We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel. Lovely location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel. Lovely location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

Having been very disappointed that we could not fly to Prague this weekend due the volcanic ash, we decided we would go to the Cotswolds instead.
We were really pleased with our room on arrival as we had been upgraded to a suite, which was beautiful and very spacious. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the pool which was a perfect temperature, unlike most hotel pools that tend to be a bit on the chilly side.

Enjoyed breakfast, it is always nice not to have a buffet breakfast and the poached eggs were cooked perfectly. If we had taken our children they would have wanted a better selection of cakes and pastries but we were happy.

We did find the dinners a little disappointing, we just felt they could have been better, for example we wouldn't expect to have part-baked rolls served in a restaurant of this standard. The service in the restaurant could also be improved. Just things like not taking a plate away when someone else on the table is still eating, and not topping-up our wine glass every ten minutes when we hadn't actually drunk any makes a difference. I hadn't realised waiters could be too attentive!

Everywhere was spotless, the bar staff were great, there is great walking straight from the hotel. For a short relaxing break this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    625
    287
    158
    91
See reviews for
238
1,365
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Having read all the negative reviews here, my husband and I were very worried that we would be disappointed with our stay. We considered staying elsewhere but decided to go ahead since the deal was reasonable.

We actually had no major problems with the room. Heating was fine, although our TV stopped working after the first night. (we didn't get round to asking for it to be fixed).

The best part of the hotel is that you can sit in the armchairs beside several very cosy log fires, which is lovely after a day walking in the countryside. The bar staff were friendly and attentive.

We also made good use of the spa. However i think that this was the most disappointing aspect of our stay. The poolside was quite dirty and should have been regularly cleaned by the staff. Also, the steam room was a little dirty and 2 of the jets in the hot tub weren't working. The ceiling needed a re-paint too. It's such a nice space and it's a shame that it isn't kept in more of a pristine state of cleanliness and repair.

We enjoyed our breakfasts as there was a good selection, although it would be even better if the cheese and ham was out beside the fruit, rather than having to order it separately.

I think the hotel in general provided value for money and is a great location for visiting the Cotswolds. It was hard to leave the cosy armchairs where we read our morning paper!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdeyHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretary10, Secretary at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Thank you for your comments you have made with regard to your recent stay and we are very pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your visit.

We have noted your observations regarding the Spa and I assure you that the concerns you have raised will be treated very seriously and we are grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is only by receiving feedback that we are able to ensure that we are offering the correct standards.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Having read some recent uncomplimentary reviews for the Lygon Arms I felt a little anxious and apprehensive, having chosen it for myself, my husband and four of our friends for our easter break. Thank goodness we discovered my concerns were completely unfounded. The Lygon Arms is a gem of a place; full of history, tastefully decorated lounges and nooks at every turn with warming log fires to welcome you from a exhilarating spring walk ! The location is excellent, right in the middle of Broadway; a charming village with numerous gift shops, tea shops etc. (There's a very helpful lady in the tourist information office, found down one of the side streets, near the well camouflaged Budgens Supermarket. The walk up to Broadway Tower is beautiful and there's a good cafe at the top for a much needed break and a cuppa. I'm sure it was much further than the lady said!) There's a lovely play park for families with young children.

The heavens decided to open on our arrival at the hotel and the reception staff went out of their way to help us in with our luggage. One couple in our party had been booked into the cottage, but when we asked if we could all have rooms in the same part of the hotel, this was arranged immediately without any fuss. Our rooms were premium doubles; rooms were of good size, excellent ensuite bathroom facilities, comfortable kingsize bed, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, robes and slippers provided,linen and towels of a good quality and spotlessly clean.(We booked using tesco deals vouchers and only expected a standard room)

Food at the hotel was of a good quality and our waitress was most helpful. As our reservation was for dinner, bed and breakfast, a provisional dinner booking had been made for us each evening in the main hall to avoid disappointment and the time was flexible to suit us. There was a good choice of menu and service was excellent on the first night, considering there had been a wedding reception in the dining room that afternoon. Service however was a little slower on the second night; there didn't appear to be so many staff on duty and dessert wasn't up to the standard of the previous evening. Drinks were expensive, as in most hotels! Breakfast was also very good; a considerable choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt,pastries, juice etc., followed by a cooked selection from the menu. More tea, coffee, hot toast etc was quickly brought on request.

The spa facilities are good with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and generous swimming pool.
The tubs of spring flowers infront of the hotel and in the courtyard showed attention to detail and made for a very pleasant environment. We remain puzzled by the complaints made in previous reviews and would like to compliment the hotel on their high standard of service.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We returned from a three night stay yesterday, and I'm very surprised by the poor and even scathing reviews here. Although I doubt that the high standards of the hotel's heyday have been maintained, it is still a very nice hotel with a pleasant atmosphere.

On the first evening we had dinner in the Great Hall, and service was stylish, but the food fell everso slightly short of the hype. Perfectly acceptable, though. Breakfast was fine. The self-service selection of fruits and viennoiserie varied from day to day, but the cooked food came from the kitchens hot and tasty. It was not at all greasy and the eggs were freshly prepared to order. Service was good and efficient, with one waiter particularly smiling and happy in his work. As for waiting to be seated, rather than waiting, we went in and found ourselves a table, after which we gave our room number, no problem.

Regarding one contributor's complaint about heating, we just switched ours on in our room (split unit) and it was fine after 15 minutes. I also switched on the heated towel rail and the bathroom mirror was heated so that it didn't mist up and kept the room warm too. We just switched it off when going out for the day.
My only two complaints about the room are that the bed was a little past its prime and not supportive enough. It had a fabulous soft comforter on the top but both my husband and I had backache as a result of the sagging matress and found it quite hard to sleep. There wasn't enough light for putting makeup on in the evenings and although the bathroom had a good illuminated shaving mirror there wasn't room to put down cosmetics and the mirror was over the toilet. Apart from that the room was immaculate, well appointed, quiet and well decorated. We were in the modern wing.

All the staff we encountered were smiling and polite; upon checkin I was given good instructions how to park the car, and apart from the wi-fi not being easily accessible and rather expensive past the free first half hour, we really were pleased with our choice of hotel. The location could not be better, it is quiet and well run and we would be pleased to return. We felt comfortable there. On reading bad reviews of a good hotel I often wonder how many problems are self-inflicted?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed at The Lygon Arms twice about three years ago. The first time was a disaster and after complaining, I was offered a free night at the hotel. The second time was good. I assumed that by now the hotel would have got its act together and customer service would have improved.

However, my company has just tried to make a group booking at The Lygon Arms for a weekend in June. It took us 24 hours and a number of answerphone messages in order to speak to the group reservations person, Marianne. When we finally got through to her she was off-hand and dismissive. Her tone of voice was not particularly polite and she told us the hotel was full, even though it became apparent after further questioning that a sufficient number of rooms was available.

We were amazed that a member of staff responsible for customer service was unable actually to provide appropriate customer service. Instead we are going to book another hotel in the Cotswolds. Why employ staff who are not polite with customers?

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretary10, Secretary at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding problems you encountered whilst trying to make a group booking.

We are very sorry that you found our member of staff to be off-hand and dismissive as all our staff are trained to provide a polite and efficient service to our guests at all times and we would like to apologise unreservedly if this was not the case.

I assure you that the concerns you have raised will be treated very seriously and we are grateful to you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you on a future occasion when you may be assured of our utmost attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Having seen the previous reviews, I must just say that we have just had the most brilliant stay at the hotel. We booked a spa package which included a half hour facial, half hour massage, dinner, bed and breakfast (full not just continental) for £149 per person (sharing a twin room). The food and service in the restaurant was amazing and the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely and the only very minor criticisms were that I struggled to work out how to use the modern shower and bath taps and that the massage could have been better. Broadway is gorgeous (ideal for getting together with friends with lovely gift shops and tearooms) and the hotel is right in the centre of the high st so it is ideal. True the car park isn't sign posted and hard to find but other than that, this is an absolute gem of a hotel. I'm not sure why my experience was so different to others (and believe me, there is nothing I like more than filling out the customer comments form to tell them how they could do better!). We booked thro central reservations and had a room in the newer section so perhaps that makes a difference.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiredparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We booked this gross hotel on their cheap deal, even for that it was too much. I wish I took the pictures of the room they offered us first. The bed didn't have a bed-head, pillows were leaning towards the wall which has some gross mark on it, god knows what. The carpet was gross too, so dirty. When the bathroom light went on it was too noise and there was rubbish in the bin. They weren't willing to change our room, but they did in the end. We don't like complaining that much it was only 1 night stay and that day was the day that my husband proposed me so I didn't want to ruin it with complaining.
The second room was freezing cold, dirty, rubbish in the bin, mould on the bathroom.

The breakfast was 15 pounds per person and we thought we were charged before that's why we wanted to have it and it was the worst breakfast I ever had, they didn't have much to eat.
GROSS- POOR MANAGEMENT- POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ABSOLUTELY DIRTY!
They probably haven't touched anything for the last 100 years, neither cleaned.
Only the garden was nice
T

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
secretary10, Secretary at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay in November and we would like to sincerely apologise for the problems you encountered.

I can assure you that the points you have outlined have now been rectified as these are not the standards of service we strive to achieve.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing