We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Russell's
Ranked #5 of 31 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was going to book a more expensive room, but my brother told me the basic room (less than 100 pounds) was very good anyway. So, booked a "basic" room - excellent choice. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and shown where to park, they took our bags to the room - great to have the open bar in the hallway, good quality drinks including the basics of Coke in glass and mineral waters etc.
Breakfast is good (included), the staff were very helpful, and the dinners were very good. We ended up preferring to eat in the more easy going "The Workshop" - you can get the homemade icecream over there as well if you ask! Excellent icecream.
Odd thing was when we asked for an ironing board, they couldn't find one, was entertaining watching them looking all over the place though. We hope to be back next year! (from Canada) Be sure to visit Bourton on the Water when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmacdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    46
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
210
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Location is lovely in the middle of Broadway but was a little confusing with regards the parking, but we found it. Room was warm considering it was December but only found the tea/coffee in the room when we were packing to leave - if you are in room 4, it's in the wardrobe! The coffee machine in the lounge area stopped working but a kind member of staff bought up a cup of fresh coffee and also fixed the machine.
The restaurant was very popular, it was December, so one night there was an office party which meant we were put at a small table near the door and bar area which was a bit crowded but the second night was much better as we had a better table. Serves was good at both the evening meal and breakfast and we got to have really good chats with the staff, at all levels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVWHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband booked this amazing place on a last min flutter we decided to have!!!
And it was well worth it.
Upon arrival we where shown to our outstanding room (room 4) it was huge. The bathroom was clean, all the exposed beams where clean and the bed....... Oh to die for. We dined there in the evening and i was blown away. The food is fab A++++++++ all the way. Breakfast was amazing aswell. All well cooked and well presented.
If you can find a fault hear then your mad as this place is fault less!
All in all an amazing stay that everyone must experience. We will defo be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrown1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We've been to this hotel and restaurant many times and highly recommend it. There are amazing designer rooms and the food is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Purely and simply a very charming room very successfully mixing contemporary fittings, luxury furnishings and the original architecture. I thought the Honesty Bar on the landing was a superb feature and the Breakfast in the morning was superb.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baytree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I've had the pleasure of staying at Russells in Broadway on many occasions over the last 5 or 6 years. Although my most recent stay at this Restaurant with Rooms was pleasant and comfortable the experience has in my opinion changed from Excellent in the first 2 or 3 years to just good.

The prices for stays at Russells have actually dropped and perhaps this is reflected in the overall experience, whilst the public areas of Russells have remained as well maintained as ever unfortunately this can not be said of the room I have stayed in on many an occasion. Personally I don't care if there's an i-pod docking station in my room I would rather have more choice at breakfast.

The breakfasts have changed dramatically over the years in the first couple of years the choice particularly of the continental element of the breakfast was amazing, fresh fruit platters, porridge, yogurts etc, where as now they only have the choice of a couple of cereals, fresh fruit but in whole form and and danish pastries, some of the cereals are served in just ordinary very small bowls so if they are fully booked obviously you may not get your preferred choice. Also when you are giving a more limited choice for breakfast you shouldn't really run out of the items you are offering.

On my letter of booking it stated there was a complimentary bar of beers, wines and soft drinks, however on the last day this was changed to an honesty bar with slips for payment (it should be one or the other not changed on whim) if it was changed because customers were taking too much of an advantage of it then perhaps they should offer a complementary drink on arrival or even when you book a meal in the restaurant.

We also dinned in the restaurant on 2 occasions whilst we stayed there however the second experience was very disappointing, overall Russells is a good place to stay the staff are always pleasant and welcoming and the accommodation comfortable my only concern is that Russells has taken it's eye off of the ball when it comes to the Bed and Breakfast side of the business to concentrate more on the Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were so pleasantly surprised by this boutique hotel. The position in the heart of Broadway was fantastic, lovely to stroll up and down the main street, and wander round to the Crown and Anchor pub for an authentic pub experience. We stayed in the King Suite,and it was fabulous, a room you really walk into and say "wow". Absolutely enormous,beautifully decorated, and complimented by an equally enormous bathroom that was extremely clean and inviting, complete with a walk through shower. There were candles and matches thoughtfully provided in the bathroom, a very nice touch. Robes were also provided and the quality of the soaps etc excellent. We did have a look at some of the other rooms and whilst no where near as big as the King Suite,they also seemed to be decorated beautifully. Breakfast was excellent, buffet for cereals and a choice of anything hot you asked for cooked and served to you. We chose to also dine at The Workshop, a more casual off shoot of the main resturaunt and it was excellent also. We were very sad to move on from this hotel, it far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: The King Suite, well worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Property: Russell's
Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing