We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Getaway weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Hay Country House
Ranked #17 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Getaway weekend”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at the amazing Mill Hay Country House for 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer! The log fire in the living room, the warm welcome from our Host, to the beautiful decor in the Rose Garden room: everything was perfect for a relaxing getaway from the city.

Breakfast was taken over looking the rose garden itself in all its splendor with a magnificent view of the surrounding fields and terrain. The range of cooked breakfasts on offer was of the highest quality with the eggs benedicts the best had in a long time. The house is a 10 minute walk from Broadway, a lovely village with a multitude of shops.

Mill Hay Country House is highly recommended and we would place it high on our list of places to stay in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ems0347260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

we stayed at this outstanding property for two nights the rooms and views are amazing I would highly recommend this country house for visiting Broadway. the house and it grounds are well worth a visit . and the chefs breakfast is well worth a mention

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

From the time of booking through to departure, Mill Hay Country House is a lovely experience. This was our second visit (first in 2010), and I was so delighted when they still had a room available for us. It is a beautiful country home on lovely grounds in an easy-to-access location. The rooms are lovely, the staff will help you with local attractions and directions and the made-to-order breakfast is wonderful (thank you, Annette and Jane!). We would absolutely return here again and again. This is a wonderful way to treat yourself or someone else whilst you visit the beautiful Cotswolds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krcsqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My partner treated me to a weekend away here for my birthday, it was also our last before the arrival of our first baby in 7 weeks time. He could not have chosen a more beautiful place to stay. The house and grounds are absolutely stunning. We were upgraded to the Garden Suite which was luxurious and so comfortable. Our hosts, Annette and Nigel couldn't have been more welcoming. Drinks were offered on arrival and each evening and they even offered to light the fire for us as it was such a miserable night. Breakfast was a gastronomic feast and the choice was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend Mill Hay House and hope that we can persaude the grandparents to babysit so we can go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My parents and I stayed here for a night, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. The house itself is magnificent; we felt like we were stepping 200 years back in time. The lawns and gardens were beautiful. The rooms were spotless and very cozy - my parents stayed in the Garden Suite (which they were upgraded to for free), and I was in the Balcony Room. Annette, who runs it along with her husband, was incredibly welcoming. And the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My partner and I spent the weekend in Mill Hay House and plan to repeat the experience soon.
We were warmly welcomed and our stay was made very comfortable from beginning to end. We stayed in the Garden Room: a stately bedroom with a four-poster bed, but far from being too pretentious. The bathroom had a shower embedded in the wall and a big bath inviting for a bubbly and relaxing time.
However, what we appreciated the most was the service offered during our stay. The owners made our stay very comfortable and "homely". They cared about every single detail and we felt spoilt! Our breakfast was a feast, we were served with a delicious vegetarian breakfast and once again, we enjoyed a personal service that we wouldn't have had in a 5-star hotel.
We can't wait to visit again Mill Hay House.
Angela S.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A beautiful country house, elegantly furnished, which is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for somewhere above average.

Having said that, our stay could have been improved in a few minor ways:

We arrived at 4pm and were greeted by a young (Polish?) girl, who hastily took us to our Garden Suite room, led us into the en-suite bathroom (why do people feel the need to do this? I feel sure we would have managed to find it by ourselves), pointed out where breakfast would be served than disappeared.

The room was elegantly furnished, with full tea and coffee facilities and mini fridge. If I was being picky, I could express surprise that they had used a standard chain-hotel type fixture for these facilities (fixed plastic tray into which the kettle sits to boil), although it was neatly hidden in a cupboard.

There is a television, yet for some reason it only received BBC1 which was a little frustrating.

The bathroom was very well appointed, with large bath and excellent shower. Fluffy bathrobes provided. And no, there is no door between this and the bedroom, but it is up three steps and the toilet is tucked right around the corner in an alcove so I really don't see this as an issue.

We headed into Broadway for early dinner at 7pm (in the car - it's a little too far to walk back in the dark as no pavements or street lamps), only to find that every restaurant was fully book so settled for a Tandoori which was our only option. Clearly that is not the B&B proprietor's fault, but for a £160+ a night establishment, one would expect extra touches such as providing details of dinner options in the village and advising booking a table.

However, the bed was extremely comfortable, with a luxuriously puffy duvet, and we both enjoyed a very good night's sleep.

It was just a pity that the girl who had let us in the day before had failed to tell the owner that we had actually arrived, so we had the disturbance of someone rattling our bedroom door at about 8am trying to get in whilst we were still in bed. We called out that we were there, at which point the gentleman apologised and walked off. This was then repeated about 10 minutes later as we were just out of the shower, this time by a woman who also apologised and beat a hasty retreat. It was a good job that we can locked the door from the inside otherwise they would have both walked straight in.

The owner was chatty and sincerely apologetic when we went down for breakfast, with a slightly upper class 'oh what a mix-up' tone, but again, when you are paying this amount of money for a room you do not expect such disturbances just because they can't organise the paid help properly.

Breakfast was served in the elegant dining room, with cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc laid out and a choice of cooked options. We were the only guests that night so plenty on offer.

Would recommend if you are happy to pay for superior, comfortable surroundings with a touch of upper class eccentricity, although we will probably be trying somewhere else on our next visit to this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
679 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,212 reviews
9.7 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Hay Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Hay Country House

Property: Mill Hay Country House
Address: Mill Hay Cottage Snowshill Road, Broadway WR12 7JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mill Hay Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Hay is a magnificent Country House Bed and Breakfast nestled between the beautiful Cotswold town of Broadway and Snowshill village. The house and gardens combine pure English elegance with character and Cotswold charm. Mill Hay House offers you the ultimate hideaway in its luxurious accommodation in Cotswolds and still experience the best of the area. Ultimate privacy, elegant Queen Anne country living and roaring log fires in oak panelled reception rooms. Relax on teak steamers by the lake or stroll through the ancient rose gardens. The outside world seems a million miles away. Mill Hay will accepts no more than six guests on a bed and breakfast basis at anytime to ensure your well earned break is as private and exclusive as you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mill Hay Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing