We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Garden Room Restaurant at The Dormy is all about fabulous dining and fine wines with a menu that reworks classic dishes for a modern palate. With locally-sourced produce, including fruit and vegetables from the Farncombe Estate. During the summer months guests can dine alfresco overlooking the newly landscaped gardens.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend ate here whilst staying at Dormy House and we had a superb evening meal.

The food was fantastic, all on time and way beyond our expectations. It was also such good value for money considering the high quality standard of food.

The staff were really polite and friendly and their was a great atmosphere around the place.

We both highly recommend eating here whilst staying at the hotel or the nearby area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doffley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thanks for such a fantastic review of your meal with us in The Garden Room. We will make sure we pass your lovely comments onto the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    39
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grange Over Sands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast in a Fabulous Setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. First morning the Garden Room was full,so we ate in The Potting Shed. Very nice but really wanted to eat here. So booked for the next morning. Was a lovely sunny morning. We sat outside, has to be one of the loveliest settings for breakfast. Added to that,is a first class breakfast. The choice of juices, pastries etc. on the display table was a great start. We then had Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine , lovely. Toast comes in an insulated bag to keep it warm. What a great idea,it works. So none of the usual one piece hot then rest cold. Service is second to none. After we had finished had a wander around garden , very nicely done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your breakfast with us. We’re pleased that you enjoyed a lovely morning in The Garden Room and the hot toast! We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great food, great menu choices, great prices.
Service was impeccable; really friendly and attentive staff, knowledgable about the menu and wine list. They even brought samples of dishes we were thinking of ordering but selected differently.
A great place to go for an evening meal, although a little quiet when we were there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alabastamasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the The Garden Room. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and evening with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing service - even with a little disruption!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The service in Dormy House was excellent throughout, and we were especially blown away by the staff in the Garden Room Restaurant - especially when there was a little disruption in the middle of our dinner!

In the middle of our dinner, the fire alarm started sounding, and it turned out one of the chimneys had caught on fire from being stoked. However, the staff were calm and collected, asked us to wait outside while the fire engines arrived, and even bought out a glass of champagne to apologise for keeping us outside. Not one of the guests minded, and I can imagine that was because of the staff, and their friendly and calm attitudes throughout.

When we returned to our table, the meal was offered to be replaced, and re-cooked for us, even though we were only away from our table for a few minutes. We didn't actually take them up on this kind offer as we were nearly finished our main course, and instead decided to move on to a beautiful dessert!

Overlooking the gardens, and with the quirky signs stating "please walk on the grass", this is definitely a place we will be returning to.

I definitely recommend the Strawberry Crumble soufflé! Delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Holly_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us recently. We are extremely sorry to all the guests for the disruption. The situation was contained and dealt with very quickly and we agree that the team here dealt with it fantastically. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and we agree the Strawberry Soufflé is one of our absolute favourites. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice casual dinner...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As dinner with my daughter at the Garden room. It is a beautiful setting, and we had a table near the large windows which I recommend. The food was good. I had the salmon fantastic, my daughter had steak and it was ok not great. The service was very slow! Don't go if u r in a hurry. Our meal took forever...nice wine list and daily specials from the chef. Veggies were very fresh!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraciGaynorfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your dinner with us. We are pleased to hear that your enjoyed your food but very sorry about the slow service you received. We do hope that this won't put you off returning again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House also viewed

 
Broadway, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Garden Room Restaurant - Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing