We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly perfect simply stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Grocery - Built mid 1800's and retaining many of the original features
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Grocery - Built mid 1800's and retaining many of the original features
The Old Grocery with it's sister property The Old House (to the left) Lounge with Bay Windows over looking the upper High Street - Set up for Summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Old Grocery - Built mid 1800's and retaining many of the original features
The Old Grocery with it's sister property The Old House (to the left)
Lounge with Bay Windows over looking the upper High Street - Set up for Summer
Lounge with comfortable leather settees and chair for 6 and SMART TV
View from Lounge across the road to some wonderful cottages
View from Lounge through dining Room and kitchen and beyond to Garden
Dining Room with table to seat 10 on soft leather chairs and fire place
Dining room alternative view showing Feature Cotswold Stone Wall
Galley-esk Kitchen with cottage units containing fridge and washing machine
Garden / Yard - with bistro table and chairs
First floor Double Room - with understairs cupboard for hanging clothes
First Floor Twin Room - Gentlemans wardrobe and 6 drawer unit. 2nd bed out of shot
Attic Double Room - Stairs alight in middle of room
Attic Room with En-Suite
Attic Double Room - En-suite bathroom with roll-top bath and shower
Attic En-Suite - Relax in a Roll-Top Bath
View across frontage of Bay House towards the main High Street
View from Bay House to Main high street 2 minutes walk
View from Bay house to Upper High Street - A Lovely walk and some beautiful Houses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs J A J
1 review
“Perfectly perfect simply stunning”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fabulous place to stay in the heart of Broadway. Comfortable and well equipped accommodation.
Definitely need to be fit to negotiate the two sets of narrow staircases but worth the climb to the fabulous bedrooms with own facilities to each one.
Would really recommend this place am sure you would not be disappointed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Jackie, thanks for your kind review.

Just to clarify for those reading your review. You only need to climb two sets of stairs to get to the attic bedroom with en-suite bathroom with role top bath. But as you say, "worth the climb".
The stairs to the first floor are pretty standard for old cottages in Broadway but also having been installed in 2014, comply to current build regs.
Hope to see you again in the future,
Thanks Again, Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little cottage in superb location but best for short stays”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our American/Australian family of 5 stayed 13 nights at The Old Grocery. It is, without doubt, in the best village of the Cotswolds, and the cottage itself is conveniently located within a short walk of Village shops and pubs.
Although The Old Grocery is absolutely charming with its period features, beautiful dining room and cosy living room, the three bedrooms are poorly equipped. For international guests (accustomed to king beds), the double beds were uncomfortably small and two of the ensuites tiny. The biggest (attic) bedroom did not have a wardrobe - just a hook to hang clothes.
The courtyard was pretty and had plenty of outdoor furniture but no barbeque.
Similarly there was an efficient washing machine but no clothes dryer. (And yes, it rained 10 out of 13 days).
Overall I would recommend this dear little cottage for short stays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Anne,
Thanks for your review.
Sorry that the beds were not as large as you would have liked. Double beds are pretty standard in the UK (I do have king size at home however). But the main reason for Doubles is that "Old Broadway" is full of cottages built in the 17th century (c1650) and are therefore small in comparison to today's builds.
En-Suites in all rooms is unique not only in Broadway but probably any old accommodation with character in The Cotswolds. I have an en-suite at home and all those in The Old Grocery are bigger.
I understand the requirement for long stays for a Tumble Drier but again the room does not permit.
I am however looking at developing a building situated behind, called "The Corn House" to accommodate a laundry. This would allow me to replace the washer in The Old Grocery with a dish washer and have a dedicated room with washing machine and drier which would be used by my 3 properties on site. This may take sometime with planning permissions and build so who knows when it will be complete. It's in the thinking process at the moment!

Thanks Again for your review
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed within the Broadway (B & B's) several times over five years, this year as a celebration for our sons 30th birthday decided to come to the Grocery. How very pleased we all were, my goodness what a beautiful cottage, clean and decorated to a high standard throughout. The garden was a very pleasant addition at the end of an evening with a glass
of wine/cuppa.
The Grocery is at the top end of the Broadway but close enough to walk easily to pubs,
restaurants and shops. There is a parking bay allocated to the cottage an added bonus
in the Broadway. Plenty of beautiful walks in the surrounding area for people with and without dogs and villages of interest to drive to.
We had a wonderful stay, and found it hard to leave!!
The only blip, and it is very small blip is that as a mother catering for a family celebration the
use of a dishwasher instead of the washing machine would have helped but in no way
hindered the evening.
Thanks Greg, we are looking at returning to your smaller cottage in September, just Barry
and myself.
Thanks again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, no complaints at all
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Adele,
thank you for your lovely review.
I wasn't sure whether to have a washing machine or dish washer. My plan is at some point to have a laundry at the rear of the 3 properties. At this time I can swap in a dish washer.
thanks again and seen you in September
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HellasWal...
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second stay and still in love with the place!”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I recently returned to this fantastic property for the second time. Broadway is my favourite village in the Cotswolds - you are spoilt for choice in terms of shops, restaurants and walks - and this property is ideally located to make the most of all this beautiful part of the world has to offer.

The Old Grocery is spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. The last time I was here I was heavily pregnant and this time we returned with a 5 month old baby - and both times the property has met our needs and provided a lovely home-from-home in the heart of the Cotswolds. I loved the addition of the Christmas wreath and decorations in the window when we arrived, just gorgeous! And the new chair with the matching foot stool in the dining room is beautiful Greg - really striking, we loved it! Perfect for a tired Mum :-)

I can see The Old Grocery being somewhere that we will return to for many years to come. Thank you for another great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamIan77
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ideal cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed there for a week in September and had really enjoyable time. We found everywhere very good except the small kitchen for 6 people. Situated in one of the best villages in the Cotswolds. Nice that all the bedrooms were on suite. Would return there and recommend it to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation and size of place
Liked least: Small kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant 5 star all the way 😀”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Grocery is a superb property, 5 star accomodation throughout with attention to detail in every room. We normally stay in The Granary too and this time decided to try The Old Grocery it exceeded all expectations. Highly recommend any of the 3 properties that Greg owns they are all to an execeptionally high standard, spotlessly clean and nothing is too much trouble . The weather was fantastic so we were able to enjoy the courtyard with the comfortable garden furniture. You will not go wrong with Broadway for your base to explore the Cotswolds, there are plenty of pubs, and places to eat, there is also a mini supermarket within walking distance. Enjoyed it so much we are going back for a winter break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Sara & Kev,
Thanks again for your review. It was great to catch up.
Look forward to seeing you later this year
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing