We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Sheepcote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
992Barcel...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This Barn conversion is near the village of Broadway . It is not far from other places in the Cotswolds.
The accommodation is great for families or couples as we were .
A real bonus is the conservatory as when not good weather still felt you were outside which few cottages offer .
It is well equipped and plenty of towels and t towels.
We even enjoyed a log fire on a couple of evenings .
Can really recommmend this rental .
Would definitely come again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Quiet location, walkable to the nearest pretty village of Broadway. Excellent facilities. Good clean comfortable accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ally S
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location and size but....”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This old converted barn is in a great location, a few mins drive from the lovely broadway village, in a nice quiet location down a private road. The building has its own private large garden, and overlooks a shared courtyard with other barns.
The building is nice and large, lots of space, provides most kitchen essentials and plenty of them.
For us we felt like the building needed a bit of TLC and those finishing touches however.
On arrival, other than a A4 sheet of paper with a small amount of information on, there was no welcome book, no information on surrounding area/restaurants which I found to be very unusual.
The front door doesn't stay shut unless you lock it, the ensuite bathroom door doesn't shut properly or lock. The towels provided are so small in master room, they didn't even wrap around head!
The heating doesn't have a thermostat, it's either on or off, and on a cold feb week you need it on, but not always as high. The kitchen needs a deep clean.
We were quite surprised that there wasn't any hand wash in the bathrooms;no logs provided for the fire, or even a welcome box on arrival which seems to be standard in other locations we've stayed at especially as arriving on a Sunday and the shops were closed.
For the price of the barn we did expect those little small details to be right as for us they can make your stay.
However, the building could be a great place to stay, it is nice and spacious with 4 bedrooms, and in the summer the garden would be lovely to sit out in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a family get-together”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Close to the lovely Cotswold village of Broadway, we spent 2 weeks here over Christmas-New Year. The house was spacious, with comfortable living room (complete with fireplace), large well-appointed kitchen, and a cosy sunroom. There was even a large Christmas tree, and a Christmas basket with lots of goodies. Perfect for catering for a large family Christmas. The large garden is perfect for a game of boules or touch footy, and there is space for several cars. This was also an excellent base for sightseeing, as there are lots of lovely villages nearby - Chipping Camden, Bourton on the Water, Lower Slaughter, Stow-on the-Wold.
Our hosts were quick to respond when we had a minor problem with the dishwasher. We would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billpar
Shepparton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great property, very comfortable country setting.”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Old Sheepcote was a great base for our three days in the Cotswolds. There were 6 of us
(3 couples). The property was very comfortable and spacious, close to town. We travel each day and really enjoyed coming back at night as we felt very much at home. We really enjoy our stay and would recommend "Old Sheepcote" as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country Setting
Liked least: To short of time
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
992Barcel...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Fab Week”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We found this cottage on holiday lettings. It was a really good find .
It has 4 good sized bedrooms , an en suite and separate large bathroom and a separate toilet.
A large kitchen and lounge and conservatory . This is a single storey barn conversion .
A lovely outside space with seating . We did have lovely weather but a garden umbrella would have been an asset as its a very sunny garden and beautifully secluded.
The cottage is convenient for visiting the Cotswolds with a supermarket in Broadway a few minutes drive away .
The cottage is well equipped for 8 people and the beds were generally very comfortable
and plenty of towels and tea towels provided.
We enjoyed it so much we have already booked again so can recommend this to larger families or couples sharing as there was enough space for everyone.
Well recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's size and location No garden parosol
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptwhalley
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal property for party of 8”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at this property for a weekend with our adult children and one grandchild to celebrate a birthday. It is an ideal size for a party of 8 with a lovely large garden. We did feel it was in need of a little tlc as the sofas in the sitting room are well worn and the cushions flattened. It has a fantastic kitchen but again we felt that the crockery and pans weren't as clean as they should have been and when we used the dish washer we realised why. The detergent compartment does not open and so the dishes are not washed properly. The dishwasher needs attention or replacing. Other than that we had a lovely weekend, there is lots to see and do around Broadway, it is a beautiful part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property was excellent.
Liked least: The boiler is rather noisy and is situated in one of the bedrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Thanks for letting us know re the dishwasher, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Old Sheepcote. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing