We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not visit again”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Evesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed in Apple Cottage which was cold & needed vacuuming badly. View of river but also of rubbish tip & pig sty. Dreadful foam topper on top of mattress - didn't dare underneath. Breakfast ok but overflowing kitchen bins outside not good. Had our two small dogs with us so unable to book elsewhere at short notice & a long drive home so we stuck it out. I'll be more careful what Wowcher deals I book in future!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisseyJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I took my wife away for a one night stay for our anniversary we enjoyed it big room over looking the river and was a warm room food was fantastic yes it's an old building so ongoing modernisation is needed over time but the place has fantastic character and I would and will book there again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Daz HDm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Without doubt this is the most disgusting establishment I have ever been to. This was booked via Wowcher ( who should disassociate themselves for fear of being involved with this place).
Everywhere is filthy and run down, heating which we were told had just broken down a day before would be fixed after our stay ( please see other reports that have been reporting same for months).
Windows are broken and stuffed up with supermarket plastic bags.
It really is hell . Take the advice of all these reviews and Never Book A Stay Here !!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David190766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Absolute nightmare - turned up on the Friday evening to be told "no booking" (even though we had called ahead the previous week and told we were booked in). The staff at reception (which resembled a bar - to which I think the staff that greeted us had made full use of!) were absolutely useless to say the least. They gave feeble excuses that their 'manager' had 'walked out' and left them in a mess and Groupon had over sold vouchers, whilst chomping on peanuts from the bar. We explained that we had telephoned the previous week and that once a voucher is purchased it is the buyer’s (our) responsibility to deal direct with the hotel, which we had done, but this did not deter the staff from blaming Groupon repeatedly.

We were told we could use the Riversides' 'sister' hotel which they said was 2 minutes away and that they had secured the same deal as Groupon, which we would have to pay to the new hotel and then claim back from Groupon. We arrived at the 'sister' hotel 13 minutes later by car (total lie that it was 2 minutes) to be told that they had received a phone call from the Riverside that we were on our way but had received no information regarding rates etc (another lie), the hotel staff were very quick to confirm that they had absolutely no allegiance or conglomeration with The Riverside (another lie ‘sister’ hotel). The Riverside ''manageress' had just clearly passed the problem over to this hotel.

We ended up having a lovely weekend and met some very nice people, who coincidently, had experienced the same debacle as we had when they checked into The Riverside and had ended up at the same hotel as us.
Having read the review since our attempted visit we are very pleased to have not managed to actually stay but can only say that the staff are unprofessional, untruthful and completely incapable of delivering a service, let alone, from the other reviews, delivering an adequate hotel stay.

We would not recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank LB2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Firstly may I ask a question? why do people find it acceptable to be provided with a second rate service when using Groupon or Wowchers as a method of payment ? The whole idea being that we are supposed to be buying a great deal ! Not a method of selling the unsuspecting customer a service that otherwise would be confined to the bankruptcy courts. Well our visit to Riverside Hotel Evesham was just that. Turned up after booking three months ago to find the manager had done a bunk and apparently filed for bankruptcy. However one leaseholder to the rescue. Didn't want to let all these voucher holders down apparently. Wish he had as at least we could of asked for our money back and gone to a hotel that had food in the fridge to sell to their guests. This place is currently being kept open on a shoestring. Worst thing for me is the lack of housekeeping. The place is unkempt. Cutlery stained and sticky. No toilet roll of hand towels in public toilet area's. Rooms not serviced very well. The coffee in our room was presented in an open topped container and was just a solid mass so I don't know how long it had been there. Our wk-end was only saved by a conscious effort to stay out of the hotel for ax long as possible. My advice avoid like the plague or possibly catch it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank themarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived 21st march 2014 after purchasing this voucher on groupon thinking it wasnt that bad after reading some reviews...what a terrible mistake!
We turned up and thought the hotel was shut down...it really needs refurbishing.
Once finding the reception which wasnt easy, a lack of signs and direction. The reception which was unattended every time I went there without a bell to ring for assitance and no once was I given an apologie for being made to wait.
when taken to our room, the man who runs the hotel didnt have the key nor did he know where it was - this wasnt very reasuring.
when we arrived in our room...well were do i start...the showers was caked in human hair, the shower head leaked, the shower curtain was held up with a crutch - the type you have when you have broken your leg!! the towels were stained, the mugs provided for cups of tea had hair on them and the kettle had old water inside it. there was no central heating in the room just a tiny old heater which i must admit did heat the room up very quickly.
We felt so uncomfortable in this hotel that we left a day and night early without eating due to dreading the standard of food.
When we handed our key in and making up an excuse as to why we were leaving...infront of other guests the manager said we were the second couple to make an excuse and leave early in the past 5 minutes...does not look good does it??

On the up side we could not fault the bed...it was spotless and comfortable.

this hotel really is faulty towers brought to life. please think twice before going.
anniversary weekend ruined.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We got a deal on Groupon to stay 2 nights here, after booking we read the reviews of the place and were quite dubious about staying here. However when we got here we were very, pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious with a lovely bed and great view. The food was lovely and a credit to Brian their Chef. Tim was behind the bar and always polite and friendly and couldn't have done more for us. Angela is the one that stood out the most though due to her extremely professional and friendly manner in which she ran the hotel. The Riverside comes highly recommended and both myself and my partner cannot wait to visit again. Cat x

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank catm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
1.1 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
581 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,096 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Elms
The Elms
#1 of 1 in Abberley
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Offenham Road | The Parks, Evesham WR11 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: £99 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel And Restaurant
Riverside Hotel Evesham
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing