We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landlord we beg a smile - please !”
Review of Gardeners Arms

Gardeners Arms
Ranked #25 of 96 Restaurants in Evesham
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Landlord we beg a smile - please !”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Delightful pub with lovely gardens in a picture perfect Worcestershire village, but for us the chap behind the bar could have been a little more welcoming. We weren't looking for a pretensious overfriendly Basil Fawlty personality just a smile and a moment of light chit chat whilst we ordered our food and drinks would have made all the difference. Even as we left hardly a nod of acknowledgment, pity when village pubs must be having a difficult time. Take this as most definitely constructive criticism, we'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sit down Family Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wish there was a Good button on Trip Advisor because I think I'd say good -- not very good, but better than average, so good. Lots of fresh veg - just right - not over-cooked so like many places. Lovely not to have dreaded carvery queues reminiscent of school meals -- here its proper table service. The landlord needs to engage with customers a bit but everyone else on staff seemed friendly and helpful. Little short on meat portion but overall good meal -- super apple pie. Flies a bit of a problem but they were trying with citronella candles.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dejunkdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great sunday lunch”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

fantastic family meal! good value for money, great portion sizes and one of the best sunday roasts i have had in the area! The staff were very friendly and the pub was clean and had a good atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 936sarahd936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A promising start...until”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice, clean pub, pleasant location in quiet village setting next to the village green. Quite a good selection of beers, wines & spirits and very good food, especially their Wednesday 'Fish & Chip Suppers - superb! We have re-visited on a number of occasions and whilst our spend won't make the landlord rich, we spent on average £40 - £50 a visit. However, that won't be happening again...because then there's the not so friendly, unhelpful landlord who, I'm sad to say, does not appear interested in engaging with his customers (unless of course they are long standing friends or villagers), is totally inept at making conversation and to all intents and purposes doesn't appear remotely interested in doing so. Perhaps we have him wrong, a nice pub and good food you may have - your customer service is shameful and a pub without happy customers is a lonely place to be...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gardeners Arms also viewed

Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
Fladbury, Worcestershire
 

Been to Gardeners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing