We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Hound
Ranked #18 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely place to stay after the initial busyness of Sun David and Diane were excellent hosts they helped to make my husbands 60th birthday very special by making all 10 0f us feel so welcome.
All 5 rooms were clean,bed very comfortable our dogs were even welcome in the bar and David gave us a choice of eating in the bar with the dogs or in the restaurant.
And for the food well every meal was excellent all the staff very attentive and polite.
We won't hesitate to stay here again and if anyone is concerned due to some of the reviews then don't be.
Thank you David and Diane for going that extra mile to making us enjoy our stay
See you soon Diane & Tony

Room Tip: The superior room number 5 is fantastic due to the size of the bed and space of the room also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

This follows on from a previous comment my girlfriend made about this establishment which will be helpful to read before reading this.

Overpriced and loud - the sequel (you will need to read this previous comment to understand what I'm on about here)

After not being able to sleep due to the karaoke music, my girlfriend felt compelled to go downstairs to the bar and complain to the managers as the music was really invasive. They offered to move us rooms so we were slightly further away from the music but I was disappointed that this was done with a bit of "attitude" and no apology/empathy for how us, their customers, were feeling. We were made to feel bad for inconveniencing her, dragging her away from the karaoke music to put us in a more suitable room.

An hour later, this karaoke music was still unbearable and despite the new room we were getting quite distressed as we couldn't relax or get to sleep. I then went down to ask the manager to come upstairs to our room to hear how loud it was for us.

The manager came up and said "Yeah I can hear the music, what's the problem?" I explained that when you're paying above £80 for a room in what, on its website, is described as a relaxing, cosy inn you should expect to feel relaxed and cosy and be able to sleep if you so desire. The manager, in a rude and abrasive manner, told us that if we didn't want to be disturbed by the music we should go downstairs to the bar and drink.

The manager said if we had such a problem we could get out now and stay somewhere else (this was at 11pm on a Friday night.) I thought this was a very impolite way of speaking to paying customers and was also very petulant of him; believe me, if it had been possible to get another room in another location at that time of night we would have done as the atmosphere in this place at that time was horrific.

The manager also said to us if we didn't want to be disturbed by loud music we shouldn't have stayed at a pub. He would of course be correct, except on the Horse and Hounds' website, they do not advertise themselves as a pub. Not once do they call themselves a pub, but they repeatedly refer to themselves as an inn, with its connotations of cosy fireplaces, serenity and relaxation. He also said this karaoke night was advertised on their website (it was not.) Had it been there's not a chance we would have booked in.

I informed the manager that we would not be paying full price for the accommodation due to the awful night's sleep we were having. He laughed at us and told us that we would be paying full price. My girlfriend explained that no, actually, we would not, because we are the paying customer and we are not happy with the service we had received, ergo we would not be paying for it as it wasn't as advertised. Again he was very rude towards us.

We tolerated the music but did so with a sour taste in our mouths because of the way we had been spoken to.

The next morning when checking out we spoke with his wife. The first thing she said to us in a VERY rude manner was "If you wanted a quiet night in, why on earth didn't you stay in a B and B or a hotel? Why did you stay in a pub?" Again, we explained that they DO NOT claim to be a pub on their website and present themselves as quite a luxurious option in what is a lovely village. Obviously, in reality this was not the case at all.

Both the husband and wife team were so rude to us both and their manner of speaking to customers was really shocking. I couldn't believe that people in the hospitality industry think they can get away with speaking to customers in such a way. Of course the customer isn't always right, but there is a way of being polite and understanding of customers' needs and the manager of such a business should be ensuring guests are comfortable.

Our main issue in the end wasn't the music keeping us awake; it was the way we were treated by the husband and wife team who, in my opinion, need lessons in empathy and also how to effectively run a business. If they continue to have such an unfriendly manner with customers they won't have any.

Room Tip: Stay at the pub round the corner instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a great place to stay! David and Diane made the weekend with their warm welcome and excellent service. The food was fantastic on both evenings that we stayed in this lovely inn in the Cotswolds. Can't say that David laid on the weather but what a difference it made to our stay. The room was very comfortable and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to any visitor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Pate and Garlic Mushrooms for starters. Then the Roast Beef dinner. Great stuffing in the Yorkshire Puds and Sweet Potatoes in the Veg gave a great savoury flavour in the Dinner. Based on the meal and the service we would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dyna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were nervous about booking a room here due to some of the reviews. We emailed Broadwegian who left the review titled Avoid, avoid, avoid for more info but didn't get a response so took our chances and proceeded with the booking. We are so glad we did and will be back. Food was all freshly cooked and so tastey and on the night we stayed there was live entertainment, a solo guitarist and singer who was fab. Pub was full and the atmosphere was great. We befriended a few locals who told us how much the current owners had turned things around. Our room was very pretty, suited to the surroundings, and the bed was so comfy (room 3 we stayed in). Breakfast was a proper full English, very nice. It was then that we got talking to the landlord, a very chatty and friendly man who was very helpful in recommending surrounding areas to visit. We decided to bring up the fact that we nearly didn't book because of previous reviews and went on to learn that "broadwegian" who is actually local to the area and, it would seem, have some alliance to a competitor and feel the need to bad mouth the horse and hound, very sad behaviour and unfair. He had left another bad review several months ago and on looking at his history has only left 3 reviews, 2 of which have been on this pub. The third was an excellent review on a competitor. The landlord suggest referring to late rooms where reviews can only be left by genuine guests who have stayed at the horse and hound. I will be putting my review on their next. In future I will be more wary of the reviews I read on here. It's a shame some people have to ruin what should be helpful sites for the rest of us.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Fourth stay after a gap of 3 years. Present owners are very pleasant and helpfiul. Excellent location in centre of Broadway village. Breakfast freshly cooked to a good standard. Rooms are not large but excellent value in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed for one night as we were at a wedding nearby!

Room very nice, oldey worldy which was good! Comfortable bed at the front of the pub and it was so quiet!

Breakfast was excellent, fresh and really well cooked!

Finally we needed a taxi to go and get our car from the wedding venue. Kindly the owner tried a few taxi numbers but with no avail! Then kindly the chef took me to collect the car, very kind people!

Overall very good, recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banyard2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#6 of 6 in Broadway
923 reviews
1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook House Bed & Breakfast
Brook House Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 29 in Broadway
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound

Address: 54 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing