We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed...”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We recently stayed 1 night during our trip in the Cotswolds, The hotel enjoys a fabulous setting with an elevated position offering expansive views over the countryside. We had chosen a hall feature bedroom located in the main hall with terrific views. This was a traditional style enormous room with oak panelled walls but with everything else beautifully modernised. However, there are some disappointing aspects with this room:despite a huge bathroom, this only had a shower but no bath, there was no full length mirror or hair-drier. I think if your paying quite a considerable premium for the room, these items should be present. Regarding the restaurant, our dinner was beautifully presented and very enjoyable and the the service was excellent. However breakfast was a big disappointment; we ordered scrambled eggs and there were only about 4 small mouthfuls!! The fruits and breads were a very poor offering . Overall, an enjoyable stay with good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUMALO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear KUMALO_10

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you had a good stay in general. For future information the hairdryers are located in the top drawer of the chest of drawers.
From your review I would assume you stayed in room 102 or 106 as these match your description. These 2 fantastic feature rooms do only have walk in showers (but not baths). But what mighty fine showers they are! The staff are always here to help, so do say at time of booking if you have specific requirements. There are 4 out of 50 rooms that have feature showers but no baths.

Kind Regards
Craig Webb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    272
    90
    27
    8
See reviews for
129
605
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a two night stay and loved every minute,we stayed in the annex, only criticism the walls are thin!! The bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom spotless. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very attentive.Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have been spoilt when holidaying over the years and posts on tripadvisor are very rare we are ashamed to say. However we had to make an exception (albeit a belated one!) for Wood Norton. Great setting, fantastic character & ambiance, lovely staff and superb food. It was a pleasure to stay for a few days and relax in late summer. Heartily recommended and we will be back. Thanks to all the staff for such an accommodating stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a wonderful weekend,beautiful setting great location. Wonderful food very friendly staff who look to engage with hotel guests total luxury would recommend this hotel and look to use again in the near future also our room in the pear tree mews was very spacious and very traditional with wooden beams

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blues1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Blues1970

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us, I am so pleased we lived up to your expectations. I hope that the ongoing building work for our new Orangery function suite did not affect you. It will be finished by December.

Craig Webb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. The check in was smooth and staff welcoming. We had booked a Queen Hall room and were very pleased with the comfort of the room and the fantastic bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable and room very clean.
Dinner was excellent with delicious food (the Rock Bass was amazing)and very attentive waiting staff. Breakfast was very good, I would recommend the Eggs Benedict.

If I had to list any negatives, personally I would have expected bath robes in the room and think this would be a welcome addition for a hotel which has had a high spec refurbishment and attracts those guests looking for a touch of luxury.



Overall a wonderful stay, delicious food and friendly staff. We would definitely return

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108. This room was quiet and I would be happy to stay in this room again, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig W, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear CardiffGin

Thank you so much for your high praise, this is most encouraging for the team as all reviews are read, shared and acted upon where necessary. By the way, all rooms in the Main Hall do have robes and slippers, they are stored hygienically in clear bags in the wardrobes.

Come back again soon

Craig Webb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I booked a one night stay at the Wood Norton, as a surprise weekend away for my wife and my Anniversary. The hotel has some wonderful offers on stays here so make sure you check what offers they have, as you can save a lot of money. We stayed on the 26th Oct and had the wow factor when we pulled up, as mentioned the property is beautiful and historic, we recieved a history sheet upon checking in. Checking in was very easy and quick and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Pear Tree Mews which although quite modern, were very well furnished and still quite luxurious, flat screen TV, large king size bed, tea/coffee facilities, beautiful bathroom with lovely toiletries. There is a short walk from the mews to the main building but umbrellas a provided for when the weather is bad. The main house is beautifully maintained, wood panelled, historical pictures, large inglenook fireplaces. The bar area has views of the gardens, which have yet to mature, but when they do they will be stunning to walk around and sit in. We had afternoon tea in the bar with salmon sandwiches, egg and cress, fancy cakes and scones, earl grey tea, delicious. Prices at the bar were quite expensive but relative to class of hotel so no real complaints there. We had quite a late dinner, which worked for us as the bar and restaurant wasnt as busy as earlier. We started with our pre-dinner drinks in the bar, a lovely cold glass of champagne, we ordered our food and was soon shown too our candle lit table in the restaurant. The waiters and waitresses that attended us were very knowledgeable about the food and the wine, very friendly and attentive, we didnt want for anything. We had coffee after the meal served in the lounge, so we could relax after such a delicious filling meal. The next morning we headed back to the main house for our breakfast, again very friendly helpful staff were on hand to make sure we were looked after, and shortly after ordering we had the delicious Wood Norton breakfast in front of us. All the food we ate over the weekend was locally sourced and you can tell the quality and freshness of the food. All in all our stay at the Wood Norton was a delight, we were spoilt rotten by the staff, gastronomically overwhelmed by the delicious food served up, all within a lovely romantic setting. I can highly recommend a stay at this hotel, and I can honestly say we WILL be coming back to the Wood Norton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Trip without kids to a hotel that delivers great service (its the positive attitude that counts the most) , a pleasant atmosphere, nice and clean rooms, a great bar with reasonable prices - £20 for a nice bottle, a snooker table when you are bored (!!!) and free wifi throughout.

Dinner is good with a sensible choice (although deserts are marginally bizarre). Cooked breakfast really good. The cream tea is amazing (and the afternoon tea looks stunning).

Then we turn to the history of Wood Norton which is displayed all around you. Thanks to Greg Dyke, this hotel (or at least the second one since 2000) was able to be open to the public as the site was formerly owned by the BBC.

Money has been spent on this hotel and the Orangery was just being built (finished by Christmas??). The gardens already look amazing and as they mature will look stunning.

We stayed on a seasonal deal and all I can say is a) thank you and b) grab that experience while it remains at that price. Amazing.

Room Tip: Not sure there any bad rooms but suspect the main house experience offers more charactor than the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
549 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,083 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,193 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
199 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing