I am sorry your room was so hot we do have fans available on request. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
681 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing