We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and very unusual”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Evesham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evesham Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky and very unusual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for an impromptu night away and I have to say it was the most unusual hotel we have ever stayed in.....but it does grow on you! We stayed in one of the attic bedrooms which we found very clean and comfortable , nice views of the lovely old cedar tree. The gardens were immaculate and the staff very friendly, especially the lady with dark hair behind the bar and in the Restuarant . Unfortunately I did have to send my main meal back to be replaced but this was done quickly with the offer to cook my partner a fresh meal also so that we could eat together. The toilets were mind blowing ....very quirky and interesting. Breakfast ....how many different cereals were there????? A fantastic choice along with a decent sized full English to choose from. It was like visiting a mad eccentric relatives home.....but we liked it. Would we visit again, yes if in the area

Room Tip: Ask for one at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose_champagnelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, we are pleased you managed to enjoy our gardens, quirky toilets and wide variety of 50 breakfast cereals!
I would like to apologise about your main course that you had to send back but hope you enjoyed the rest of your meal and stay.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    133
    39
    18
    6
See reviews for
127
214
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just stayed at The Evesham Hotel and we stayed in the fantastic 'Alice in Wonderland' family room which was our 4 year olds dream room. We have 2 girls 2yr & 4 yr and they loved it. The hotel could not help us enough, children's dinner served between 5-6pm, baby sitter made available to us although they have thought of a great 'baby listening service' which we would probably take up next time, toys discreetly available around the hotel and the indoor swimming pool and outside swings kept our girls entertained for ages. For a young family it made it such a welcomed change to a normal hotel. All of that and I failed to mention the fantastic food in the restaurant was 1st class, its a real hidden gem. We would recommend this hotel to any young family, thank you Evesham Hotel for putting in place some great ideas for families with children, we noticed it and took full advantage.

Room Tip: for children we stayed in the Alice Wonderland room, 2 rooms within one and some quirky children'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are very pleased you all had an enjoyable stay in our family friendly Alice in Wonderland suite and also enjoyed the food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights with our dog, we were made sooo welcome and all the staff were very friendly and efficient. Having read some other reviews there is not a lot I can add about the amount of reading materials, beautiful gardens and very very interesting toilets. I must mention the amount of cereals, I counted 48 varieties!!! what a choice and choice of cooked breakfast was amazing, all served with a smile. The little extras in the room were much appreciated especially the silent fridge which contained fresh milk and water. It may not be as modern or glamorous as some hotels but I prefer service to shallow glamour. Also appreciated being able to fully open bedroom windows which you cant do at some chain hotels. We recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again. Thanks you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 overlooking the car park, probably not the best view but nice and quiet. the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit especially our wide variety of cereals!
Thank you also for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
520 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A friend had been taken here for lunch and was quick to spread the good news. This is a very individual hotel so much more fun than the average chain hotel however posh and expensive.

When my friend told me that we were coming here for lunch I looked at the reviews. Someone said it was o.k but a "bit strange". Well its "the strange" that is the charm and fun about this place. If you want something ordinary perhaps the Evesham Hotel is not for you.

We came for the buffet which was wonderful and cost only £11.50 per head. If a cold buffet is not to your taste there was another menu but we did not see it because we did not need to. The dishes on the buffet were interesting, full of flavour and freshly prepared. As a vegetarian who is used to dull boring food in restaurants because chefs cannot be bothered to cater for vegetarians I was in heaven when presented with all this fabulous food.

This is an individual hotel situated close to the river set in pleasing surroundings. There is an element of "shabby chic" but it is relaxing and fun at the same time.

I shall definately come back for the buffet and bring friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following you recent visit for lunch. We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed our buffet lunch which is designed to cater for all guests through its wide variety of choice.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with your friends
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved our stay that the Evesham Hotel!! Definitely a hotel with a difference and as others have commented worth more than a three star. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, beautiful peaceful gardens and a first class restaurant. The hotel is brimming over with books, pictures, toys, stories, poems, hundreds of bottles of rare whisky and other alcoholic curiosities, comfy armchairs to curl up in and read…..and of course the ubiquitous teddy bears!! Around every corner we found something to amaze and delight, or to make us laugh out loud!!
Already looking at dates for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Every room is different and many are themed. We were in room 20 which was very traditional and overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polofeb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent visit. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the character of the hotel including the teddy bears!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our weekend stay coincided with Eveshams River Festival and consequently the Hotel was fully occupied on the first of those two nights. However the restaurant staff coped brilliantly at dinner and breakfast, the service being immediate, friendly and professional. The food was excellently presented and tasty the only minor gripe was in the quantity( not quality) of the dinners main course. The setting was enhanced by the garden view.
Our room overlooked the car park and was above the kitchen but there was no noise disturbance. The room itself was presented with comfort in mind for the guest. As previously stated fresh milk in the fridge and an abundance of tea and coffee, and a Teddy bear themed tea service. The Freeview 17" TV was slim and modern, the Hotel and surrounding area literature/ books/ brochures were extensive and informative. The bathroom was spacious, provided all needs with immediate hot and plentiful water. All in all a perfectly cosy room
For those whose existence without wifi would be intolerable, there is free service throughout, but our experience was that in the 24 hours of full occupation and probable extensive use, the service was intermittent.
The grounds are impressive and immaculately kept and providing an environment for a gentle stroll, or sitting reading and relaxing.
The indoor pool with it's somewhat unusual poolside decoration and adornments is another example of the Hotels unique offerings. And of course the varied informative and amusing reading material , to be found in almost every public area would take a lifetime to read through.
Much has been said about the " trappings " of the public toilets and yes a visit is certainly worthwhile!
So why is it only a three star venue, those who adjudicate would maybe say, inter alia, because it has no lift, it has no outside pool. But it has a warm welcoming homely feel, in an ideal location and of course it has it's renowned proprietor, whose personality, demeanour and verbal offerings do legitimately ask "so why only a three star?"
Go and judge yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonroncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review following your recent stay with us over the weekend of Evesham river festival. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and had time to experience our gardens, swimming pool and much talked about 'toilets'!
I will share your comments with the staff and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was to be a short weekend break for myself and my wife. We arrived late afternoon and were cordially greeted at reception and shown to our room (no. 32) which was large but in need of brightening up as it was tired and dated ( the TV was the old, deep variety with a 10" screen which made viewing from the bed difficult). But that was the only downside here!
The room itself was quiet and overlooked the gardens which were large, very well kept and interesting with the cedar tree and croquet, - just the place for a relaxing drink before dinner.
The evening meal was very good with plenty of choice and well presented. As well as being delicious the service was excellent - well done staff !!!
The hotel itself was always throwing up suprises nd we were constantly discovering something quirky and unexpected from the bar toilets ( I could have spent the whole evening there!) to the 'snug' TV lounge for the footie.
The position was great - near to the river and the town.
The attentive staff made the place a worthy choice but - no - a weekend was not really long enough and - yes- we would return there and recommend it to friends.
Forgot to mention the breakfast! - marvellous. My wife counted 36 cereals on offer but I was more impressed with the fact that I could order what I wanted not just what was on the menu. Big thanks again to the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Just go with the flow and enjoy !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stafford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EveshamHotel, General Manager at Evesham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our wonderful gardens, toilets and breakfast cereal!
I will certainly pass your comments onto all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbots Salford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evesham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evesham Hotel

Property: Evesham Hotel
Address: Coopers Lane | Off Waterside, Evesham WR11 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Evesham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, privately run and friendly hotel in the picturesque market town of Evesham. We pride ourselves on offering guests excellent value and service in a relaxed and happy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evesham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evesham Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing