We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse and Hound
Ranked #20 of 31 Broadway B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just back from a weekend at the above pub, room nice and clean with a good shower, location excellent , beer price better than anywhere else in the village and a good base for visiting the many cotswold towns. Recommend lower slaughter over bourton , less crowds and tackiness. Chipping camden and burford nice . Lovely area of england .f your feeling energetic , talk a walk from the pub upto Broadway tower , but its not for the faint hearted, longest mile ive ever walked. Back to the hotel, didnt have evening meal but breakfast was great. The indian restaurant in town was also fantastic

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    12
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very comfortable one night stay in room 3 which overlooks the Main Street. Clean room with the usual facilities. Booked a table in the restaurant and had venison and ale pie with huge chunky chips - verdict- fantastic with very efficient friendly service.
Breakfast was equally delicious. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

A wonderfully spacious room (5), but in November cold......but a thoughtfully provided plug in heater a welcome touch.
Comfy bed, nice breakfast, friendly staff.
Restaurant food very good, wonderful log fire burning in the hearth.
Positioned right in the centre of beautiful Broadway high st, and although its a pub, not disturbed by any noise.
Christmas shopping evenings are a must to get you in the festive mood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed in room 5, large, clean and comfy bed. Evening meal was superb, breakfast even nicer. Its a great spot, handy for the town which you can get to in munutes.
Obviously these reviews are only peoples opinions and you should be open minded about your experience, the negative ones never put us off for that reason.
We would definatley stay again, value for money and a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had room 5, at the back, probably a bit quiter as not roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on route to friends in Hereford. The room was clean but in need of updating. We ate in the restaurant the first night, the food was very good but the service was very slow it took 50 minutes to get our starters. There were a few locals eating there and they seemed to be given priority over paying guests. The hotel advertises a 4 star rating and we don't feel you get a 4 star experience when staying. The proprietors were not very welcoming and we felt all staff need training in customer service and care.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were cold and hungry and the place was very warm and inviting. We had not booked a table but there was no problem and a place was found for us, even though the eating area was very busy and most of the tables were taken. The service was excellent, the food was very tasty, lovely and hot and very reasonably priced. We will visit again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed in the Horse and Hound for 1 night with a group of friends - 3 couples - in September 2012. We were in Broadway for a wedding and The Horse and Hound was recommended to us. We booked 4 rooms but one of our friends was informed 1 week before the wedding that his room was doublebooked and unfortunately they are not going to be able to accomodate him. Very inconvenient as everything was booked out in Broadway that weekend.

Although the location was great, the food was very good, the rooms were nice and clean, we found the staff to be very rude and abrasive. When we returned from the wedding at around 1 am, we were told to go to bed straight away in a raised voice and very commanding way as we could be disturbing other patrons. Although everyone staying in the B&B that night were guests to the same wedding and nobody complained about us being up late we were ordered by the owners to go to bed immediately. We promised to keep it quiet (we weren't loud or rowdy to start with) but we couldn't reach an agreement with them which was very disappointing.

The rooms were £90 a night but they weren't worth the money - I'm afraid I can't recommend The Horse and Hound, we had a very bad exprience and will most certainly not returning.

Room Tip: Only book it if you're stuck for options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broadway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadway hotels
0.2 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown and Trumpet Inn
Crown and Trumpet Inn
#8 of 31 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Broadway
The Lodge at Broadway
#1 of 7 in Broadway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Hay Country House
Mill Hay Country House
#19 of 31 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandscroft B&B
Sandscroft B&B
#6 of 7 in Broadway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse and Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound

Property: The Horse and Hound
Address: 54 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing