We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful little museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordon Russell Design Museum

Gordon Russell Design Museum
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed seeing the Gordon Russell furniture and learning more about him and his designs. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shell046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Must for Arts & Crafts lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Broadway over Easter, and I looked up places of interest to visit while we were there. So glad that I came across Gordon Russell Museum. It was also recently featured on "Flog it!". A sleek, modern building housing some really interesting pieces, plus very informative guides, who obviously loved working there.
I was particularly interested in the Coventry Cathedral Chair, 2,000 of which were commissioned for the new Cathedral in the 1960s. The Utility furniture brought back memories, and the clean lines of the designs are very relevant to today's and many other styles.
A really nice place to visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northaw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gordon Russell Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I must admit I knew nothing of the man Gordon Russell a great British designer until I visited the museum and was given a guided tour by Keith Grant who was a past Director of Design Center started by Gordon Russell. A very well kept and well laid out Museum about furniture design and manufacture post World War I. I am so glad to have visited it and learnt so much about a great designer of whom I had no knowledge prior to the visit.
More of us should know about this great man. I also met Ray Leigh who was responsible for designs in later years of Russell's company.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamshedNorthaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Joiners Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My Husband is a Bespoke joiner by proffession so a visit to this museum was a little bit of heaven for him.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 998jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Tucked away behind main street in Broadway this small museum to the work of the Gordon Russell furniture makers is a joy to those who love fine furniture design. The bonus was that we were conducted round by a former sales manager. Well worth a visit and a change from the rather "disney-fied" rest of Broadway.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MandomanLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon Russell Design Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Russell Design Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing