We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotswold Lavender

Cotswold Lavender
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a third generation family farm set in the Heart of the beautiful Cotswold Hills overlooking Broadway and the Vale of Evesham. Lavender was first planted here in 2000 in fields previously used to grow wheat and barley. We produce the highest quality English Lavender Essential Oil. We now have over 35 different varieties, some 70 miles of rows, and 250,000 plants in total. Our crops are steam distilled on the farm and made into our unique lavender products, all proudly made in Great Britain.• You can walk the fields when the Lavender is in full bloom• See the harvest and Distillation when it takes place (usually end of July)• We have a Tea Room and Gift shop• The Tea Room serves light lunches, cream teas and cakes• Our Gift Shop sells our whole range of products plus much, much more. Admission to fields £2.50 adult £1.50 children (5-16 years)Under 5’s FREE Well behaved dogs on leads welcomed OPEN June to August - see our website for further details. We like to source as many locally made foods and produce for our tearoom. We are a Lavender Farm and although we do have a few plants for sale at the shop when we are open, we are NOT a Lavender Nursery and do not grow plants to sell
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shame about the cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

How beautiful the lavender fields are, the smell is just amazing, bought some beautiful gifts, i now own a lovely umbrella. The downside was the cafe, very over priced, and the staff obviously didnt want to be there. Would recommend the fields to everybody. It was £2.50 entrance fee, my old mum in a wheelchair was free, and i think children were free.It was difficult pushing the wheelchair around, you need to be strong, but it is fields so to be expected.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank valdavies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotsLavender, Manager at Cotswold Lavender, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you felt the café was overpriced? We look at many of the tearooms and cafes in the area before deciding on our prices and actually have ours lower than most in the Cotswold area..eg a cup of tea here is £1.50, Coffee £1.75 - not many other tearooms will be selling their drinks at this price ...our food is freshly baked by local bakers, and all freshly prepared - homemade cakes are from £1.95 and a scone £1.60 - again we think these prices are very reasonable especially for the quality.
We have improved the wheelchair access into the fields this year after a few comments from last year - but we can't improve the paths as this is a working farm and need to be practical for the machinery etc in the fields - any of our staff would have been glad to have helped you.
We have disabled toilets and access into both shop and tearooms.
Again we are sorry that you weren't happy with the tearoom - but do hope you still enjoyed the lavender fields, which look lovely at the moment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    22
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Photographers dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I had been wanting to see a lavender field for a while and this most definitely did not disappoint, when we first arrived I couldn't see the fields, then I looked to the left and saw a beautiful field covered in violet. You can walk through the fields and there is also a flower meadow. If you are keen on photography this is a must, it really is England at its best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMA_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotsLavender, Manager at Cotswold Lavender, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed your visit here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visited once again, with added benefit of the delightful wild flower meadow that we were able to walk through on the mown pathways. The lavender fields have still to get to their best but still a wonderful sight. The cafe is very good, toilet facilities too. The shop is a must if you like lavender, as I do. £2.50 well spent to walk among the fantastic display.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandma48273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever wild flower meadow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I took my wife there as she wanted to buy lavender plants and see the lavender fields. There was a good variety of plants at reasonable prices and the fields were lovely to see however, for us, the most impressive sight was the wonderful wild flower meadow between the lavender fields (this can't been seen from the road but the £2.50 admission is well worth the charge). Everything seemed to be in flower although I don't know if the display lasts throughout the summer.
We had a very nice cream tea and the staff were charming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Devonian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The smell of lavender awaits ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

You know that you've come to the right place, simply by smelling the air. A wonderful aroma of lavender (first from the fields, then from the plants and products on sale) meets you as you step out of your car. A variety of plants are available for you to buy - with the local bees doing a fantastic promotional job of showing just how popular they are with them! In the shop itself is a large range of products with the essential ingredient of lavender ... from soap to shortbread, honey to hand cream. The prices are quite high, but the quality is obvious, and we didn't have a problem buying quite a few things before we went home!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbysgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotswold Lavender also viewed

 
Snowshill, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cotswold Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing