We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Stayed for one night in one of the cheaper rooms (Room 1). The room was a good size overlooking the High Street - no road noise, double glazed. Had ordered champagne for arrival and that was delivered spot on. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food (especially the Scotch beef) was excellent. The restaurant's style - all slate tiles - was a bit too noisy and not very initimate for our personal taste. Only drawbacks - the fan in the bathroom was noisy and the duvet was too warm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2008

We have stayed at Russells several times since it opened, and have always been impressed with the very professional and attentive level of service, wonderful cooking and fabulous bedrooms. We decided to stay at Russells on Boxing day to 'get over' the busy Christmas scene. We were slightly concerned that maybe the hotel would provide a compromised level of service post Christmas Day, but we need not have been concerned, it was a perfect a stay as always.
We arrived in Broadway at midday, the weather was perfect, with a bright blue winter sky, and were greeted by the spectacle of the main street lined with hundreds of people as the colorful Hunt galloped through town. We then sat down to a fantasticl Boxing day lunch, with great service and enjoyed several glasses of reasonable priced fine wines.
We stayed in room 3 which overlooks the main street. It is a luxuriously appointed standard room with a wonderfully comfortable bed with luxury bedding and lighting.We appreciated the thoughtful extras included in our room, such as an assortment of nuts with nutcrackers, a bottle of organic apple juice and seasonal flower basket. Along with a well provided hospitality tray and fresh milk available in the fridge outside our bedroom, where an honesty bar is provided.
We spent a very comfortable night sleeping with the window wide open, watching the Christmas lights decorating the trees outside our room, marveling how quiet and peaceful every where was.
We love this hotel, and the fact that they always get it just right, and of course, we will be returning in 2008.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

There are plenty of hotels to choose from in Broadway, but some are quite naff and others very expensive, so I was pleased to find Russell’s at it looked quite nice. While the room was of a good standard, the customer service in this place is indifferent at best, which is a shame.
As it is a ‘restaurant with rooms’ there is a strange feeling of walking into a restaurant with some bags and wondering what to do with yourself. Equally bewildered young staff aren’t exactly prepared to make the experience easy.
A poor welcome was compounded by the fact that I was given a room that wasn’t as nice/big as the one I had paid for (which wasn’t outlined when I arrived); I had to ask twice for this to be clarified and the higher price still appeared on the final bill – a bit cheeky.
A five star rated place should be exceptional and staff should have very high standards. While the room was perhaps the nicest I had seen in a while, I felt like I was paying to stay in a big city hotel, without the welcome and attention to detail that you would expect. Improvements needed.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nich29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

This is a great find. Marvelous modern British restaurant with good, friendly service and enough variety for a 3 night stay. Very reasonably priced. The rooms are outstanding. We stayed in the suite, #7, which is the largest room we have had anywhere and beautifully, and thoughtfully appointed. Huge bathroom with 2 sinks, enormous shower and big jacuzzi. Lovely toiletries, good lighting and everything worked! Bedroom/sitting room had reading nooks with comfy chairs and good lighting as well as a couch for TV view. A+ in our book.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We had a wonderful stay in the suite, which is an incredible room...enormous bath, amazing shower, great bed and sitting area. The hotel were very helpful in arranging surprises for my husband's birthday.

The whole place has a wonderfully relaxed feel

Good food

Great value wine list

Excellent value I thought for such luxury...the rooms really have been most thoughtfully designed and provided

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrspp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We stayed 2 nights in Room 7 (the suite) and it was amazing! The room was just how it looked in the pictures if not better. I just couldnt get over the size of the bathroom!!!

On our first night we had a meal at the resturant and i have to say we weren't that impressed - i think they were trying to be too different with the food which didnt work - the duck with cranberry and chocolate starter was stodgey and didnt taster very nice. It was expensive and i think for the moneywe would have prefered good quality/cooked food. Breakfast was another example of the resturant trying to be 'different' - sometimes you just want normal toast for your eggs not toasted french bread which was hard as nails!!

On the 2nd night we decided to go to the local Budgens and buy lots of food and had a picnic in the room. The hotel were quite happy with this as they didnt provide room service. So we ended up having a bath, watching the inbuilt TV while eating chocolate and drinking red wine! If your paying that much for a room why not spend all your time there!

The hotel itself was in a really good location - Broadway was very pretty. We also visited Warick Castle which was a great day out.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel except for the food just wasnt to our taste.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiWhite83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We spent four nights at Russell's and enjoyed it very much overall. However,we spent the first night in Room 6 which is next to a private dining room and , because it is below street level, a little dingy..The noise from the private dining room kept us awake and we requested to be moved. The staff were very helpful and we were moved first thing next morning to Room 1 which is upstairs. This room was light and bright and we loved it from then on. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and cooked to order. We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be friendly and happy to help. Would definitely recommend staying here but not in Room 6.!The Cotswold area is very pretty and Broadway is a good place from which to explore it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 29 in Broadway
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £162 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing