We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Weekend at Russells”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend at Russells”
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I took my boyfriend to Russells for a weekend for his birthday and we absolutely loved it. Beautiful setting - Broadway is so lovely - great food, amazing wine list, lovely rooms with huge bathrooms, fluffy towels, seriously comfy beds. The staff are so friendly and laid back and helpful and they make the best bloody marys! highly reccommended!!!

  • Liked — friendly chilled staff, beautiful location, bloody marys!
  • Disliked — no tea making facilities in the gorgeous rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwayview, Owner at Russell's, responded to this review, 23 June 2008
Thank you for your great feedback. We are so sorry to read that you weren't shown the tea
and coffee facilities that we do provide in all our rooms, but we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Russell's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    46
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
212
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon Uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Recently broke my leg and this was a treat after coming out of plaster, a weekend away.
And it was a treat, The bedroom (coincidentally on the ground floor, but not requested) was lovely, beautifully clean and simply but stylishly decorated, the bathroom was gorgeous, a really deep freestanding double ended tub and a really large walk in shower. The staff throughout our 2 nught stay were really pleasant and welcoming, from the guy who booked us in, right through the restaurant and breakfast staff.
We had dinner in the hotel one night and it was fabulous, really well presented and very imaginative combinations. Wish we had not already made arrangements foir the 2nd night as there were lots of other things on the menu I would like to try. Breakfast was also good,, lovely creamy porridge!
If I had one complaint, and this is really nit picking, I hated the pillows on the bed. They were feather and so floppy that once your head was on them they went totally flat and provided no support at all.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — thepillows
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torquaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Stayed for one night in one of the cheaper rooms (Room 1). The room was a good size overlooking the High Street - no road noise, double glazed. Had ordered champagne for arrival and that was delivered spot on. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food (especially the Scotch beef) was excellent. The restaurant's style - all slate tiles - was a bit too noisy and not very initimate for our personal taste. Only drawbacks - the fan in the bathroom was noisy and the duvet was too warm.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the noisy fan
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We have stayed at Russells several times since it opened, and have always been impressed with the very professional and attentive level of service, wonderful cooking and fabulous bedrooms. We decided to stay at Russells on Boxing day to 'get over' the busy Christmas scene. We were slightly concerned that maybe the hotel would provide a compromised level of service post Christmas Day, but we need not have been concerned, it was a perfect a stay as always.
We arrived in Broadway at midday, the weather was perfect, with a bright blue winter sky, and were greeted by the spectacle of the main street lined with hundreds of people as the colorful Hunt galloped through town. We then sat down to a fantasticl Boxing day lunch, with great service and enjoyed several glasses of reasonable priced fine wines.
We stayed in room 3 which overlooks the main street. It is a luxuriously appointed standard room with a wonderfully comfortable bed with luxury bedding and lighting.We appreciated the thoughtful extras included in our room, such as an assortment of nuts with nutcrackers, a bottle of organic apple juice and seasonal flower basket. Along with a well provided hospitality tray and fresh milk available in the fridge outside our bedroom, where an honesty bar is provided.
We spent a very comfortable night sleeping with the window wide open, watching the Christmas lights decorating the trees outside our room, marveling how quiet and peaceful every where was.
We love this hotel, and the fact that they always get it just right, and of course, we will be returning in 2008.

  • Liked — luxurious and contemporary bedrooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cocoBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylebone
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2007

There are plenty of hotels to choose from in Broadway, but some are quite naff and others very expensive, so I was pleased to find Russell’s at it looked quite nice. While the room was of a good standard, the customer service in this place is indifferent at best, which is a shame.
As it is a ‘restaurant with rooms’ there is a strange feeling of walking into a restaurant with some bags and wondering what to do with yourself. Equally bewildered young staff aren’t exactly prepared to make the experience easy.
A poor welcome was compounded by the fact that I was given a room that wasn’t as nice/big as the one I had paid for (which wasn’t outlined when I arrived); I had to ask twice for this to be clarified and the higher price still appeared on the final bill – a bit cheeky.
A five star rated place should be exceptional and staff should have very high standards. While the room was perhaps the nicest I had seen in a while, I felt like I was paying to stay in a big city hotel, without the welcome and attention to detail that you would expect. Improvements needed.

  • Liked — That it had a lot of nice things close by
  • Disliked — Inexperienced and indifferent staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nich29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2007

This is a great find. Marvelous modern British restaurant with good, friendly service and enough variety for a 3 night stay. Very reasonably priced. The rooms are outstanding. We stayed in the suite, #7, which is the largest room we have had anywhere and beautifully, and thoughtfully appointed. Huge bathroom with 2 sinks, enormous shower and big jacuzzi. Lovely toiletries, good lighting and everything worked! Bedroom/sitting room had reading nooks with comfy chairs and good lighting as well as a couch for TV view. A+ in our book.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow on the Wold
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We had a wonderful stay in the suite, which is an incredible room...enormous bath, amazing shower, great bed and sitting area. The hotel were very helpful in arranging surprises for my husband's birthday.

The whole place has a wonderfully relaxed feel

Good food

Great value wine list

Excellent value I thought for such luxury...the rooms really have been most thoughtfully designed and provided

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
833 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Property: Russell's
Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing