We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't worth staying”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of AK's Bistro & Bar

AK's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #71 of 95 Restaurants in Evesham
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wasn't worth staying”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Myself and a friend decided to check out the food the other day.

It was genuinely the worst experience we have ever had. So much so that we didn't even stay to try the food.

We walked in and the disinterested waitress just looked at us until we said hello to her. Obviously never heard of such a thing as a 'warm welcome'.

We asked for a table for 3 and she just looked at us like we were crazy and asked us if it was really a table for three we wanted. We said yes, thats what we had asked for and she just looked at us as said 'really? there's only two of you' as if we hadn't been able to count! Our friend was on his way down to join us. Surely this should happen often enough or you would have the common sense to realise that this must be what was happening!

She then looked at the table she was stood by and simply said "okay, well you can sit here then".

We were so shocked by the weirdness of this conversation i cannot even begin to tell you. We then had to ASK for menus and when we asked for the wine list it seemed like a massive effort for her to go and find one.

she dropped it back onto the table and wandered off to go and sit and chat with her friend on the other side of the restaurant. The restaurant was completely empty at this point - the time when we should have been having the best customer service that she could give as her attention was not split... apart from obviously the fact that she wanted to be chatting with her mate rather than doing her job.

I work in hospitality and quite seriously, if one of my members of staff acted like that they would not have a job. It was absolutely disgusting. We would very much like to try the food there so maybe we will pop our heads round the door and check whos working before we venture in again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReview89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“won't be going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was ou second visit to AKs. Following a disappointment first time round, we thought we'd give them a chance to redeem themselves. I made a point of saying that I did not want an over cooked steak. Our first choice was not available so had to settle for a lesser cut. As this was advertised as a half price night, I would have expected there to have been plenty available. All I can say is that it was Ok. Would I go back? No, twice was enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edmundoryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful, absolutely terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Only 1 waitress very pleasant but service not very good. Order taken incorrectly. Slow cooked pork not crispy just a blob of fat on plate. Complained item removed from bill. Steak ok. Dessert menu good but cheese board served without the chutney had to request it and took ages to be delivered to table. Couldnt be bothered to order and wait for coffees. Will not be going again such a shame it could be a great venue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“try yourself before relying on negative feed back .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The bistro was a quiet when we went ..but the place has a good atmosphere and the decor is very nice uptodate . Im glad i didnt take notice of all the negative feed back and tried it myself ...im wondering why i havnt been before ,the food is very nice .we took the set menu 3 couse for £19.95 ...and you still had a good choice .There is a seperate room for cocktails but we didnt use this ,,i think it need more livelly music ,,thursday night would be good as lots of ladies out .
we will be going back ,,,loved it all and you werent overfaced with a great big plateful of food ,,so that meant you could do all three couses ,,the puddings are fab .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went here on a Saturday night. Wasn't planned as we wanted to go elsewhere but everywhere we tried was fully booked and couldn't fit us in! Boy am I glad we ended up here though! It was fantastic from start to finish. We were a bit concerned when we sat down as the table next to us complained they'd been waiting an hour, so on that basis we thought we'd order some garlic bread to be going on with! We were first presented with a plate full of bread and then as soon as we finished that out came the garlic bread (bread overload!!). We then waited about 15 mins for our steaks to come which was just about right after all the bread we'd eaten! The steaks were cooked perfectly and presented beautifully with homemade chips. We couldn't fit pudding in so cant comment on those but we had a great time and will definitely return asap and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avfc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AK's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to AK's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing