We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Russell's
Nearby Hotels
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
US$309
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$630
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
US$154
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Evesham Hotel(Evesham)
US$140
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
236
49
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
49
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant with roomsfeature kingspa bathlarge showermashfree standing bathexposed beamswine listsitting areaevening mealbooked a tableduckbeautiful broadwayfirst classfish and chipsattention to detailcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Can not recommend Russell's enough. The room we stayed in (no 4) was a stunning loft apartment. Really nice space, and the perfect setting to unwind after our wedding. We didn't get a chance to sample the food in the restaurant in the evening, but the breakfast was superb. The free communal minibar is also a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ics7ljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife and I had 3 nights stay at Russell's along with my in laws and enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful restaurant and nice rooms. Excellent service and friendly helpful staff. The location is great . The breakfasts were extremely well presented and well cooked with a good choice and good service.
We would definately recommend this hotel and restaurant and look forward to staying again in the future.
What a beautiful village.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Having eaten at Russell’s a few time previously we had no reservations in choosing this chic venue for our wedding reception. Whenever we eat here it is busy, so that surely speaks a thousand words?

Barry, the owner, ensured that our special day met all our expectations and so it was memorable for all the right reasons. Nothing was ever too much trouble and his excellent organisational skills were very much appreciated. The food was up to the usual high standards seen before as indeed was the wine. We spent the night in the fabulous and exceptionally spacious room 7 which is truly stunning. This comfortable haven must have the largest bathroom in the Cotswolds! It’s the little touches that one remembers; silly things like having extra large toiletries instead of the usual miniatures, makes such a difference! Needless to say we didn’t want to leave Broadways best sanctuary the following day.

We would tend to agree with some of the previous reviews in that when Barry is not around service can slip, only a little, not enough to be a problem, but enough to be noticed. It’s not that the staff are no less keen or attentive, they are great, it’s just that some appear not as organised or as 'sharp' when Barry is not around.

We like Russell’s a lot and are never disappointed and thankfully especially so on our wedding day. Room 7 is a 'must stay in' for anyone visiting this splendid location. Thank you Barry for all your help, you are a star!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A return visit for a couple of friends, who I joined, staying overnight with dinner. The stay both pleased and disappointed. Disappointments in the accommodation came from a lack of attention to detail. Rooms were not heated for a very cold day’s early evening arrival but the modern system brought the temperature up within about half an hour. Room 2 was a comfortable double on the front with a spacious bathroom. However, only one out of three bathroom ceiling lights working made it rather dim after dark, even with a mirror light. There were three lights not working in the bedroom, one by the window seat, one ceiling and one picture light and the cumulative effect detracted from the initial impression – but there were excellent bedhead lights. Excellent beds and linen made for a superb night’s sleep. Rubbish in the bedroom wastebin and used and stained spoons on the teatray took the edge off the room somewhat. Dinner was good but not excellent because of the laid back service – very friendly but not very attentive as if there was no management presence.
Service was always responsive to requests but at this level the expectation was for it to be more proactive. This was the same for breakfast as well. The cooking at dinner showed some imagination and flair and the Beef and Horseradish sausages with mash and beetroot were simple but very well executed. Equally favourable comments on the Pollock but a tapas starter for two while good, lacked imagination. The place is stylish and it is as they say themselves, chic. But at this stay it did seem to be resting on its laurels a bit. Shame.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picknchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwayview, Owner at Russell's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

I was extremely sorry to learn that this guest's experience of Russell's did not live up to their expectations and have contacted the reviewer direct to address their issues.

Barry Hancox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Booked a night in the hotel for my girlfriends birthday and it was brilliant! The room was fantastic, very clean and beautifully decorated (stayed in the Feature Kingsize). The staff were so friendly and helpful. We booked a table for dinner and the food was outstanding and service very good! Breakfast was superb too!

An all round brilliant stay and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews