We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable break”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We recently stayed for four nights and can highly recommend this hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent and friendly. We were very pleased to be told that we were being given a complimentary upgrade to a different room and found ourselves in a really lovely and luxurious loft room with a beautiful bathroom. The bed was very comfortable (although the pillows were a bit flat). The room had nice views onto the high street. Wi-fi access was good. The honesty refreshment bar was very good and reasonably priced although, as in other hotels we have stayed in the nespresso machine did not work very well. The cooked breakfast was excellent although it would have been nice to have a bit more choice for the continental. We dined in the restaurant one evening and enjoyed the food, however, we probably would have eaten there again during our stay if the set menu had offered a bit more variety. The only negative point for this hotel is that the "car parking" is actually a Budgens supermarket car park which only has a few spaces and I imagine there may be times when you could have a fairly long wait for a space.

Room Tip: The loft room is very good and has views out onto the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel Thursday, 13th September and upon arrival were greeted by a charming
Swedish lady who informed us that we had very kindly been upgraded.

The spacious bedroom (3) was beautifully furnished with a lovely kingsize bed and modern ensuite.

The brasserie type restaurant is very busy and seems to be one of the 'in places' to eat with the local community. They have an excellent chef, the menu is varied and there is an excellent wine list.

The breakfast is excellent, my only criticism is that I would prefer my yoghurt to be from an individual pot than from a large exposed bowl!


Would we stay again .. Definitely.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are very trendy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is located right on the green, and our room,1, had views over the front looking up High Street and over The green.
We were given a warm welcome and although we were early we were shown straight to our room which was spacious well appointed with a lovely large bathroom.
After an afternoon in the village, checking out the antique shops, tea rooms and pubs we had dinner in the restaurant. Food and service was first class especially the truffle risotto as a starter and the sea bass main course. Breakfast was equally good, lots of choice and all well cooked. Everything was reasonably priced especially considering where we are and to be honest the room was a bargain (when considering what £100 gets you normally.)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Having booked the suite we didn't expect to have to walk downstairs across a courtyard and up some more stairs to get MILK for a hot drink.An honesty bar may sound a good idea until you are across a courtyard from it.Milk in the room would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the suite - it's over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have just spent the first night of our honeymoon here and it was fantastic! - We booked on the day and were given an upgrade ! The room was beautiful and immaculate, the bed comfortable and bathroom huge and pristine. We wandered round Broadway and were pleased that we had already booked Russells for dinner. We sat outside enjoying a G&T and choosing our meal. The staff were wonderful and made some very good recommendations for dinner. An excellent bottle of Pol Roger washed down the fillet steak ( the husband!) and a suberb Monkfish and razor clam concoction (me!). We can not priase the food, staff, location and presentation enough. The champagne filled fridge on the honesty bar is a refreshing testament to good taste. We will return!

Room Tip: Probably all the rooms here are of an equal standard - we had room 3 at the back and it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July and had a brilliant time. We stayed in room 2 upstairs overlooking the high street. The room had a lot of space, a big bathroom and was decorated to a very high standard.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and the food served in the evenings plus breakfast in the mornings were also excellent.
Can't fault the place one bit, would recommend it to anyone and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 - no complaints !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of our trek along the Cotswold way. Our room was beautiful with a wonderful coffee machine and the bathroom was amazing. Dinner was simply excellent and the whole experience enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff. To top all this off the owner/manager Andrew took our bags on to our next stop along the Cotswold Way leaving us with an easier day of walking. Russell's epitomises great hospitality. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#6 of 6 in Broadway
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 29 in Broadway
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £158 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing