We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Breakfast Tasting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Breakfast Tasting”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were at the Wood Norton on Sunday for our wedding breakfast tasting.
All I can say is AMAZING!!!!!
We were served by Alberto the restaurant Manager, his knowledge was second to none and he couldn't be anymore helpful.
We were absolutely blown away by the food and wine served and needless to say we cannot wait for our big day.
I would highly recommend the Wood Norton, the staff are excellent, as is the food, hotel, grounds and orangery.
Roll on July :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your comments - Alberto was particularly happy! As you said, "Roll on July"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    257
    88
    26
    7
See reviews for
116
578
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I had really been looking forward to an overnight stay for my 50th birthday but was so disappointed by the service we received. I'm not sure if it was because we didn't book direct through the hotel but the General Manager was not very welcoming and we were made to feel uncomfortable. The offer my husband had booked included a glass of sparking wine or mulled wine at dinner neither of which we were offered and on glancing around at other diners they seemed to be receiving a much better service than we did. One young waitress however did her best and was pleasant to us and welcoming but having asked for a bottle of water at dinner, then not receiving it but it appearing on the bill didn't go down well with me. The staff did deduct this when I queried it. I also didn't expect to have to pay a surcharge for choosing the lamb. At breakfast the following morning we didn't fare much better and I didn't expect to have to ask for coffee for two when the female restaurant manager asked us if there was anything else we required when taking our orders for breakfast. Surely hot beverages should be offered as a matter of course? The three ladies on the table near to us were asked whether they wanted tea or coffee as soon as they sat down.

The room was excellent however very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable but this sadly did not make up for the rest of the service we received.

With hindsight we would have been better saving our money on this hotel and instead returning for another day trip on the Orient Express when we treated to a fantastic service from all the staff from the minute we boarded the train to the moment we got off and the food was far superior.

I certainly won't be recommending the Wood Norton to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, the service you received was below the standards we try to maintain. Training is ongoing and feedback is vital for us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. Loved the character of the old original building - and the tasteful refurbishment that looks very recent. Didn't get to use the croquet lawn unfortunately....Staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodNortonGM, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, perhaps you can come again in the "Summer"? if we have one, for that go on the croquet lawn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in this great countryside hotel just outside of Evesham. If you like wood panelled walls and ceilings go for the Duke's Suite: generous bedroom and lounge plus a spectacularly spacious bathroom. Would also recommend dinner at the hotel: good food and a surprisingly comprehensive wine list at very reasonable prices. If the weather allows, go for breakfast out on the terrace.
Definitely planning to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The Duke's suite (officially room 101)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainerpratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful weekend away. Upon arrival the hotel looks amazing, greeted by the two Emily's in reception, who couldn't be more helpful. We. Had a room in the main hall on the 2nd floor, spectacular views. Room very tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings. Bed very comfortable, only negative was the room was too hot for us. We had a 5 course menu, every course was excellent, beautifully presented with again excellent service. Bar staff again was very attentive to our needs. We will certainly come back, there are lots of lovely walks and places to visit near by. Thank you wood norton

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a room in the Pear Tree section. The room was very nice but was decorated in BBC Battleship grey. There was also a low rumbling from a generator that kept me awake for most of the (two) nights we were there. Breakfast on the first morning was a little disastrous - our cooked breakfasts were served while we were still eating our cereal. The second morning was quite the opposite - slow and inefficient. Our tea/toast was forgotten and we had to remind the waiter/ress twice.

The grounds are very nice. Pity the old BBC accommodation has been left to overgrow. Something of an eyesore. Apparently the area is to be demolished and a spa built. Also the old wrought iron front gates have been removed and an ugly piece of plywood put in their place.

As pointed out previously, the parking is up a steep slope (but you can park outside the main door to drop off luggage). The area outside the main entrance also has disabled parking but (as we discovered) non-disabled people ignore the signs and park there regardless.

Room Tip: Looking at the Wood Norton website the rooms in the main house seem lovely. Keep away from Pear Tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Chose this hotel for a weekend break based on previous reviews. Easy to find as it is on the A44 road before Evesham, when travelling from the M5 Worcester exit. Approach road is a bit bumpy and is in need of resurfacing as quite a few pot holes. The site is shared with the BBC Academy Training Centre and there are quite a few BBC related pictures/photos on the hotel walls in both main building and annexe. The French tricolour flies alongside the union jack as the building has an interesting French connection and there are photos of visiting French aristocracy. Experienced an efficient welcome greeting from the staff. Booked in one of the Pear Tree rooms and was a bit disappointed that it was in a separate building from the main, which meant that during the heavy showers we experienced, there was a good chance of receiving a soaking when walking to breakfast, dinner or the car park which was up a very steep slope, further away again than the Annexe !
The room was a good size and chairs/bed were comfortable and warm with a long, deep bath, with shower above.
For an evening meal, there is a choice of a 5 course meal in the main restaurant for £39.50 or a bar meal for £12 average main course. As we don't have large appetites, we chose the latter. I enjoyed a very tasty chicken and leek casserole and my wife enjoyed the shepherd's pie, also very tasty. Also a reasonably priced palatable Merlot proved very enjoyable. The only misgivings about this evening was that the height of the bar and lounge chairs and tables did not provide for a comfortable eating experience and the lounges do not benefit from much natural light and have very low level lighting, some rooms being very dark.
The restaurant was much lighter for breakfast and there was a good selection of fruit juices, cereals including porridge, fruit, mini Danish pastries, yoghurt with fruit jams, the full English or for a small additional charge, kippers or smoked haddock, all very nicely cooked.
There is a snooker room and some board games to borrow. The grounds offer a lovely view across the river Avon and surrounding countryside. There are also boules, bowls and croquet available.
All told, an enjoyable weekend for both of us at this establishment.

Room Tip: suggest a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
498 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,020 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
999 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Property: The Wood Norton Hotel
Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing