We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, nice hotel but room for improvement on this trip”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, nice hotel but room for improvement on this trip”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Broadway is a lovely Cotswold village and this hotel certainly fits into its surroundings. There are three parts to the accommodation, old building itself, later added wings and thatched cottages. I stayed in one of the wings. Rooms are well furnished but could do with a refresh - for example Bang and Olufsen TV was good but only picked up a few channels and the bathroom mastic was discoloured. The smoke alarm activated at 2.30am and after being told it was a false alarm (after 10 minutes outside) sounded again shortly afterwards - we were later told it was an alarm fault. Food was very good (breakfast and lunchtime meal) and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good location, good hotel but unfortunately doesn't justify any more than an average on this occasion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerandAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meals and the staff looked after you. However i am sorry you were disturbed by the fire alarm a fault was detected which has since been rectified, we take the security of all our guests very seriously especially being a 600 year old listed property. I am also sorry that your TV did not have coverage of all the channels i have instructed our maintainance team to rectify this straight away. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    641
    291
    160
    91
See reviews for
242
1,393
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, TN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

One of the most historic properties at Cotswolds. Conveniently located at the immaculately well preserved town of Broadway. Opted to stay here as it was preferred accommodation of Oliver Cromwell during the civil war. His bedroom is now a small conference room. The hotel has a rustic charm about it. I was allotted a room in one of the newer wings, yet the room had to be changed because of a broken w/c. If you have a lot of luggage which I did not, it's a bit of a botheration tugging your wheelie because of the cobbled pathways leading up to the room. Did not eat at the restaurant except for a pudding from the in-room dining menu, which was nice. Ample car parking facilities in the front & inside the property. Overall enjoyed the stay. V

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishnuvardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked via late rooms and got a fab deal for deluxe double room inc dinner b&b...arrived and checked in swiftly, reception very helpful and booked us a table at Luke's bistro next door (which I hasten to add was amazing). The porter took out bags to room 107, bit of a trek as was in the annexe part of the hotel, but worth the walk as we'd been given an end room (which seemed huge) with a gorgeous 4 poster bed...room was well appointed and very comfortable. We visited the spa, again, well appointed and clean, only downside was the jacuzzi wasn't working and hadnt been for a few days according to other guests, disappointing that a hotel of this calibre didn't get it fixed ASAP.
Lovely room, Broadway was a pleasure to walk round, all in all a good stay, would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Upon arrival here were realised that my husband had booked us for the following Friday rather than that evening! Luckily the hotel had five rooms available and were able to change our booking. They didn't have to do this as it was our mistake but we pleased that they were able to accommodate us. Our room was very small but we felt it added to the whole atmosphere of this hotel. It is so historic and really feels like you are getting a glimpse of what life might have been like all those years ago. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was fantastic. Everything tasted divine and if you appreciate good food I would definitely recommend eating at the Lygon hotel. The location is perfect for Broadway and Chipping Campden. We also visited Hidcote gardens which were really impressive. We would definitely love to stay in this hotel again because although pricey we felt that historical atmosphere, quality of food and professionalism of the staff make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: I think we were in one of the smaller rooms but had a good view of the gardens at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzamail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, This is a very touching and much appreciated review of your recent visit to The Lygon Arms, it is most heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the character and history of this 16th century building came to life for you. I am also delighted that the reception team looked after you so well, We can't wait to welcome you back, Kind Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We drove past this hotel and were immediately attracted by its look. We booked in and were taken to our room by a very circuitous route because it was raining and the direct route would have gotten us wet, down halls up and down stairs and finally arriving at our room. We rang reception to book for dinner and were told that we could only book for 9.30pm. We were happy to do so as we were still jet lagged from our flight so were happy for a nap beforehand. We were looking forward to our dinner as the restaurant looked warm and inviting with many tempting dishes.
We got lost on the way back with no lights or directions to the restaurant and our room being at the back of the property. We gave our name for our booking which could not be found, after answering a series of questions the Maitre d was summoned who apologised for the error but then added that we would not be served in the restaurant as the kitchen had closed at 9.30 but we could order bar food (which was good) and have it in the lounge where we ate on our own. VERY DISAPPOINTING. With no other choice at this time we ordered 2 dishes and were given 2 glasses of wine to make up for the error and lack of communication with the staff. What was supposed to be a special occasion was totally ruined.

Room Tip: Confirm your dinner reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review. I am sorry you didn't eat in our Great Hall during your recent visit the last seating is at 9.30pm I will disscuss your comments with the team to ensure we communicate effectively in future and clearly advise guests eating at 9.30pm that this is the last seating and prompt arrival is neccassary. I am pleased you enjoyed the food from the bar and that the duty manager provided you complimentary drinks to accompany it. I do hope we see you again. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice place but not quite as nice as it thinks it is. We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. This is a fantastic part of the world. The Lygon is a wonderful thing to look at and attracts people for all those reasons. That said, it does leave a little bit to be desired in terms of service, the quality of the rooms, and value-for-money. We would suggest you stay here and eat elsewhere in Broadway, but don't miss the experience - even if it's just the once.

Room Tip: Try to get into the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review, I was delighted to hear you really enjoyed your stay but dissappointed that you did not think it was good service or value for money but you did not specifiy particularly why this was the case. Our staff do work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and we are constantly appraising the hotel. I do hope we see you again, Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for one night in a superior deluxe at the front of the hotel in the smallest bed I have ever slept in. We believe it was a 3/4 bed, i.e. not quite a double bed and for 2 adults it was ridiculous! We had less space than a single bed each on this bed and the mattress was very firm. Worst still were the flimsy, lifeless thin pillows that need throwing out. On top of that the room was hot but I was more concerned about the fact that we only managed 2 hours sleep in this small bed. The bed spread on top of the bed in this "superior deluxe" was threadbare in places. Cheap and nasty secondary glazing at the window that looked awful and rattled around.

In our bathroom on arrival, on top of our toilet was a slightly damp toilet roll. It was obvious that this toilet roll had dropped into the toilet before our arrival and was just "drying out". God only knows what germs were on that toilet roll after dropping into the water?

On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were great, on leaving they didn't ask us how our night was. Maybe they don't want to hear the answer?! We would have been more than happy to tell them what we think. We were truly disappointed with our stay and wont be staying there again.

We had dinner in the main restaurant which was reasonable. Very expensive for what you got and the seating in there is a little odd - everyone seems to be looking at everyone else and sat quite close. Nothing outstanding and thankfully part of a deal package as I wouldn't have been happy paying the full price for what we got. It was just ok really.

In general the whole place looks tired and cheaply maintained. I fear that this hotel will go downhill, especially with reviews like mine. Customers (especially those living overseas hoping to visit the Cotswolds) use Tripadvisor to book their hotels. Getting reviews like mine are not going to help.

Lacking in customer service on departure, bed too small, threadbare throw, thin old pillows, mediocre dinner and a wet toilet roll. Not looking good is it Lygon?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealFoodieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your review, I am sorry you did not sleep well, i wish you would have advised us we would have moved you with no fuss at all. It is always worth mentioning these sorts of things when staying in a deluxe hotel. I have discussed the points you raised with the senior management team to ensure we get it right in the future. Whilst your feedback is very much appreciated, please be assured that your experience is not representative of our usual standards. Kindest Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
841 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
682 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing