We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but service questionable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bell at Willersey
Ranked #13 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food but service questionable”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked a table for dinner over 6 weeks in advance as we knew it would be busy over Easter weekend. However, despite our advanced booking, we were wedged in the smallest table, in the most awkward corner. I strongly suspect we were being 'punished' for not actually staying there as overnight guests!
The service wasn't of a high standard, however the food was very good and the menu has a great choice, especially the 'specials board'.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    54
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
95
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in March. I had stayed here before, a number of years ago. Maggie was wonderfully friendly and helpful. After being initially shocked by the price of the food, we were won over by the quality. Everything tasted amazing and the portions were far from stingy. We skipped starters, and struggled to finish dessert after a substantial main course. We ate in the pub restaurant both nights and were not disappointed. Breakfast was also top notch and very filling. We didn't get hungry again until late afternoon and then just had an ice cream or piece of cake until the evening.
I'd picked the upstairs room which overlooks the pond which I found to be light airy and spacious. The shower was fantastic - really powerful. Good sized wall-mounted TV in this room. The bed was comfortable. Cups and glasses were cleaned in the morning. I did not experience any of the problems mentioned in other reviews. Yes the decor could be considered dated, but it is in keeping with the quaint village surroundings. If you want sterile modern decor go to a travelodge!
Not a cheap weekend break but well worth the money we spent to have a romantic weekend away.I can't fault The Bell and we will definitely be staying there again, if only for the food!

Room Tip: 2 rooms upstairs and 3 downstairs so upstairs rooms will be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Booked at last minute for a night room was lovely but could do with a bigger tv and fixed to wall ,evening meals smelt and look amazing but we did not eat in as we were meeting friends else where but i definatly going to eat here sometime and will book a room again Breakfast was superb and the owners and staff are a delight the Sunday lunch smelt gorgouse but we could not stay as had to get home

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were having a quick look around the area, and were advised by a friend in Aust to see the village of Broadway , so thought we would stay away from the crowds, so we came across The Bell at Willersey, We managed to get a room , which faced the pond on the village green , the outlook was great, not what we are use to in West Australia. The room had all what you require and was comfortable , the food at the Inn was Great (dinner and breakfast) . Friendly staff and the owner Maggie/Warren could not be more helpful .
While we were there a slight incident happened in the village, which I think will be talked about for quite a long time, so if you pop in ask Maggie and co

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Wonderful place - very friendly welcome ..... lovely room overlooking the village pond. Room was clean and had everything you needed. Dinner was first class and the drink well looked after. Breakfast was cooked as per your order and was superb quality.
And The Bell is perfectly situated away from the crowds but handy for all the main Cotswold places to be visited.
All in all - a first class place to stay and Maggie and Warren make you feel very welcome.Spent a happy hour or two chatting with Warren about his (and the Bells) perfect sporting pedigree :o))
Definitely will return .... thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We were staying at a self catering cottage localy so visited the Bell for a meal, I would agree with other reviews that its not cheap,BUT the food and service is superb, my wife and daughter are both vegetarians and were well suited and equally the staff were more than happy to let them mix n match from all parts of the menu.My only slight criticism I would have liked my medium rare steak to be pinker, but its very difficult to judge someones expectations and it was certainly a lovely steak.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Maggie and Warren are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. My wife and i had a two night stay at the Bell and found the food and hosts excellent, we would certainly have no hesitation in recomending the Bell for food and freindly staff.

Room Tip: clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadway hotels
1.4 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lowerfield Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Willersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Willersey

Property: The Bell at Willersey
Address: Main Street | Willersey, Broadway WR12 7PJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Bell At Willersey Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing