We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay,great staff,great food !”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay,great staff,great food !”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July and had a brilliant time. We stayed in room 2 upstairs overlooking the high street. The room had a lot of space, a big bathroom and was decorated to a very high standard.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and the food served in the evenings plus breakfast in the mornings were also excellent.
Can't fault the place one bit, would recommend it to anyone and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 - no complaints !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    46
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
211
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of our trek along the Cotswold way. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful coffee machine and the bathroom was amazing. Dinner was simply excellent and the whole experience enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff. To top all this off the owner/manager Andrew took our bags on to our next stop along the Cotswold Way leaving us with an easier day of walking. Russell's epitomises great hospitality. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We recently stayed in this lovely place on a spur of the moment break and it must be said that it is up there with some of the best. We initially booked two nights and we loved it so much that we decided to stay a third. Although we had to move room, this was no great hardship as the staff kindly moved our luggage so it would not break up our day out. The best of it was that we got an even larger room with huge en suite with spa bath. The full English breakfast (included in price) was superb and the same can be said of the evening meal both accompanied by excellent service. The staff were most welcoming and friendly but still undertook their roles in a professional manner. They went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable and particular mention must be made about Karina in this respect - she is priceless!

The only point we would raise is that there is no fridge provided in the bedrooms which would have been welcome. Although there is an honesty bar and free coffee facilities on the landing, this is also where you have to get your milk for your room which is not ideal. Just a bit of a niggle!

We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Russells and we cannot wait to be there again. It is set in the most beautiful village of Broadway which in itself offers more than what one might expect with amazing shops and pubs as well as the lovely surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I booked a night here for my partner's birthday and was expecting a nice place, but was incredibly pleasantly surprised just how lovely Russell's is. We were warmly welcomed by the bar staff who were really relaxed, friendly and helpful. We gratefully accepted an upgrade to the wonderful feature kingsize room in the eaves, which was immaculate. The honesty bar have the most amazing coffee machine and the drinks/snacks are well priced...makes a nice change! We loved our meal of risotto and the rib-eye steak, which was excellent value for money. We reluctantly checked out after a great breakfast. We loved it here and it comes in a very, very close second to Cowley Manor, which is way more expensive. Big thanks to Andrew and the team.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at Russells for 2 nights and the room was beautiful, spacious and great facilities. The breakfast was lovely and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 overlooking the front and it was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We spent one night here on our way to Wales. As soon as we got there the service was fantastic with one of the waiters coming out to take our bags from the car. We had a lovely 3 course dinner; my duck starter was a taste sensation. Broadway itself is a lovely village and I am sad we didn't have more time to explore it. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FigNewton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My girlfriend and I ate at Russell's recently and were both very impressed by the quality of the food. I had scallops to start which had a fantastic sauce, although my girlfriend was slightly disappointed with her asparagus and quail eggs. Whilst the main ingredients were faultless, the accompanying salad was ordinary and the goat cheese powder tasteless. However things improved dramatically when the mains were served. The inventive take on paella I had with seared monkfish, paella deep-fried in a ball and a rich sauce was one of the best dishes I've had anywhere! My girlfriend's turbot was also sublime. Dessert was again amazing with the most incredible flavours and the cheeseboard top notch. The only slight negative was that two random bottles of wine had been added to our bill my mistake, although the polite and attentive waitresses apologised profusely and soon corrected the bill. Overall I would definitely recommend Russell's for a top drawer meal that at times can astound.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
818 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,328 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Property: Russell's
Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing