We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little pub with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown and Trumpet Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little pub with great food”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I popped in on Monday 25th November for his birthday lunch and we had a great meal - good, no nonsense, honest and tasty grub!! PLEASE don't change a thing !!, these types of pubs are rare. the staff are polite and friendly and the food is super and not over priced - so enjoyed it that we've booked for Friday night dinner too, see you then

Room Tip: steak and Guinness pie is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
It was really nice to welcome you both on a special occasion and we are so pleased they you not only enjoyed your lunch but also came back for an evening meal. I so want to keep a traditional English welcoming Inn. We won't change as so many other people kindly comment about our policy. and keep on returning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    139
    25
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
298
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We turned up here one Sunday evening looking for food and were treated to lovely pub grub and entertainment in the form of the pub quiz. Couldn't join in as it's a league but that didn't matter. Such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and the food was good and hearty. Just the thing for a cold November night. Can recommend the sticky toffee pudding but ask for an additional scoop of vanilla ice cream to make it truly heavenly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you Patricia it was a cold night last Sunday but we had a good crowd in and with the fire a splendid time was had by all !! Thank you for your comments about our homemade deserts, I agree not the same without ice-cream. As you only live in Oxford hope to welcome you both again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Crown & Trumpet for a short 2 night break in October and found this lovely old English pub an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Cotswolds, Westonbirt is a must at this time of the year. At the pub the staff are great and you could not wish for a more friendly host in Andrew the owner. We planned our stay to coincide with one of the live Jazz nights and the band were absolutely amazing. This made for a great mix with the home cooked food and the real ales could not be faulted. We can well recommend this place for a nice relaxing away from it all stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5kyflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you from us all for your wonderful comments I will certainly pass them onto the rest of the team. Even in the Autumn the Cotswolds is a delightful area to visit with the autumnal colours and the warm open fire in the bar !!! looking forward to welcoming you both again for another Jazz and Blues Evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

A great base for touring the Cotswolds, The Crown & Trumpet was friendly and great fun. Located around the corner from from Broadway itself we enjoyed being able to walk to all the local attractions. Frequented by many locals we were able to enjoy an authentic experience. Ask for the room with a bath, which was spacious and well appointed. Good pub meals and great Ales were available, Andrew our host made us feel very welcome with his excellent recommendations. We found parking a bit tricky as there are limited spaces available however the great music and lovely staff made up for this. If you are looking for a down to earth place in Broadway which is quite upmarket, this is the place.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
It was nice to welcome our guests from Australia to a Cotswold Inn and thank you for your kind comments about our homemade dishes and selection of Ales. We do have limited parking but the main car park is literally around the corner and being in the centre of the village does have its advantages especially on a Jazz and Blues night !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break and had booked it at short notice based upon other TripAdvisor reviews. The owner, Andrew, called us a few days before we were due to arrive to check that everything was OK, which was a nice touch. The pub felt extremely welcoming, and had a good selection of real ales that were well kept - Andrew is justifiably proud of his entry in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014. We ate here on our first night and the food was of a good standard and served promptly and piping hot. It was also not bad value for money. Our room (number 4) was comfortable and spotlessly clean, if a little compact, but then this is an old coaching inn so it was pretty much what we expected. There were a couple of small things that stopped us from giving the place 5 out of 5: The breakfast was, we felt, on the pricey side at £10 per person, so we didn't bother and ate perfectly good breakfasts elsewhere for far less. There is very little car parking on site and you take your chance along with pub customers - there is no priority for residents. There is a public car park a short distance away, but it is very expensive and only free between 6pm and 8am. We were not impressed that having spent nearly £50 on food and drink on our first night, we were told that if we wanted to pay by credit card then there would be a 3% surcharge on the bill - this felt a little churlish on the part of the management. None of these minor points will put us off returning, however, neither should they put you off trying this place. In summary, a lovely pub in a lovely area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValtteriKnelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you Matt glad that you both had a relaxing break with us and thank you for your comments. We make as many food items ourselves and pay extra from our suppliers for better quality cuts of meat and by doing that we are careful on our costing so we try to give good value that is also why on a credit card we do charge the 3% they charge us as most pay cash or debit cards it means we can keep our prices down. The breakfasts are all freshly cooked again using good quality ingredients also toast, marmalade, jams, cereals and tea and coffee and VAT we feel is also good value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have made this a regular venue to catch up in relaxed, classic English country pub surroundings. Broadway is a must go to location in the Cotswolds. The welcome, food and beer at the C&T are all fabulous. The pub is well positioned on the edge of town - and has the advantage of some free parking spaces right next to the entrance. Service is always with a smile and the beer has consistently met our high expectations.Well done Crown & Trumpet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you Martin, it is also our pleasure to welcome you and your friends to The Crown and Trumpet on a regular basis for both food and drinks !! Our Autumn beers are coming in. We have just heard we have also made the 2014 CAMRA Good Beer Guide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I had an amazing four nights at the Crown & Trumpet Inn last week! Andrew is a superb host, and the entire Team could not do enough to make sure we were well looked after, and comfortable. Broadway is a great location to explore the Cotswolds and surrounding area. The Inn has wonderfully comfortable and homely rooms which are a pleasure to come back to after a full day, a real home from home, with very nice touches!!! We ate at the Inn three out of the four nights, (including the Jazz night, really brilliant music), and the food was excellent, great value for money and delicious! I particularly enjoyed the bar and there is a great range of ales and lagers on offer for even the most demanding drinker. Steve was great company behind the bar, and was extremely helpful for sharing local history, and making recommendations on places to visit, thanks to him for contributing to this really memorable break! We chose this great Inn after reading various reviews on Tripadvisor. To the people who have written bad reviews about this property, (and there are only a few of them), Andrew and his Team are brilliant and I know personally would go the extra mile for anyone who felt the need to raise any issues with them, rather than writing bad comments after they have left! As far as I'm concerned this is a real gem, and please don't change anything Guys, you've hit the nail on the head for me, see you again soon, and thanks a million for a truly wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, very nice view out and excellent double bed with brass balustrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Wow!! where to start to thank you so much. It means so much to us all when our guests have such a good time. The chefs go to such a lot of effort to make all our dishes and it makes it so worth while especially as you dined with us on a number of occasions. We will try our best to look after our guests, we feel that the bad reviews are from people that have an agenda but they will not demoralise us and surprised TA even allows them. Looking forward to welcoming you both again!!! Very best wishes from us all (Steven says thank you as well)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
834 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
406 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Trumpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Trumpet Inn

Property: Crown and Trumpet Inn
Address: 14 Church Street | Worcestershire, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just behind the village green of Broadway this traditional 17th-century inn, built in Cotswold stone, with four rooms for midweek and weekend breaks. Free wireless internet connection. Serving Lunch and Dinners all through the week using locally produced ingredients to make seasonally cooked homemade dishes actually cooked on the premises. Open Fire. Jazz and Blues nights. Just off the Cotswold Way, centrally located for touring Shakespeare's Country and the Cotswold and Malvern Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crown and Trumpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Trumpet Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing