We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem just needs a bit of tlc”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Evesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem just needs a bit of tlc”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived and checked in easily. Room was nice, beautiful views. Bed and bathroom was very clean. Few things could have been updated e.g. Bedside lamps but overall room was fine.
Downstairs bar area looked newly decorated, only complaint was that the bar was understocked. Breakfast was nice, cereals, toast etc. The full english was ok but the sausages were average.
Staff very friendly. Hotel could do with a little tlc but the view is truly lovely and it was a pleasing time away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurajaneMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    71
    23
    45
    129
See reviews for
62
170
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked via Groupon, despite some of the feedback on Trip Advisor. Arrived on the 8th Feb at around 2:30, no one on the reception/bar, although after 10mins were shown to room by a guy in the reception area. The building is very tired, although the room and bedding were clean.
Went down to get a drink later only to be informed the Peroni and Cider (only drinks of draught) had run out and were waiting for a delivery. Asked for a couple of Gin and Tonics, only to be informed there was no Gin. Settled for a bottle of Pino Grigio (£14) eventually. Very disappointing.
Breakfast, "Full" English was very average and the quality of the produce was not good. Were not offered any alternatives only cereals.
Overall very disappointing

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon deal.Having booked first and then read the reviews we were expecting the worst.The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme and we met 2 builders who were actually living on site.The setting is beautiful right on the banks of the river.Can only say in the time we were there the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was lovely on both mornings.Only downside was the weather,it rained for 2 days..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I arrived here 1st Feb using a groupon deal. The deal was very reasonable so we were quite excited when we were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to "The Penthouse" due to a mix up on bookings. On face value, "The Penthouse" looks great.... however on closer inspection it is pretty grotty indeed! To name a few issues: Light fittings hanging out of the ceiling (in most rooms).
Balcony door in bedroom wouldnt lock.
Half of the lights in the property dont work (many light switches dont do anything).
There was a live electrical wire poking out of the floor in the bedroom!
Very big noticeable cobwebs around the room and hotel itself.
Human hair on the bed sheets (use your imagination).
A used condom wrapper in the drawer on dresser in the bedroom!! (YUCK!).
Staff were pretty much invinsible. We waited for 15 minutes at the bar until someone came and took our order... we then paid the best dollar for THE worst wine I have ever had the misfortune to try! Needless to say I couldnt drink it!

My partner had to venture into the kitchen to attract a member of staff at one point.... after seeing the kitchen we decided against eating here...,even avoiding the breakfast.

There were at least four bunches of DEAD Flowers lying around the bar and lounge in vases.... I mean, no flowers is better than dead ones right?? Also the carpets were what can only be described as REESTY!!!

It is a terrible shame this hotel has been let go to such a waste. It has fantastic potential if it was in the hands of someone that actually cared.

We felt so let down by our experience that we will most certainly not be returning.....at least until someone who cares has taken it over. Location is beautiful it just needs a bunch of caring and CLEAN staff.I could go on, however I amm exhausted just thinking about it now. Terrible shame.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booked via groupon. Didn't know what to expect but hotel was only 40mins from home and we travelled for the first time with baby and dog was welcome at the hotel too. We had a suite with a courtyard and I was pleasantly surprised. I had not read any reviews until now but can see peoples points. The hotel has tons of potential but am glad I did not pay full price. I am not a fussy person and believe you get what you pay for however staff and food where lovely and so is the location, we were greated by a very interesting chap who had a very quirky sense of humour, I wasn't even sure if he worked there but he got me my key and showed me to the suite. Other guests we met joked of faulty towers and at breakfast the next morning we found out the one couple had bailed! This wasn't the best of places I have stayed but I can't say it was the worst either despite the cobwebs, unfinished decor, mucky carpet (we have a dog so dont have the best flooring ourselves.lol), lack of bogroll and other peoples dogs dog poop in the courtyard that came with our suite,the staff where lovely and quirky and made us all feel welcome and added to the faulty towers charm. The room was warm and bed super comfy even if the baby did have us up all night. Our suite appeared to be part kitchen/self contained apartment at some stage and with money spent on it this could be a fantastic hotel, at the moment on the surface the decor is lovely but the landscape and botched diy soon let's it down. On the whole, if you want perfection do not stay here but for us it was perfectly fine for a first pack up your baby and dog quick night away. And it sure was a birthday surprise my hubby will not forget.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pualabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Arrived on a saturday night, was met by a very inexperianced young agency worker who tryed to do his best for us as the electric was off. It turns out that the hotel is in admin but are still taking bookings.
The room was ok although very cold and took time to warm up, went in search of staff to ask questions but the place was abandoned, happened apon the dinning room that had holes in the windows dirty table clothes and a carpet that hadnt seen a vacum for weeks, so it was into Evesham for dinner, found a very nice thai restaurant. We had a desent nights sleep as the bed was excellent.
Went for breakfast where it took 1 and a half hrs to get a full english and eggs benidict, dirty cups dirty glasses and cutlery just about topped it off and as I say " laughable"

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. Very warm welcome from the new manager who could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Its a lovely location overlooking the river, yet has easy access to the town and the Cotswolds. Our penthouse suite was amazing, comfortable and well furnished. We had a fantastic stay and would definitely return in the future. Heidi and Phil.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the penthouse, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
1.1 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Riverside Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Offenham Road | The Parks, Evesham WR11 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel And Restaurant
Riverside Hotel Evesham
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing