We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent visitor to the horse and hound, would not go anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Hound
Ranked #19 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor to the horse and hound, would not go anywhere else”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I am a 'regular' at the horse and hound, as there is no where else I would stay when visiting the Cotswolds. I am not normally one to write a review but when it came into conversation that some of the reviews on here were negative I felt compelled to express my shock and confusion. The food at the horse and hound is second to none. Its is all freshly made on the premises, right down to the hand cut chips and peppercorn sauce. And you can tell. David Diane and Michael are lovely people happy to leave you to it or sit down and have a drink with you. The rooms are stunning. You only have to ask to have a look and you will realise they are far from dated. They are perfectly in touch with the Cotswolds feel. I would not, and do not, stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauradora85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    36
    16
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
64
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the landlord (a Northern Irish chap, who bears an uncanny resemblance to Ross Kemp) and shown to my very spacious bedroom.
It was everything I hoped for in a Cotswold pub, oldy-worldey in a very stylish and traditional way.
After a quick change, I headed down to the pub to sample their beverages (I recommend the Mad Goose!) They have plenty of largers, wine, spirits and soft drinks to choose from, as well as their 4 real ales and a very tasty local cider.
I met the landlady during dinner at the pub and had a lovely chat and was made to feel very welcome.
Speaking of dinner, I had a sumptuous duck which was cooked to perfection - here's a chef who obviously takes pride in his work!
I honestly can recommend this place enough. It ticks all the boxes and more and the husband and wife owners are the nicest couple I have had the fortune to meet. I've already booked my next stay with them!
Make sure u try it for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The hotel, room and food were exactly what you would want for a weekend break, beautiful room excellent service food superb all in all very good value for money. The whole of the Broadway and the rest of the Cotswolds right on your doorstep.

Room Tip: We used laterooms.com to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzydrip63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We were made to feel very welcome and the food was excellent compared to the crown and trumpet. We examined the rooms which were typical country English style (room 4) as sister in law staying here. They loved the place and will be back. We wish we had booked here instead of the worst pub in Broadway.!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We only stayed here because the other hotels in Broadway were full. Upon arrival we walked into the bar to be greeted by the owners eating their lunch at the bar. They looked at us as if we were intruding upon them and the male owner showed us to our room but the female owner hardly gave us the time of day. Room ok but a bit dated. Had a drink in their bar before going out to eat at the local Indian restaurant as could not bear to eat in the restaurant as the atmosphere is unbearable. Came down the next morning for breakfast and sat and chatted to two American ladies who had been staying there all week and felt sorry for them and hoped they did not think this was normal British hospitality. Breakfast was ok and toast was thrown at us by the female owner who never smiled all of the time we were there. When we came to check out I handed the female owner the keys and she looked at me as though I had been in the way from start to finish of our stay. Would never stay here again, which is a shame because the village is beautiful and the Indian restaurant in the village is superb. Don't know why people who cannot be bothered to make people welcome own a place like this. Such a shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broadway hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stopped here for a drink after walking ten miles from Chipping Camden. The barman was very surly and made us feel as if he was doing us a favour pouring drinks for us.
The decor was shabby and the tables dirty so we decided not to order food.
We needed to order a taxi back in about 45 minutes and asked him if he could order one for us. He pushed a scrap of paper towards us with a list of taxi firms on it for us to ring.
Knowing that we were waiting for a taxi he let us order another drink and sat down again only to be told "We are closing in fifteen minutes". We had to rush our drinks and then hang about outside to wait for our taxi in the cold.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We are regular visitors to broadway and on this occasion, decided to stop here for lunch.

When we entered the pub we noticed some empty tables in the next room so sat down. Only after we sat down did we realise it was the 'restaurant' section and should have been led in by staff. This faux par on our part seamed to put us in bad light with the staff, especially the head waitress who tutted under her breath.

We sat near the door and could over hear how this same head waitress / manager acted with other customers. We noticed that other customers who entered the room without staff escort were treated with contempt. Customers who did, were forced to sit at tables of her choosing even when they suggested another position.

We found the atmosphere to be unfriendly when ordering food. We wanted a baguette and a bowl of chips. We felt that because we didn't order a main meal she wasn't happy. She didn't take the menus away. Very Faulty Towers.

The 2 baguettes and potion of chips took 30+ minutes to arrive. We were disappointed that after spending 5+ pound per baguette all we got was a cheap bread roll with no butter and bit of tuna. The bowl of chunky chips had roughly 10 chips to share between us. No salad. Staff were difficult to get the attention of, and won't give eye contact with us.

Toliets were okay, not dirty but old and needs some work. Not 4 star quality as advertised on the door.

Would not recommend at all which is a shame due to it's location. Hope they can turn it around.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
5.1 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound

Property: The Horse and Hound
Address: 54 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing