We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not quite up to expectations”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A return visit for a couple of friends, who I joined, staying overnight with dinner. The stay both pleased and disappointed. Disappointments in the accommodation came from a lack of attention to detail. Rooms were not heated for a very cold day’s early evening arrival but the modern system brought the temperature up within about half an hour. Room 2 was a comfortable double on the front with a spacious bathroom. However, only one out of three bathroom ceiling lights working made it rather dim after dark, even with a mirror light. There were three lights not working in the bedroom, one by the window seat, one ceiling and one picture light and the cumulative effect detracted from the initial impression – but there were excellent bedhead lights. Excellent beds and linen made for a superb night’s sleep. Rubbish in the bedroom wastebin and used and stained spoons on the teatray took the edge off the room somewhat. Dinner was good but not excellent because of the laid back service – very friendly but not very attentive as if there was no management presence.
Service was always responsive to requests but at this level the expectation was for it to be more proactive. This was the same for breakfast as well. The cooking at dinner showed some imagination and flair and the Beef and Horseradish sausages with mash and beetroot were simple but very well executed. Equally favourable comments on the Pollock but a tapas starter for two while good, lacked imagination. The place is stylish and it is as they say themselves, chic. But at this stay it did seem to be resting on its laurels a bit. Shame.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picknchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadwayview, Owner at Russell's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

I was extremely sorry to learn that this guest's experience of Russell's did not live up to their expectations and have contacted the reviewer direct to address their issues.

Barry Hancox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

Booked a night in the hotel for my girlfriends birthday and it was brilliant! The room was fantastic, very clean and beautifully decorated (stayed in the Feature Kingsize). The staff were so friendly and helpful. We booked a table for dinner and the food was outstanding and service very good! Breakfast was superb too!

An all round brilliant stay and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at Russell's for one night and wished our second nigt had been booked there too! The room (6) was fantastic, the service and the friendliness of the staff was superb, and the meal we ate at the restaurant was lovely. We were enjoying our meal when a guest from the very prestigious hotel a few doors from Russelll's came and asked the staff if there was availability the next night for a party of 8 who were very disappointed with the service at their hotel.. no such problems for us! I left my jacket behind in our room and a day afer we left. I rang to see if it was there, the member of staff who answered the telephone (I think maybe her name was Grace) was so friendly and helpful, I realised the staff were like this all the time and not just because we were staying there. Thank you so much for a lovely time, we will definitely recommend Russell's and will stay again next time we are in the area. xx

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We are local and have been here on 5 occasions (resturant only) and the level of consistency in food, service and atmosphere always remains extremley high. Looking forward to it again as have another reservation booked for in a couple of weeks time! :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travel_is_too_easy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonWorcestershire, Owner at Russell's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the next few weeks.

Kind regards

Barry Hancox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Good quality hotel, the room we had was on the ground floor and was well furnished. The bathroom was nicely furnished. The shower was built in an alcove though so it was difficult to use for any decent sized person.

The hotel itself is on the main street in Broadway, but parking is round the back. You have to share a parking lot with the local supermarket, which was full when we first got there so we had to go back and forth to a parking lot across the road.

The restauarant is good quality and we ate there on our second night. However, Russell's also own the Brasserie next door which is where we ate on the first night. This was really poor in comparison. When it was obvious that my wife had left her meal the man in charge immediatley took the drinks off the main bill.

Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacherman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed in room 3. The decor was tasteful and the room and bathroom very large. The full English breakfast included in the price was faultless. As many hotels charge for "full Engish" the room price becomes even better value for money.
The evening meal was slightly disappointing but only because we had expected better based on their glossy website. It was ok ,no complaints, just not "special" if you understand.
I would recommend it as good vfm but don't expect a mind blowing culinary experience.
All staff friendly and efficient in our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybobSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We have just returned from a great stay at Russell's, taking advantage of the offer for free dinner for a midweek stay in November.

The restaurant was busy each night and the food was lovely. The set menu included with our accommodation only had two choices per course but this was enough for us. The staff were pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful - great coffee and a nice touch to serve fresh croissants as well as toast.

We stayed in Room 3 (Luxury Kingsize), which was a huge room and beautifully furnished. The room was next to the landing where there is a complimentary coffee machine and 'bar' (beer, wine and soft drinks), which did mean that we could hear other guests availing themselves of the facilities, although this wasn't a problem for us.

If I was to have one tiny gripe about Room 3 it was that there was no dressing table or plug switch near to a mirror, which meant hair drying was a little tricky. Also, I wouldn't recommend this room for anyone over 6 foot... neither my fiancé or I are giants (both under 5'10) but we were scraping our heads on the ceiling of the shower!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#6 of 6 in Broadway
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 29 in Broadway
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £161 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing