We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Sunday Lunch”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We called in here on Sunday for lunch and were very warmly welcomed by the staff. We were offered a drink at the bar before sitting at our table. The Bar Manager then showed my husband where he could park for free whilst we had lunch. We ordered the Roast Beef as it looked amazing coming out to other guests and weren't disappointed. The menu was varied but not too big and we were so full from the starter and main that we couldn't manage desserts. Would definitely be dining here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank bretwyn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had been to Broadway but never stayed and wanted somewhere really nice for a first weekend away with my new partner. The standard rooms were full for the dates I wanted but on seeing the photos of the Feature King size, I just had to book it. On arrival we were directed to the parking at the rear of the building and then taken to the room. It was massive and beautiful. The whole of the top of the building in the roof area, overlooking the main street below. The main room with King size bed, large TV, dressing table with tea and coffee. Up a step to a bathroom the size of most hotel rooms. A tub bath with taps in the middle and a large shower in the corner as well. Down the stairs to a landing and a full choice of wines, beers, hot drinks and snacks at almost cost price. We booked for dinner and in the restaurant we had a pre dinner drink in the small waiting area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, asking about any other needs we had during our stay. The menu was first class and the food totally lived up to the billing.
After a very comfortable and peaceful night, a full English (and other choices) was waiting.
During our stay every member of staff spoke to us from the boss to the maids and were all equally welcoming. We talk about this place all the time and are planning our next visit.

Room Tip: The Feature King Size was amazing and even better than the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we picked it because of the reviews, and we had seen it on previous trips. it is perfectly situated, nice food, pleasant room, friendly staff and calm atmosphere. only thing i didnt like was the coffee m/c on the landing! but it is a compromise, as it says- restaurant with rooms. good value, worth a visit

Room Tip: park in Budgens free car park at the rear, you can safely ignore the 45minute warning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We arrived at noon after our flight from San Francisco and were directed to the parking lot in the back by a helpful staff member. After check in (our room was ready for us) we enjoyed a glass of champagne in the sun (a lucky day we were told) on the patio in front of the hotel and then proceeded inside for an enjoyable Sunday lunch. The roast beef and Yorkshire pudding was top notch, which may explain why so many locals were also having it. We then crashed out until morning. Breakfast was equally fine with the best scrambled eggs of our trip with a rather massive amount of smoked salmon on top. Dinner that evening was equally first rate: they offer a seasonal menu , and we had Plaice and trout, fresh peas and asparagus, Eaton Mess or Rhubarb Crumble for dessert!
Our top floor room (number 4) was large with a very comfortable bed, huge bathroom, and free wi-fi. We were there on a busy Sunday but the room was very quiet and we were able to sleep off our jet lag. The entire staff of the hotel and restaurant were friendly and most attentive. John was particularly welcoming and provided us with maps of the area and suggestions for walks. A hot tip: My husband ordered flowers for the room, and they were waiting for us on our arrival: a lovely fresh bouquet of roses, lilies, snapdragons and other flowers...they came in an ingenious box/vase so we were able to take them on to our next hotel....Men, this is an EXCELLENT idea!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kauaimary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We chose this restaurant with rooms ,for one night ,purely because it was on our way to Wales. What a great find. This is a high class establishment ,with friendly informed staff ,that also welcomed our dog (by name!). We were border line late on arrival for Sunday lunch (due to motorway issues )but had been assured ,when we called to inform them ,that we could eat with the staff if necessary..a nice touch... The food was worth the stress ,and our dog friendly room was great, big bed,nice bathroom and in a prime location in Broadway,a most pleasant place to visit. The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening ,but they have their very own fish and chip shop attached which went down very well (literally)with our Labrador Noah. Breakfast was excellent and this became definitely more than just a pit stop.

Room Tip: We loved our view of the Main Street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Russel's over the Easter weekend. From our greeting to our leaving we were made to feel extremely welcome and valued. Room was clean and spotless. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely superb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulnpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a very good hotel and restaurant, I travel a lot within the UK and this place in one to recommend it. The rooms are very spacefull and cosy with everything you need to make your stay a great experience. The service is always impeccable and the food of the restaurant is very good also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadway hotels
0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
894 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Broadway
The Lodge at Broadway
#1 of 8 in Broadway
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £162 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing